Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: How does ~/.config/dconf/user get populated

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    301

    Default How does ~/.config/dconf/user get populated

    How does ~/.config/dconf/user get populated ?

    If I delete it, it will come back at the next login. Where does it
    get generated from? Specifically how do I change it ?
    /etc/dconf/db/ibus.d/00-upstream-settings says make another file
    with a higher prefix and run dconf update but that doesn't seem to
    change the one that gets stuffed into your home directory.

    Ta

    Mal

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    25,157

    Default Re: How does ~/.config/dconf/user get populated

    This is most probably used by desktop software. So mentioning which DE you use might be helpful.
    Henk van Velden

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    301

    Default Re: How does ~/.config/dconf/user get populated

    I am using KDE but the settings I am interested in are for IBus,
    the defaults that get generated appear to be wrong ( as in they
    are always setting a US keyboard ). If you use dconf-editor or
    change the Input Methods you can change them so they work
    but that is on a per user basis.

    Ta

    Mal

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    1,134

    Default Re: How does ~/.config/dconf/user get populated

    Quote Originally Posted by interele View Post
    as in they
    are always setting a US keyboard
    What do you have in
    YaST > Hardware > System Keyboard Layout
    ~Thank you for sharing an interesting problem.
    --
    slàinte mhath,
    rayH

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,746

    Default Re: How does ~/.config/dconf/user get populated

    Note that there is a system keyboard setting and one for each desktop/user. Don't get them confused. Remember the Linux is multi-user and one user may want to use one keyboard layout and an other user a different one then the system needs one defined also for system stuff.

    You probably don't want to mess with dconf unless you really understand what you do.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    301

    Default Re: How does ~/.config/dconf/user get populated

    Yast in hardware say UK English and in Locale also says UK English
    KDE in System Settings Locale says System Country ( United Kingdom )
    If the user has used the system when the machines were 13.1 their ~/.config/dconf/user
    is correct -if they have never logged in before ( and there will be 300 odd
    of them in September ) then when their ~/.config/dconf/user is created
    it has a US keyboard layout and KDE ( via IBus ) uses that.
    So far I have 3 nasty workarounds
    1 - delete IBus
    2 - copy a correct 'user' file from an old user into every new user
    3- add a kxkbrc to /etc/kde4/share/config and live with the fact that the keyboard layout indicator says US
    None of which are particularly nice but trying to get 300 kids to right click on the indicator and select preferences
    etc etc is going to be like herding cats

    Best wishes

    Mal

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    1,134

    Default Re: How does ~/.config/dconf/user get populated

    Quote Originally Posted by interele View Post
    Yast in hardware say UK English and in Locale also says UK English
    KDE in System Settings Locale says System Country ( United Kingdom )
    If the user has used the system when the machines were 13.1 their ~/.config/dconf/user
    is correct -if they have never logged in before ( and there will be 300 odd
    of them in September ) then when their ~/.config/dconf/user is created
    it has a US keyboard layout and KDE ( via IBus ) uses that.
    So far I have 3 nasty workarounds ...
    From observation of my 13.2 KDE systems:
    They do not use dconf and gsettings (although there is a dependency by Network Manager for gsettings-schemas).
    They do not have a ~/.config/dconf/
    (Are you loading any Gnome/GTK software that requires gsettings/dconf ?)
    Everything I do seems to work with dconf, gsettings-backend-dconf and libdconf1 rpms uninstalled.
    ~Thank you for sharing an interesting problem.
    --
    slàinte mhath,
    rayH

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •