Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Feedback: Several issues still in Tumbleweed

Default Feedback: Several issues still in Tumbleweed

I've been using OpenSUSE for quite many years (probably over 10 now) but in the past year or so the quality has been dropping. Here are few issues that are still unresolved:

• apache mod_perl not existing for recent apache version thus cannot use web server and services currently
    • recent update added tracker daemon even though it is disabled - and resulting 100% CPU load consumption (in top)
    • /etc/apache2/conf.d/apcupsd.conf is still broken (permissions)
    • plasma issues:
      • when e.g. moving a large file the taskbar flickers time to time, same happens randomly to windows - with or without HW acceleration
      • this used to crash quite much but recent update have made it more stable - not fully yet

• Ark and dolphin issues:
      • when dragging a file from ark to dolphin sometimes either of them crashes, repeating the same operation immediately again works fine
      • when dragging a file from ark to dolphin oftentimes is not possible - the dragged object "vanish" but if I return to Ark mouse icon indicates that the file cannot be dragged to its origin (which is correct). Starting the file dragging immediately again works fine.
      • multiple files cannot be dragged but a single (design issue probably)
      • file transfer in general has slowed down a bit - used to be over 100MB/s but nowadays usually around 75 - sometimes less, sometimes more

• major zypper issue recently:
      • don't know really what was the original issue but zypper dup had trouble in applying updates - few went fine and then stopped fully. Zypper had to be manually terminated.
      • restarting zypper dup updated few more applications but the one that was being updated in the previous round was not completed
      • I repeated this until all applications were updated - or so I thought