Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22

Thread: Update bootloader fails

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Update bootloader fails

    On 2015-06-17 15:26, nrickert wrote:
    > Try "vi" (steep learning curve), or "nano" (fairly easy), or "joe" (I
    > never tried it, but it is supposed to be okay for these kinds of tasks).


    It is what I use, as "jstar". There is also "jmacs" and "jpico" - all of
    them are the same editor with different behaviour.

    Another good one is "mcedit", if 'mc', midnight commander is installed,
    and I always do.


    None of them add '"', as far as I know.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" at Telcontar)

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Mexico and Sweden
    Posts
    1,326

    Default Re: Update bootloader fails

    Quote Originally Posted by robin_listas View Post
    On 2015-06-17 15:46, ionmich wrote:

    > Joe is what I always use. It always worked in the past.


    And it does, but by default it wraps lines. You have to toggle this
    behaviour.

    If you use "joe" in the "jstar" flavour, you type "ctrl-o", to reach the
    options, then "W" (W Word wrap ON) to set it off.

    > Besides,
    > wouldn't "cat -A" show any illegal characters? I tried that already.


    But it wraps.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" at Telcontar)
    Many thanks! Jstar worked. But I did a get a warning...

    Code:
      WARNING: lvmetad is running but disabled. Restart lvmetad before enabling it!
      No volume groups found
    done
    I have no idea what lvmetad does.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Update bootloader fails

    On 2015-06-17 16:06, ionmich wrote:
    >
    > By the way this is what "hexedit" shows for the guilty line 32...
    >
    >
    > Code:
    > --------------------
    > 000006D8 20 73 74 61 72 74 0A 23 47 52 55 42 5F 49 4E 49 54 5F 54 55 4E 45 3D 22 start.#GRUB_INIT_TUNE="
    > 000006F0 34 38 30 20 34 34 30 20 31 22 0A 23 20 53 6B 69 70 20 33 30 5F 6F 73 2D 480 440 1".# Skip 30_os-
    > --------------------
    >
    >
    > I don't see anything odd.
    >
    > Sorry I forgot to answer your question, line 32 is NOT the last line.
    >
    >


    nrickert is absolutely right. These two lines:

    Code:
    GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT=" resume=/dev/disk/by-uuid/40c9d08d-be72-4b80-abb0-b4d42c874871 splash=silent quiet showopts"
    i915.modeset="1 tpm_tis.interrupts=0""
    Should be one:

    Code:
    GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT=" resume=/dev/disk/by-uuid/40c9d08d-be72-4b80-abb0-b4d42c874871 splash=silent quiet showopts i915.modeset=1 tpm_tis.interrupts=0"
    And beware of where the quotes are placed.
    The original has an odd number of quotes, which offsets the parser and makes it issue an error on the wrong line number.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" at Telcontar)

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    12,901
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: Update bootloader fails

    Quote Originally Posted by ionmich View Post
    Many thanks! Jstar worked. But I did a get a warning...

    Code:
      WARNING: lvmetad is running but disabled. Restart lvmetad before enabling it!
      No volume groups found
    done
    I have no idea what lvmetad does.
    That's a standard "warning" which I standardly ignore.

    As I understand it, "lvmetad" is a daemon that provides meta-data for logical volumes. It's main purpose seems to be to create annoying messages that everybody ignores
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5;
    testing Leap 15.2Alpha

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Update bootloader fails

    On 2015-06-17 16:26, ionmich wrote:

    > I have no idea what lvmetad does.



    Code:
    cer@Telcontar:~> apropos lvmetad
    lvmetad (8)          - LVM metadata cache daemon
    cer@Telcontar:~>
    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" at Telcontar)

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Mexico and Sweden
    Posts
    1,326

    Default Re: Update bootloader fails

    Yes "grub2-mkconfig" completed without an error but now I have a computer that will not boot. The usual login screen blacks out and asks for a username and password which then fails. This all started with a "zypper up". Since I don't understand how grub2 works I never fooled with /etc/default/grub, never edited it until "grub2-mkconfig" errored out.

    So now what is the simplest way to get rid of grub2, revert to grub and fix things from a live USB boot? I understand grub and it has always worked for me.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Update bootloader fails

    On 2015-06-17 16:46, ionmich wrote:
    >
    > Yes "grub2-mkconfig" completed without an error but now I have a
    > computer that will not boot. The usual login screen blacks out and asks
    > for a username and password which then fails. This all started with a
    > "zypper up". Since I don't understand how grub2 works I never fooled
    > with /etc/default/grub, never edited it until "grub2-mkconfig" errored
    > out.


    If you get a login prompt, the issue is not grub at all. You may try
    login in text mode.

    > So now what is the simplest way to get rid of grub2, revert to grub and
    > fix things from a live USB boot? I understand grub and it has always
    > worked for me.


    You can not do that. Recently YaST does not support grub 1. Yes, I also
    prefer grub 1.


    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.

    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" (Minas Tirith))

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,769

    Default Re: Update bootloader fails

    Grub 1 is fine if you don't have to deal with EFI. IMO get used to grub2 since grub 1 will die as more machine have UEFI

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Mexico and Sweden
    Posts
    1,326

    Default Re: Update bootloader fails

    Well it's nice to know about jstar and the wrap problem. And the news is not that bad. The upper part of the green lizard displays with a small black window under it. It asks for a username and password. I can log in as root. Then the screen clears and it displays the normal login box where I can now login as user.

    I tried to re-configure the loader using YaST but it had no effect. I suspect I have to delete some grub2 file in order for YaST to work. Is my assumption something I should follow? This is my current /etc/default/grub...

    Code:
    cat /etc/default/grub  
    
    # Modified by YaST2. Last modification on Wed Jun 17 19:30:08 EEST 2015
    # THIS FILE WILL BE PARTIALLY OVERWRITTEN by perl-Bootloader
    # For the new kernel it try to figure out old parameters. In case we are not able to recognize it (e.g. change of flavor or strange install order ) it it use as fallback installation parameters from /etc/sysconfig/bootloader
    
    # If you change this file, run 'grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/grub2/grub.cfg' afterwards to update
    # /boot/grub2/grub.cfg.
    GRUB_DISTRIBUTOR=openSUSE
    GRUB_DEFAULT=saved
    GRUB_HIDDEN_TIMEOUT=0
    GRUB_HIDDEN_TIMEOUT_QUIET=true
    GRUB_TIMEOUT=8
     GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT=" resume=/dev/disk/by-uuid/40c9d08d-be72-4b80-abb0-b4d42c874871 splash=silent quiet showopts  i915.modeset=1  tpm_tis.interrupts=0 vga=0x37d"
    # kernel command line options for failsafe mode
    GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_RECOVERY="showopts apm=off noresume edd=off powersaved=off nohz=off highres=off processor.max_cstate=1 nomodeset x11failsafe"
    GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX=""
    # Uncomment to enable BadRAM filtering, modify to suit your needs
    # This works with Linux (no patch required) and with any kernel that obtains
    # the memory map information from GRUB (GNU Mach, kernel of FreeBSD ...)
    #GRUB_BADRAM=0x01234567,0xfefefefe,0x89abcdef,0xefefefef
    # Uncomment to disable graphical terminal (grub-pc only)
    GRUB_TERMINAL=gfxterm
    # The resolution used on graphical terminal
    # note that you can use only modes which your graphic card supports via VBE
    # you can see them in real GRUB with the command `vbeinfo'
    GRUB_GFXMODE=auto
    # Uncomment if you don't want GRUB to pass "root=UUID=xxx" parameter to Linux
    #GRUB_DISABLE_LINUX_UUID=true
    # Uncomment to disable generation of recovery mode menu entries
    #GRUB_DISABLE_LINUX_RECOVERY=true
    # Uncomment to get a beep at grub start
    #GRUB_INIT_TUNE="480 440 1"
    # Skip 30_os-prober if you experienced very slow in probing them
    # WARNING foregin OS menu entries will be lost if set true here
    GRUB_DISABLE_OS_PROBER=false
    # Set to 'y' for grub to be installed on an encrypted partition
    GRUB_ENABLE_CRYPTODISK=n
    SUSE_BTRFS_SNAPSHOT_BOOTING=true
    GRUB_BACKGROUND=/boot/grub2/themes/openSUSE/background.png
    GRUB_THEME=/boot/grub2/themes/openSUSE/theme.txt

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    12,901
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: Update bootloader fails

    Quote Originally Posted by ionmich View Post
    Well it's nice to know about jstar and the wrap problem. And the news is not that bad. The upper part of the green lizard displays with a small black window under it. It asks for a username and password. I can log in as root. Then the screen clears and it displays the normal login box where I can now login as user.
    I'm wondering which green lizard that is. Is the the KDM login screen?

    Comparing your "/etc/default/grub" with mine, the main difference is that for me the "GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT" line ends with:
    Code:
    ... quiet showopts"
    It does not have those extra options.
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5;
    testing Leap 15.2Alpha

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •