Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 30

Thread: Getting "Another Firewall Active" message when no firewall running

  1. #1

    Question Getting "Another Firewall Active" message when no firewall running

    When I click "Firewall" in YaST in order to go inside the settings and turn on the firewall (which is actually OFF) I am getting the message:

    Code:
    Another Fiwall Active
    
    Another kind of firewall is active on your system.
    If you continue, SuSEfirewall2 may produce undefined errors.
    It would be better to remove the other firewall before
    configuring SuSEfirewall2.
    Continue with configuration?
    I don't know what that "other" kind of firewall is. I haven't installed any other firewall. When I go to YaST>Services, SuSEfirewall2 is definitely Inactive and Disabled.

    If I continue with the configuration, I can turn on the firewall and it works fine.

    The question is - why am I getting this message?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    24,863

    Default Re: Getting "Another Firewall Active" message when no firewall running

    Just a guess. Do you have any IP rules defined yourself? I can imagine that YaST checks if there are any IP rules active and when yes, then decides that it is not the only one tinkering with them.
    Henk van Velden

  3. #3

    Default Re: Getting "Another Firewall Active" message when no firewall running

    Quote Originally Posted by hcvv View Post
    Just a guess. Do you have any IP rules defined yourself? I can imagine that YaST checks if there are any IP rules active and when yes, then decides that it is not the only one tinkering with them.
    No idea. How do I check?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    24,863

    Default Re: Getting "Another Firewall Active" message when no firewall running

    Quote Originally Posted by heyjoe View Post
    No idea. How do I check?
    Well, when you have no idea, I think you did not experiment with ip tables., but you can check what is active with
    Code:
    henk@boven:~> su - -c 'iptables -L'
    Wachtwoord:
    Chain INPUT (policy ACCEPT)
    target     prot opt source               destination         
    
    Chain FORWARD (policy ACCEPT)
    target     prot opt source               destination         
    
    Chain OUTPUT (policy ACCEPT)
    target     prot opt source               destination         
    henk@boven:~>
    The above is on a system with no firewall active, thus all tables are empty.
    Henk van Velden

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    24,863

    Default Re: Getting "Another Firewall Active" message when no firewall running

    Another guess (I do not run a firewall, nor am I used to using IP tables).

    in /etc/sysconfig, there are several files/directories with SuSEfirewall2 in their names. Maybe when one or more of them is not in the same state as YaST would configure them (or in virgin state since installation), YaST may think another partner is in play.
    Code:
    henk@boven:/etc/sysconfig> find . -name '*wall*'
    find: ‘./network/providers’: Toegang geweigerd
    ./network/if-up.d/SuSEfirewall2
    ./network/scripts/firewall
    ./network/scripts/SuSEfirewall2
    ./scripts/SuSEfirewall2-oldbroadcast
    ./scripts/SuSEfirewall2-showlog
    ./scripts/SuSEfirewall2-custom
    ./scripts/SuSEfirewall2-qdisc
    ./scripts/SuSEfirewall2-rpcinfo
    ./scripts/SuSEfirewall2-open
    ./scripts/SuSEfirewall2-batch
    ./SuSEfirewall2
    ./SuSEfirewall2.d
    henk@boven:/etc/sysconfig>
    Henk van Velden

  6. #6

    Default Re: Getting "Another Firewall Active" message when no firewall running

    Code:
    iptables -L
    Chain INPUT (policy ACCEPT)
    target     prot opt source               destination         
    ACCEPT     udp  --  anywhere             anywhere             multiport dports mdns
    ACCEPT     tcp  --  anywhere             anywhere             multiport dports terabase
    
    
    Chain FORWARD (policy ACCEPT)
    target     prot opt source               destination         
    
    
    Chain OUTPUT (policy ACCEPT)
    target     prot opt source               destination
    I wonder where these 2 rules came from?

    I also haven't touched any of the files which you show with 'find'.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    24,863

    Default Re: Getting "Another Firewall Active" message when no firewall running

    As my example output above was created using 13.1, I started a 1.2 system here, but I get the same emtpy lists. So my guess seems to be a bit correct in that there is something.

    The fact that you (as person) say that you did not touch them is not very relevant. What we have to find out if something touched them. Or least what is done to them where, so we can reverse that. Best thing would be to heck againt the originals, but as you don't have them, maybe looking at change dates brings something. The word "terabase" in your listing looks the most unique there. Searching for it in those files might help.
    All guessing and things that I probably would do,

    As said, I am not a real ip tables/firewall guru, the above was only geussing. I hope a more knowing person will join us.

    One thing you could try is to "continue" with the YaST module and see what happens. Look around in the screens there, As long as you do not confirm things, nothing will happen.
    Henk van Velden

  8. #8

    Default Re: Getting "Another Firewall Active" message when no firewall running

    Code:
    grep -r 'terabase' /etc                                                                                                                                        
    /etc/services:terabase           4000/tcp     # Terabase  [Thor_Olson]
    /etc/services:terabase           4000/udp     # Terabase  [Thor_Olson]
    /etc/services:# Thor_Olson               Thor Olson                                        mailto:Thor&terabase.com

    Does that give any more info? What kind of service might that be? Is my system infected?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    24,863

    Default Re: Getting "Another Firewall Active" message when no firewall running

    Quote Originally Posted by heyjoe View Post
    Code:
    grep -r 'terabase' /etc                                                                                                                                        
    /etc/services:terabase           4000/tcp     # Terabase  [Thor_Olson]
    /etc/services:terabase           4000/udp     # Terabase  [Thor_Olson]
    /etc/services:# Thor_Olson               Thor Olson                                        mailto:Thor&terabase.com

    Does that give any more info? What kind of service might that be? Is my system infected?
    The above is only a list of defined ports. The fact that it is in the list is no problem. The question is if it is somewhere in the firewall files. Or the number 4000 instead.

    I googled terabase and there is something about Remore-Anything. I have no idea what it is, but it does not sound as if I would need it.

    You could check if you have a port listening on 4000, as root
    Code:
    netstat -tulpn | grep 4000
    Henk van Velden

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Getting "Another Firewall Active" message when no firewallrunning

    On 2015-08-30 18:26, hcvv wrote:

    > The above is only a list of defined ports. The fact that it is in the
    > list is no problem. The question is if it is somewhere in the firewall
    > files. Or the number 4000 instead.
    >

    I don't know about terabase, but port 4000 I have the feeling I used
    either for a VoIp application or for p2p (emule?).

    perhaps: http://www.speedguide.net/port.php?port=4000

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.

    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" (Minas Tirith))

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •