Thread: Question About openSUSE Repositories

Default Question About openSUSE Repositories

Hey all. I'm an amateur Linux user and newcomer to openSUSE. I had a question concerning the repositories available on the openSUSE website. Not sure if I'm posting in the right section for this or not.

I'm currently using zypper to add repositories from the openSUSE website. I noticed that there are some folder pairs that are identical in name except for the fact that one of the two is suffixed by a colon. What is the difference between the repos in those two folders?

As an example, what's the difference between this Virtualization.repo and this Virtualization:openSUSE13.2.repo? The former is found is "Virtualization/" while the latter is found in "Virtualization:/". Do I need to install both to get all the packages from both?

Thanks everyone.

Default Re: Question About openSUSE Repositories

You re doing it the hardway and unless you have special needs the normal repos have most of what you need

Use Yast to add repos from the community list. Much less likely to cause you problems. Some repos may not be 100% compatible. Also if you have too many repos the process to check for updates and adding new packages will be SLOOOOW. Only add repos when you find you need a package from it and in most cases you need to at least deactivate them if they are not one of the base or community repos.

Quote Originally Posted by lostguru View Post
    Hey all. I'm an amateur Linux user and newcomer to openSUSE. I had a question concerning the repositories available on the openSUSE website. Not sure if I'm posting in the right section for this or not.

I'm currently using zypper to add repositories from the openSUSE website. I noticed that there are some folder pairs that are identical in name except for the fact that one of the two is suffixed by a colon. What is the difference between the repos in those two folders?