How to stop defaut applications reinstalling themselves?

Hi all , I’m new to opensuse and really liking what I’m seeing so far but a few annoyances one being:

First thing I do on installing a new distro is remove the applications I don’t use/like.

I’ve always had issues with braesero so removed that along with other applications that are fine but I simply don’t use , transmission , pidgin , thunderbird , totem (gui and plugins only) , juicer , rhythm box. (I use alternatives.)

Then I went back to install applications and it automatically re-ticked them all for installation , so I un-ticked them all.

Then I did an update and it re-installed every single one.

How can avoid this happening again?

Thanks for your time. :slight_smile:

Hi,

You can put a lock on those apps that you don’t want to install/use but beware it might break some other apps.
I assume you are using yast2 for installing packages if so you can right click on the package you don’t want to be installed and taboo or lock it.
Also

zypper help al

and see how to put a lock on a program using zypper.

These are recommended thus brought in.

Go to Yast Software management Options - Ignore recommendation for already installed packages

The you can gut things to your hearts content.

On 2015-06-13 03:36, DanDare wrote:

> Then I did an update and it re-installed every single one.
>
> HOW CAN AVOID THIS HAPPENING AGAIN?

You don’t say what release you are using, but this is an issue that
appeared with 13.2.

A search on the forum will find you dozens of times this question has
been asked.

You have to taboo each of those packages, or disable something named
“install recommends for already installed packages” or similar wording,
in YaST.

Cheers / Saludos,

Carlos E. R.

(from 13.1 x86_64 “Bottle” (Minas Tirith))

*“Go to Yast Software management Options - Ignore recommendation for already installed packages”