Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: k3b won't burn DVD-R

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    970

    Default k3b won't burn DVD-R

    My system is 13.2/KDE 4.14.9, Linux 3.16.7-24-desktop
    I just returned from holiday(2 months), successfully ran a rather massive update one day ago.
    Generally, system seems running very well.

    I am attempting to burn a downloaded ISO image to DVD.
    hwinfo reports this for each of my 2 DVD Burners:
    Code:
    59: SCSI 400.0: 10602 CD-ROM (DVD)
      [Created at block.249]
      Unique ID: KD9E.UE3JnqagSc9
      Parent ID: Eu86.4okphoSitB2
      SysFS ID: /class/block/sr0
      SysFS BusID: 4:0:0:0
      SysFS Device Link: /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:14.1/ata5/host4/target4:0:0/4:0:0:0
      Hardware Class: cdrom
      Model: "ATAPI iHAS424   B"
      Vendor: "ATAPI"
      Device: "iHAS424   B"
      Revision: "GL1A"
      Driver: "pata_atiixp", "sr"
      Driver Modules: "pata_atiixp"
      Device File: /dev/sr0 (/dev/sg3)
      Device Files: /dev/sr0, /dev/cdrom, /dev/cdrw, /dev/disk/by-id/ata-ATAPI_iHAS424_B_3524253_2B8122500324, /dev/disk/by-path/pci-0000:00:14.1-ata-1.0, /dev/dvd, /dev/dvdrw
      Device Number: block 11:0 (char 21:3)
      Features: CD-R, CD-RW, DVD, DVD-R, DVD-RW, DVD-R DL, DVD+R, DVD+RW, DVD+R DL, DVD-RAM, MRW, MRW-W
      Drive status: no medium
      Config Status: cfg=yes, avail=yes, need=no, active=unknown
      Attached to: #25 (IDE interface)
      Drive Speed: 48
    I am using DVD-Rs from Verbatium, DataLifePlus, 2 years old.
    I have successfully burned DVDs and CDs using k3b in the past, perhaps since oS 12.x.

    When I try to burn with k3b, I get various I/O error messages.
    I tried several different blank DVDs, wondering if I had a shelf life issue (they were purchased on 2013).
    Some would fail immediately, some would fail at the end of the burn (before verify).

    Thinking that it could be k3b, my media or perhaps my burner HW, I fired up my Win 8.1 VM with the DVD burner attached in passthru mode.
    I find that the Win 8.1 Media Tools burner does successfully burn the media in the burner, and verify OK.
    The directory structure looks correct, I have not used the resulting DVD yet.

    Since it is totally unacceptable that Win can do something openSUSE cannot,
    looking for suggestions/experiences/possible fixes.

    My k3b is Ver 2.0.80 from Packman Repo.

    I decided to post in applications since there is evidence, at least in one instance, that the media and hardware are OK.
    Desk: i7-4790K Leap 15.1(x86_64)4.12.14-lp151.28.7-default KF5 59.0 Plasma 5.14.4 Qt 5.13.0
    Lap: HPDV7T i7 Leap 15.0(x86_64)4.12.14-lp151.28.7-default KF5 59.0 Plasma 5.14.4 Qt 5.13.0

  2. #2

    Default AW: k3b won't burn DVD-R

    Try to install cdrecord (cdrtools) instead of wodim (cdrkit) and cdrkit-cdrtools-compat.

    The latter does have problems with certain burners and all kind of other bugs.
    It is actually an outdated and unmaintained fork of the former, done by Debian because of supposed license problems.

    cdrecord has been and still is actively developed though and has been readded to the distribution in 13.2 (or was it 13.1 already?).

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: k3b won't burn DVD-R

    On 2015-08-21 12:06, wolfi323 wrote:

    > cdrecord has been and still is actively developed though and has been
    > readded to the distribution in 13.2 (or was it 13.1 already?).


    Not 13.1:

    Code:
    cer@Telcontar:~> rpm -qf /usr/bin/cdrecord
    cdrkit-cdrtools-compat-1.1.11-16.1.3.x86_64
    cer@Telcontar:~>
    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" at Telcontar)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    970

    Default Re: k3b won't burn DVD-R

    Thanks gents, I switched to cdrecord (cdrtools) and k3b ran the iso burn with no issues.

    Burn time seemed a little faster than with the Win 8.1 burner, but I did not keep hard data.

    All good now!
    Desk: i7-4790K Leap 15.1(x86_64)4.12.14-lp151.28.7-default KF5 59.0 Plasma 5.14.4 Qt 5.13.0
    Lap: HPDV7T i7 Leap 15.0(x86_64)4.12.14-lp151.28.7-default KF5 59.0 Plasma 5.14.4 Qt 5.13.0

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    2,908

    Default Re: k3b won't burn DVD-R

    Double layer DVD-R and/OR files >2GB, perchance?

    Once many months ago I couldn't burn them with wodim, would fail every time, at various points of the process. When burning >2GB files only the files *before* the large file would be readable, the subsequent files would be corrupted.

    A switch to cdrecord solved the issue.

    Wodim might have made some sense at the time (or not) but it's unusable now except for very simple (read: old) things, like recording CDRs.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    970

    Default Re: k3b won't burn DVD-R

    Mine was a 3.8GB iso headed to a SL DVD.
    So my experience matches yours.

    BTW, happens to be the Win10 free upgrade; I half wondered if MS figured out how to only allow burning under Win....
    Desk: i7-4790K Leap 15.1(x86_64)4.12.14-lp151.28.7-default KF5 59.0 Plasma 5.14.4 Qt 5.13.0
    Lap: HPDV7T i7 Leap 15.0(x86_64)4.12.14-lp151.28.7-default KF5 59.0 Plasma 5.14.4 Qt 5.13.0

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: k3b won't burn DVD-R

    On 2015-08-21 22:36, cmcgrath5035 wrote:
    > BTW, happens to be the Win10 free upgrade; I half wondered if MS figured
    > out how to only allow burning under Win....


    No, they would not do that. So that you can't install Windows? LOL.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" at Telcontar)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •