Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: How to reset K3b settings or configuration.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Puerto Rico
    Posts
    102

    Default How to reset K3b settings or configuration.

    Hi guys I have done something really dumb, I have installed opensuse on a friends computer and I was going to show him how to use k3b and by accident I have enabled "on the fly burning" and thus disabled the "normalize" function of k3b, to make things worse when looking in K3b menus how enable again the "normalize" function I have somehow made the top menu bar disappear and now I don't know where to look to reset the settings or configurations file to make K3b load the default configurations again like it was before the changes, please help me guys I don't want to have to reinstall again to solve this little problem.
    O/S: openSUSE Tumbleweed Plasma 5 64-bit
    CPU: Pentium Dual-Core CPU E5300 @ 2.6GHz
    GPU: Intel 4 Series Integrated Graphics Controller
    GPU driver: Mesa DRI Intel® G41

  2. #2

    Default Re: How to reset K3b settings or configuration.

    Quote Originally Posted by eor2004 View Post
    I have somehow made the top menu bar disappear and now I don't know where to look to reset the settings or configurations file to make K3b load the default configurations again like it was before the changes
    You can try to remove ~/.kde4/share/config/k3brc, that should reset all settings to the defaults.

    You should be able to re-enable the menus by pressing Ctrl+M like in every other KDE application...

    And on-the-fly burning is enabled/disabled in the burning dialog, that appears when you actually click on "Burn".

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Puerto Rico
    Posts
    102

    Default Re: How to reset K3b settings or configuration.

    Thanks wolfi for the answer, the Ctrl+M button combination worked like a charm, the top menu appeared again, but sadly "normalize" option is still disabled because I clicked on the box that said "disable normalize audio" instead of the button that said "disable on the fly burning", I tried to look for the file "~/.kde4/share/config/k3brc" that you mentioned but didn't find it, so what to do next?
    O/S: openSUSE Tumbleweed Plasma 5 64-bit
    CPU: Pentium Dual-Core CPU E5300 @ 2.6GHz
    GPU: Intel 4 Series Integrated Graphics Controller
    GPU driver: Mesa DRI Intel® G41

  4. #4

    Default Re: How to reset K3b settings or configuration.

    Quote Originally Posted by eor2004 View Post
    Thanks wolfi for the answer, the Ctrl+M button combination worked like a charm, the top menu appeared again, but sadly "normalize" option is still disabled because I clicked on the box that said "disable normalize audio" instead of the button that said "disable on the fly burning", I tried to look for the file "~/.kde4/share/config/k3brc" that you mentioned but didn't find it, so what to do next?
    Well, it should be there. But ~/.kde4 is a hidden folder, so you would have to enable "Show hidden folders" in your file manager, or type this ina terminal window:
    Code:
    rm ~/.kde4/share/config/k3brc
    Another option (to not lose all settings): open the file in a text editor (e.g. with "kwrite ~/.kde4/share/config/k3brc") remove the following lines and save it:
    Code:
    [Notification Messages]
    audioProjectNormalizeOrOnTheFly=false
    Or just disable "on the fly burning" manually, and the normalize option should be available again. I.e. enable "Create Image" on the first tab, and maybe "Delete Image" too to remove the image files after burning.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Puerto Rico
    Posts
    102

    Default Re: How to reset K3b settings or configuration.

    (Solved)

    Quote Originally Posted by wolfi323 View Post
    Well, it should be there. But ~/.kde4 is a hidden folder, so you would have to enable "Show hidden folders" in your file manager, or type this ina terminal window:
    Code:
    rm ~/.kde4/share/config/k3brc
    Wolfi, you're a lifesaver, thank you very much, that command fixed the problem, thank you once again!
    O/S: openSUSE Tumbleweed Plasma 5 64-bit
    CPU: Pentium Dual-Core CPU E5300 @ 2.6GHz
    GPU: Intel 4 Series Integrated Graphics Controller
    GPU driver: Mesa DRI Intel® G41

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: How to reset K3b settings or configuration.

    On 2015-07-20 20:06, eor2004 wrote:

    > I don't want to have to reinstall again to solve this little problem.


    A comment (I see you have solved your problem already).

    You never need to reinstall to solve this kind of problems, caused by a
    user misconfiguring things. At worst, you create a new user, and login
    as that user instead... (also should work in Windows, by the way, or any
    modern operating system). The operation does not destroy any data, the
    previous user is still accessible.

    To create a new user, you would do that easily in YaST, user management
    module.

    Another, drastic method, is to rename the entire .kde* directory.


    You do not need any of this, this time; just that you have another tool
    in your repertory for the next time :-)

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.

    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" (Minas Tirith))

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Puerto Rico
    Posts
    102

    Default Re: How to reset K3b settings or configuration.

    Quote Originally Posted by robin_listas View Post
    On 2015-07-20 20:06, eor2004 wrote:

    > I don't want to have to reinstall again to solve this little problem.


    A comment (I see you have solved your problem already).

    You never need to reinstall to solve this kind of problems, caused by a
    user misconfiguring things. At worst, you create a new user, and login
    as that user instead... (also should work in Windows, by the way, or any
    modern operating system). The operation does not destroy any data, the
    previous user is still accessible.

    To create a new user, you would do that easily in YaST, user management
    module.

    Another, drastic method, is to rename the entire .kde* directory.


    You do not need any of this, this time; just that you have another tool
    in your repertory for the next time :-)

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.

    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" (Minas Tirith))
    Thank you robin for the advice!
    O/S: openSUSE Tumbleweed Plasma 5 64-bit
    CPU: Pentium Dual-Core CPU E5300 @ 2.6GHz
    GPU: Intel 4 Series Integrated Graphics Controller
    GPU driver: Mesa DRI Intel® G41

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    2,908

    Default Re: How to reset K3b settings or configuration.

    Quote Originally Posted by robin_listas View Post
    On 2015-07-20 20:06, eor2004 wrote:

    > I don't want to have to reinstall again to solve this little problem.

    Also, a reinstall without removing the local configuration files will leave you the same as before, as most applications will not create a new user config if there's one already in the user home.

    You should learn how to show hidden files. There are many ways, like pressing F8 while in Dolphin, if you're running KDE, or checking the "Display" menu in your file manager of choice.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Puerto Rico
    Posts
    102

    Default Re: How to reset K3b settings or configuration.

    Quote Originally Posted by brunomcl View Post
    You should learn how to show hidden files. There are many ways, like pressing F8 while in Dolphin.
    Believe me, I know how to make file manager show hidden files, I'm no rookie, been using linux since 2007, have used many linux distros, I'm what you call a distro hopper, I have looked in hidden files but wasn't able to find the folders that Wolfi mentioned in previous post, however it was faster to do the command Wolfi gave me to erase the k3b config folder than to keep looking for a file that I did not manage to find wherever I have looked!
    O/S: openSUSE Tumbleweed Plasma 5 64-bit
    CPU: Pentium Dual-Core CPU E5300 @ 2.6GHz
    GPU: Intel 4 Series Integrated Graphics Controller
    GPU driver: Mesa DRI Intel® G41

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Puerto Rico
    Posts
    102

    Default Re: How to reset K3b settings or configuration.

    Ok, after carefully looking for the file, I found it, don't know why I didn't find it before, maybe it's time to go check my vision!
    O/S: openSUSE Tumbleweed Plasma 5 64-bit
    CPU: Pentium Dual-Core CPU E5300 @ 2.6GHz
    GPU: Intel 4 Series Integrated Graphics Controller
    GPU driver: Mesa DRI Intel® G41

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •