Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: kcometn4 screen saver and KDE backdrop prob

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    N. Wales
    Posts
    1,028

    Default kcometn4 screen saver and KDE backdrop prob

    Hi all,

    Just been messing around with the screen savers in KDE 4.14.8, Opensuse
    13.2, all updates done.

    I have set up Kcometn4 to use the desktop as the background cube, all works
    fine in the preview pane and when I "test" it it runs just right.

    However when I leave the machine for it to start all I get is the comets on
    the standard lock screen background. ( the green puddle of pi55 thing )

    ;-)

    I have turned of the blank/dim screen in power options and to set the screen
    saver you have to stop the "Simple Locker" in display settings have looked
    everywhere I can think of that it might be starting from but cannot see why
    it should pull that screen out instead of the actual shot of the desktop
    when the saver kicks in like it used to do.

    Now I can use pictures of my own and whole folders to cycle but not screeny
    it should take at the instant it kicks in which it does during test.

    Anyone got any idea please?

    No biggy really but I do like to have my eye candy.

    It is amazing what pleases simple bored minds on a lazy Sunday
    afternoon/evening :-)

    --
    Mark
    Nullus in verba
    Caveat emptor
    Nil illigitimi carborundum

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,649

    Default Re: kcometn4 screen saver and KDE backdrop prob

    Where did that screen saver come from? I can't find it here.

    Since I always do a clean install maybe it is on your machine as a left over from an earlier version

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
    Posts
    289

    Default Re: kcometn4 screen saver and KDE backdrop prob

    The desktop cube worked great until somewhere in 2013 when it was disabled in the name of security. I've used this screen saver for a long time too. In any event, you can simulate the desktop cube and get around the security concerns if you follow the post by yankee495 here:

    http://kde-look.org/content/show.php...&PHPSESSID=cae

    I haven't tried it but I think that it works.

    Good Luck,

    Gordon
    Laptop #1: OpenSUSE Leap 15.0 (x86_64) | HP ZBook 17 G2 (17")
    Laptop #2: OpenSUSE Leap 15.0 (x86_64) | System76 Darter (14")

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    N. Wales
    Posts
    1,028

    Default Re: kcometn4 screen saver and KDE backdrop prob

    gogalthorp donned his tin foil hat and penned:

    >
    >
    > Where did that screen saver come from? I can't find it here.
    >
    > Since I always do a clean install maybe it is on your machine as a left
    > over from an earlier version
    >
    >


    Hi,

    It is in the repos as a separate d/l from OBS KDE.

    One of the best screen savers around, it takes a snappy of your desktop
    forms a cube with 6 of them, puts the observer inside the cube and gives a
    display of various comets and stuff like a fireworks show.

    You can also add sound effects but at the moment that does not appear to work
    here but will get round to that eventually.

    As I say not biggy just something to do when I am not busy :-)

    Just seen Gordons post will have a play later.

    --
    Mark
    Nullus in verba
    Caveat emptor
    Nil illigitimi carborundum

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    N. Wales
    Posts
    1,028

    Default Re: kcometn4 screen saver and KDE backdrop prob

    gldickens3 donned his tin foil hat and penned:

    >
    >
    > The desktop cube worked great until somewhere in 2013 when it was
    > disabled in the name of security. I've used this screen saver for a
    > long time too. In any event, you can simulate the desktop cube and get
    > around the security concerns if you follow the post by 'yankee495'
    > (http://tinyurl.com/ok758yt) here:
    >
    > http://tinyurl.com/oybmqoz
    >
    > I haven't tried it but I think that it works.
    >
    > Good Luck,
    >
    > Gordon
    >
    >


    Cheers Gordon,

    Will have a play later after "work" ( sorry for the 4 letter word this early
    on a Monday morning )

    Cheers.

    --
    Mark
    Nullus in verba
    Caveat emptor
    Nil illigitimi carborundum

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
    Posts
    289

    Default Re: kcometn4 screen saver and KDE backdrop prob

    Hi Mark,

    If you try the work-around then please let us know how well that it works.

    As an FYI, the screen lock password dialog was changed starting in KDE 4.10 such that the screen lock blanks the screen before the screen saver starts. So, you now get a plain black background instead of the desktop background. There is a discussion about this on page 6 of the same thread as above at:

    http://kde-look.org/content/show.php...&PHPSESSID=cae

    Read starting with the April 7, 2013 post. Kcometen4's developer responded with: "The option to use the desktop as a background will probably have to go away". However, yankee495 then posted the aforementioned work-around.

    Gordon
    Laptop #1: OpenSUSE Leap 15.0 (x86_64) | HP ZBook 17 G2 (17")
    Laptop #2: OpenSUSE Leap 15.0 (x86_64) | System76 Darter (14")

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    N. Wales
    Posts
    1,028

    Default Re: kcometn4 screen saver and KDE backdrop prob

    gldickens3 donned his tin foil hat and penned:

    >
    >
    > Hi Mark,
    >
    > If you try the work-around then please let us know how well that it
    > works.
    >
    > As an FYI, the screen lock password dialog was changed starting in KDE
    > 4.10 such that the screen lock blanks the screen before the screen saver
    > starts. So, you now get a plain black background instead of the
    > desktop background. There is a discussion about this on page 6 of the
    > same thread as above at:
    >
    > http://tinyurl.com/o6a3cpe
    >
    > Read starting with the April 7, 2013 post. Kcometen4's developer
    > responded with: "The option to use the desktop as a background will
    > probably have to go away". However, yankee495 then posted the
    > aforementioned work-around.
    >
    > Gordon
    >
    >


    Hi Gordon,

    Will do, just got in, need sustenance first :-)

    (plus the other half "Absolutely needs to go shopping", you know the
    stamping foot thing!)

    So will try my best later.

    Cheers

    --
    Mark
    Nullus in verba
    Caveat emptor
    Nil illigitimi carborundum

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •