Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Plasma5 and kde4 on 13.2

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    2,997

    Default Plasma5 and kde4 on 13.2

    I wanted to try plasma5 but didn't want to give up kde4 so I added wolfi's repo
    http://download.opensuse.org/reposit.../openSUSE_13.2
    and installed plasma5-desktop
    and I think I ended up with a mixed system
    when I log-in to plasma5 the main panel is from kde4, kmix, klipper are both kde4 apps.
    If I run a console from dolphin5 konsole 2.14.2 from kde 4.14 starts up.
    I know this is a silly question but how do you setup plasma5?

    my repo's
    Code:
    #  | Alias                                  | Name                                                    | Enabled | GPG Check | Refresh | Priority | Type   | URI                                                                                                 | Service
    ---+----------------------------------------+---------------------------------------------------------+---------+-----------+---------+----------+--------+-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------+--------
     1 | KDE_Frameworks5                        | KDE Frameworks 5 development repository (openSUSE_13.2) | Yes     | (r ) Yes  | Yes     |   99     | rpm-md | http://download.opensuse.org/repositories/KDE:/Frameworks5/openSUSE_13.2/                           |        
     2 | KDE_Qt5                                | The Qt5 development repository (openSUSE_13.2)          | Yes     | (r ) Yes  | Yes     |   99     | rpm-md | http://download.opensuse.org/repositories/KDE:/Qt5/openSUSE_13.2/                                   |        
     3 | X11_QtDesktop                          | QtDesktop (openSUSE_13.2)                               | Yes     | (r ) Yes  | Yes     |   99     | rpm-md | http://download.opensuse.org/repositories/X11:/QtDesktop/openSUSE_13.2/                             |        
     4 | download.nvidia.com-opensuse           | nVidia Graphics Drivers                                 | Yes     | (r ) Yes  | Yes     |   99     | rpm-md | http://download.nvidia.com/opensuse/13.2/                                                           |        
     5 | download.opensuse.org-games            | openSUSE BuildService - Games                           | Yes     | (r ) Yes  | Yes     |   90     | rpm-md | http://download.opensuse.org/repositories/games/openSUSE_13.2/                                      |        
     6 | download.opensuse.org-lxde             | openSUSE BuildService - LXDE                            | Yes     | (r ) Yes  | Yes     |   99     | rpm-md | http://download.opensuse.org/repositories/X11:/lxde/openSUSE_13.2/                                  |        
     7 | ftp.gwdg.de-suse                       | Packman Repository                                      | Yes     | (r ) Yes  | Yes     |    1     | rpm-md | http://ftp.gwdg.de/pub/linux/packman/suse/openSUSE_13.2/                                            |        
     8 | home_Alexx2000                         | Double Commander (openSUSE_13.2)                        | Yes     | (r ) Yes  | Yes     |   99     | rpm-md | http://download.opensuse.org/repositories/home:/Alexx2000/openSUSE_13.2/                            |        
     9 | home_wolfi323_branches_KDE_Frameworks5 | Branch project for KDE:Frameworks5 (openSUSE_13.2)      | Yes     | (r ) Yes  | Yes     |   90     | rpm-md | http://download.opensuse.org/repositories/home:/wolfi323:/branches:/KDE:/Frameworks5/openSUSE_13.2/ |        
    10 | openSUSE-13.2-0                        | openSUSE-13.2-0                                         | Yes     | ( p) Yes  | Yes     |   95     | yast2  | http://download.opensuse.org/distribution/13.2/repo/oss/                                            |        
    11 | repo-debug                             | openSUSE-13.2-Debug                                     | No      | ----      | Yes     |   99     | NONE   | http://download.opensuse.org/debug/distribution/13.2/repo/oss/                                      |        
    12 | repo-debug-update                      | openSUSE-13.2-Update-Debug                              | No      | ----      | No      |   99     | NONE   | http://download.opensuse.org/debug/update/13.2/                                                     |        
    13 | repo-debug-update-non-oss              | openSUSE-13.2-Update-Debug-Non-Oss                      | No      | ----      | Yes     |   99     | NONE   | http://download.opensuse.org/debug/update/13.2-non-oss/                                             |        
    14 | repo-non-oss                           | openSUSE-13.2-Non-Oss                                   | Yes     | ( p) Yes  | Yes     |   99     | yast2  | http://download.opensuse.org/distribution/13.2/repo/non-oss/                                        |        
    15 | repo-source                            | openSUSE-13.2-Source                                    | No      | ----      | Yes     |   99     | NONE   | http://download.opensuse.org/source/distribution/13.2/repo/oss/                                     |        
    16 | repo-update                            | openSUSE-13.2-Update                                    | Yes     | (r ) Yes  | Yes     |   10     | rpm-md | http://download.opensuse.org/update/13.2/                                                           |        
    17 | repo-update-non-oss                    | openSUSE-13.2-Update-Non-Oss                            | Yes     | (r ) Yes  | Yes     |   99     | rpm-md | http://download.opensuse.org/update/13.2-non-oss/                                                   |

    ps.
    I know there is a working kde3 desktop that installs in /opt/kde3/ will there be something similar in Leap ie. having kde4 sc installed in /opt/kde4 ?

  2. #2

    Default Re: Plasma5 and kde4 on 13.2

    Quote Originally Posted by I_A View Post
    I wanted to try plasma5 but didn't want to give up kde4 so I added wolfi's repo
    http://download.opensuse.org/reposit.../openSUSE_13.2
    and installed plasma5-desktop
    and I think I ended up with a mixed system
    when I log-in to plasma5 the main panel is from kde4, kmix, klipper are both kde4 apps.
    If I run a console from dolphin5 konsole 2.14.2 from kde 4.14 starts up.
    I know this is a silly question but how do you setup plasma5?
    You probably installed plasma5-session from KDE:Frameworks5 or openSUSE:13.2, but not from my repo. The official one run /usr/bin/startkde, which is still the KDE4 version in your case (mine is /opt/kf5/bin/startkde).

    Do a full switch to my repo, and it should work:
    Code:
    sudo zypper in --from 9
    (or click on "Switch all system packages to the versions from this Repository" in YaST->Software Management->View->Repositories after you selected my repo)

    ps.
    I know there is a working kde3 desktop that installs in /opt/kde3/ will there be something similar in Leap ie. having kde4 sc installed in /opt/kde4 ?
    No. AFAIK there will still be KDE3 though.

    I *could* create KDE4 packages that install to /opt/, but I don't have any intention to do the same heavy and complicated work again that I did with Plasma 5 already.
    I will build my repo for Leap 42.1 too though. So you should still be able to install my Plasma5 packages and keep KDE4 (the desktop and all applications, the latter are included in my repo if they have been switched to KF5 already).
    Last edited by wolfi323; 05-Sep-2015 at 19:59.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    2,997

    Default Re: Plasma5 and kde4 on 13.2

    You probably installed plasma5-session from KDE:Frameworks5 or openSUSE:13.2, but not from my repo. The official one run /usr/bin/startkde, which is still the KDE4 version in your case (mine is /opt/kf5/bin/startkde).

    Do a full switch to my repo, and it should work:
    Code:
    sudo zypper in --from 9
    yes I had plasma5-session-5.3.2-10.1.noarch
    did a zypper dup -from 9
    43 packages to change vendor, I'll see if that fixes things.

    I *could* create KDE4 packages that install to /opt/, but I don't have any intention to do the same heavy and complicated work again that I did with Plasma 5 already.
    I will build my repo for Leap 42.1 too though. So you should still be able to install my Plasma5 packages and keep KDE4 (the desktop and all applications, the latter are included in my repo if they have been switched to KF5 already).
    good to know.
    So there will be a kde4 sc in Leap?
    I' report after dup finishes and I reboot

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    2,997

    Default Re: Plasma5 and kde4 on 13.2

    Nope it seams I broke something
    after zypper dup to your repo I get the plasma5 start-up screen (I was getting kde4 start-up in plasma5) but after that nothing just a mouse cursor, no panel no desktop no icons. I can't even get a start menu with alt+F2, I had to kill X with ctrl+alt+backspace.
    I removed all kde and plasma config files, I even created a new user.
    The new user is the same I get the start-up screen but nothing after that just a black screen and a mouse cursor?

    Any ideas?

    could systemsettings5-5.4.0-58.1 from obs://build.opensuse.org/KDE be the cause of this?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    2,997

    Default Re: Plasma5 and kde4 on 13.2

    trying to run /usr/bin/systemsettings5 from a terminal I get this error
    Code:
    user1@dhcp-xx-xxx-xx-xx:~> /usr/bin/systemsettings5
    iconTheme "oxygen"
    QDBusConnection: name 'org.kde.kglobalaccel' had owner '' but we thought it was ':1.41'
    detected kglobalaccel restarting, re-registering all shortcut keys
    file:///usr/share/kwin/kcm_kwindecoration/main.qml:32:9: Type Buttons unavailable 
                 Buttons { 
                 ^
    file:///usr/share/kwin/kcm_kwindecoration/Buttons.qml:25:1: plugin cannot be loaded for module "org.kde.plasma.core": Cannot load library /usr/lib64/qt5/qml/org/kde/plasma/core/libcorebindingsplugin.so: (/usr/lib64/libKF5PlasmaQuick.so.5: undefined symbol: _ZN12KQuickAddons21QuickViewSharedEngine16staticMetaObjectE) 
         import org.kde.plasma.core 2.0 as PlasmaCore; 
         ^
    kcm_icons: Theme list: ("Adwaita", "breeze", "breeze-dark", "hicolor", "oxygen", "crystalsvg") <<
    Removing cache at "/home/user1/.cache/icon-cache.kcache"
    checking permissions of  "/usr/share/color-schemes/Breeze.colors"
    checking permissions of  "/usr/share/color-schemes/openSUSE.colors"
    checking permissions of  "/usr/share/color-schemes/Breeze.colors"
    checking permissions of  "/usr/share/color-schemes/openSUSE.colors"
    QFile::copy: Empty or null file name
    Error loading plugin "kcm_lookandfeel" "The shared library was not found." 
    Plugin search paths are ("/usr/lib64/qt5/plugins", "/usr/bin") 
    The environment variable QT_PLUGIN_PATH might be not correctly set
    "file:///opt/kf5/share/kpackage/kcms/kcm_lookandfeel/contents/ui/main.qml" 
     "Error loading QML file.
    25: plugin cannot be loaded for module "org.kde.plasma.core": Cannot load library /usr/lib64/qt5/qml/org/kde/plasma/core/libcorebindingsplugin.so: (/usr/lib64/libKF5PlasmaQuick.so.5: undefined symbol: _ZN12KQuickAddons21QuickViewSharedEngine16staticMetaObjectE)
    "
    log_kcm_desktoptheme: Save!
    log_kcm_desktoptheme: theme changed to  "default"
    log_kcm_desktoptheme: m-defaultTheme "default"
    log_kcm_desktoptheme: saved.
    settingsFile:  "/home/user1/.config/plasmarc"
    settingsFile:  "/home/user1/.config/plasmarc"
    settingsFile:  "/home/user1/.config/plasmarc"
    settingsFile:  "/home/user1/.config/plasmarc"
    settingsFile:  "/home/user1/.config/plasmarc"
    settingsFile:  "/home/user1/.config/plasmarc"
    settingsFile:  "/home/user1/.config/plasmarc"
    settingsFile:  "/home/user1/.config/plasmarc"
    settingsFile:  "/home/user1/.config/plasmarc"
    settingsFile:  "/home/user1/.config/plasmarc"
    settingsFile:  "/home/user1/.config/plasmarc"
    settingsFile:  "/home/user1/.config/plasmarc"
    settingsFile:  "/home/user1/.config/plasmarc"
    settingsFile:  "/home/user1/.config/plasmarc"
    settingsFile:  "/home/user1/.config/plasmarc"
    settingsFile:  "/home/user1/.config/plasmarc"
    settingsFile:  "/home/user1/.config/plasmarc"
    Error loading plugin "kcm_splashscreen" "The shared library was not found." 
    Plugin search paths are ("/usr/lib64/qt5/plugins", "/usr/bin") 
    The environment variable QT_PLUGIN_PATH might be not correctly set
    "file:///opt/kf5/share/kpackage/kcms/kcm_splashscreen/contents/ui/main.qml" 
     "Error loading QML file.
    25: plugin cannot be loaded for module "org.kde.plasma.core": Cannot load library /usr/lib64/qt5/qml/org/kde/plasma/core/libcorebindingsplugin.so: (/usr/lib64/libKF5PlasmaQuick.so.5: undefined symbol: _ZN12KQuickAddons21QuickViewSharedEngine16staticMetaObjectE)
    "
    KCrash: Application 'systemsettings5' crashing...
    KCrash: Attempting to start /usr/lib64/libexec/drkonqi from kdeinit
    sock_file=/run/user/1000/kdeinit5__0
    
    [1]+  Stopped                 /usr/bin/systemsettings5
    I think I'm missing some packages.
    A few days ago I did notice a lot of new 32bit packages, I thought an update installed them so I removed them, does plasma5 depend on i586 rpm's?

    I did notice libKF5KCMUtils5 was an older package 5.11 from the update repo, I'll switch to 5.13 from the KDE OBS repo?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    2,997

    Default Re: Plasma5 and kde4 on 13.2

    After updating libKF5KCMUtils5 in plasma5 I get an error that resources are missing and to contact somebody.
    I guess I broke something, I already did a dup with the update and then with Wolfi's repo.
    What do you guys suggest?
    I don't want to do a dup with the main oss repo as that will downgrade my kernel and every application I've got installed, and with Leap only 2 months away I don't want to re-install.

    ps. kde4 and lxqt are working fine only plasma5 is having issues.

  7. #7

    Default Re: Plasma5 and kde4 on 13.2

    Quote Originally Posted by I_A View Post
    Code:
    file:///usr/share/kwin/kcm_kwindecoration/Buttons.qml:25:1: plugin cannot be loaded for module "org.kde.plasma.core": Cannot load library /usr/lib64/qt5/qml/org/kde/plasma/core/libcorebindingsplugin.so: (/usr/lib64/libKF5PlasmaQuick.so.5: undefined symbol: _ZN12KQuickAddons21QuickViewSharedEngine16staticMetaObjectE) 
    ...
    25: plugin cannot be loaded for module "org.kde.plasma.core": Cannot load library /usr/lib64/qt5/qml/org/kde/plasma/core/libcorebindingsplugin.so: (/usr/lib64/libKF5PlasmaQuick.so.5: undefined symbol: _ZN12KQuickAddons21QuickViewSharedEngine16staticMetaObjectE)
    You still seem to have some older KF5 packages from 13.2 installed (plasma-framework-* in particular).
    Do a full switch to KDE:Frameworks5 too:
    Code:
    sudo zypper dup --from 1 --from 9
    A few days ago I did notice a lot of new 32bit packages, I thought an update installed them so I removed them, does plasma5 depend on i586 rpm's?
    No.

    I did notice libKF5KCMUtils5 was an older package 5.11 from the update repo, I'll switch to 5.13 from the KDE OBS repo?
    Yes, and all other KF5 packages too.
    Last edited by wolfi323; 06-Sep-2015 at 02:14.

  8. #8

    Default Re: Plasma5 and kde4 on 13.2

    Quote Originally Posted by I_A View Post
    So there will be a kde4 sc in Leap?
    There definitely will be no KDE4 SC in Leap. Such a thing doesn't exist any more, the last release of KDE4 SC was last November (4.14.3).
    In the current KDE Applications 15.08 more than half of all packages are already ported to KF5.

    I think kdebase4-workspace (which contains the desktop) will be included in Leap though, because it also contains KDM (SDDM is not really a full replacement yet).
    No idea about the support packages though, like plasma-addons and so on.
    I will add them to my repo though as they get removed.
    Last edited by wolfi323; 06-Sep-2015 at 02:20.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    2,997

    Default Re: Plasma5 and kde4 on 13.2

    You still seem to have some older KF5 packages from 13.2 installed (plasma-framework-* in particular).
    Do a full switch to KDE:Frameworks5 too:
    Code:
    sudo zypper dup --from 1 --from 9
    I did that updated 115 packages but plasma5 is still a black screen with a mouse cursor

    is there a start-kde for plasma5 that I can run in a terminal from window maker or open box and see any errors?

  10. #10

    Default Re: Plasma5 and kde4 on 13.2

    Quote Originally Posted by I_A View Post
    I did that updated 115 packages but plasma5 is still a black screen with a mouse cursor
    Hm.
    Maybe try a full switch to the KDE:Qt5 repo as well. But I think the dependencies are strict enough that it shouldn't be necessary.

    Can you reach the Alt+F2 dialog?
    You could start a Konsole and then run "plasmashell" there to get an error message.

    Also try a fresh user account, and/or recovery mode. It might be a graphics driver or user settings problem (the latter is unlikely though I'd say, as you didn't ever start it successfully yet, or did you?).
    What graphics driver are you using, btw?

    There are known problems with certain intel driver versions that cause Plasma/Kwin to crash due to a bug in the driver. Switching to UXA acceleration should help:
    https://en.opensuse.org/SDB:Switch_x...o-intel_to_UXA

    is there a start-kde for plasma5 that I can run in a terminal from window maker or open box and see any errors?
    Yes, startkde, as mentioned. With my packages its path is /opt/kf5/bin/startkde.

    But you should better use /opt/kf5/bin/startkf5 instead, this sets up the environment so that things are found (and actually preferred) in /opt/kf5/, before it runs startkde.
    Last edited by wolfi323; 06-Sep-2015 at 08:41.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •