Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27

Thread: Firefox performance - frequent stalls

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    970

    Default Firefox performance - frequent stalls

    I have 13.2/KDE 4.14.6 running with Firefox 38.0.1

    I tend to be a bit 'sloppy' with my browser these days, keeping 10-12 tabs open to speed bouncing about on various topics.
    Over the past couple months I have experienced, with increasing regularity, periods in which Firefox appears to have stalled or frozen.
    I usually have KSystemMonitor open, and during these stalls see Firefox consuming 25% or more (likely a full core, of 4) doing what it is doing.

    i'll add that ever since Mozilla switched to Yahoo as the default Search (but I still use Google, so this is a version marker) , I see al lot more unblockable Pup-Ups and nuisance adv activity. If I had to, I would somewhat correlate this issue with the version that made the Yahoo switch, but I don't recall the release #.

    I keep Firefox up to date, from the openSUSE-13.2-Update repo

    Anyone else experiencing this?
    In an attempt to investigate, I moved several almost always open tabs over to Chrome.
    That helped a little, Chrome does not seem to have the same issues. I have tried selectively closing some of the Firefox tabs, but the stalls continue.

    Any thoughts on how to better diagnose?

    Thanks in advance.
    Desk: i7-4790K Leap 15.1(x86_64)4.12.14-lp151.28.7-default KF5 59.0 Plasma 5.14.4 Qt 5.13.0
    Lap: HPDV7T i7 Leap 15.0(x86_64)4.12.14-lp151.28.7-default KF5 59.0 Plasma 5.14.4 Qt 5.13.0

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Firefox performance - frequent stalls

    On 2015-06-03 19:16, cmcgrath5035 wrote:
    >
    > I have 13.2/KDE 4.14.6 running with Firefox 38.0.1
    >
    > I tend to be a bit 'sloppy' with my browser these days, keeping 10-12
    > tabs open to speed bouncing about on various topics.
    > Over the past couple months I have experienced, with increasing
    > regularity, periods in which Firefox appears to have stalled or frozen.
    > I usually have KSystemMonitor open, and during these stalls see Firefox
    > consuming 25% or more (likely a full core, of 4) doing what it is doing.
    >
    > i'll add that ever since Mozilla switched to Yahoo as the default Search
    > (but I still use Google, so this is a version marker) , I see al lot
    > more unblockable Pup-Ups and nuisance adv activity. If I had to, I would
    > somewhat correlate this issue with the version that made the Yahoo
    > switch, but I don't recall the release #.


    I have two addons on firefox: Flashblock (version 1.5.18 currently) you
    should have: it blocks ALL flash animations till you click on an arrow
    the addon displays on placeholders. Flash is a very likely candidate at
    high cpu load.

    The second one is "addblock plus", currently version 2.6.9.1-signed,
    which can be used to block the worst commercial (or all). The available
    filters are listed here https://easylist.adblockplus.org/en/

    I don't block all commercials, only those that are intrusive. And I make
    exceptions on some org pages, I understand they need to make a living. I
    block popups or floating banners and such.


    Notice however that addblock adds memory ussage. Possibly a lot,
    depending on the pages. It also slows down page loading, because it
    breaks parellelization: pages elements have to be fully downloaded and
    examined before each element in them is allowed to load and display, or
    blocked.

    Some info on this:

    https://blog.mozilla.org/nnethercote...-memory-usage/

    https://adblockplus.org/blog/on-the-...ry-consumption

    http://www.reddit.com/r/programming/..._memory_usage/

    page with 400 iFrames, With ABP, needs 1960MiB
    http://vimcolorschemetest.googlecode...l/index-c.html


    One very interesting post:
    ++++—-—-—-—-—-—-—-—-—-—-—-—-—-—-—-—-—-—-—-—-
    Chrome Dev here. We see this (and much more) with chrome as well.

    Adblock, noscript, ghostery, and other addons like them cause 90% of the
    issues we see in the forums.

    At the very least, by running any of these you are:

    Increasing memory usage anywhere from 10% to 30%
    increasing overall cpu usage across all cores
    increasing overall load time of the page by about 15% to 50%
    completely screwing many of the optimizations that have gone into
    the browser, effectively making the multi-threaded nature of the browser
    fight itself.

    This is because these programs need to interrupt any and all http calls
    to check them against a big list of "no-no" domains held in memory. If
    it matches, they remove the element from the dom so it doesn't load and
    let the browser continue.

    This has the effect of making every single thread sync up each time the
    dom is updated, so these extensions can scan the new elements to ensure
    they aren't loading ads/scripts. Fancy stuff like threaded compositing,
    network predictors and prefetchers, and batched layout rendering are all
    abandoned when any one of these is in play.
    —-—-—-—-—-—-—-—-—-—-—-—-—-—-—-—-—-—-—-—-++-


    >
    > I keep Firefox up to date, from the openSUSE-13.2-Update repo
    >
    > Anyone else experiencing this?
    > In an attempt to investigate, I moved several almost always open tabs
    > over to Chrome.
    > That helped a little, Chrome does not seem to have the same issues. I
    > have tried selectively closing some of the Firefox tabs, but the stalls
    > continue.
    >
    > Any thoughts on how to better diagnose?


    Try about:healthreport, about:buildconfig, about:memory... what it
    doesn't have is a CPU load one, specifically one that shows the load on
    each tab (Chrome does have a CPU display page - try Shift + Esc).

    I also miss a view or lists of all open tabs.


    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" at Telcontar)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    970

    Default Re: Firefox performance - frequent stalls

    Thanks Carlos - long list!

    I'll start with Flashblock -
    Desk: i7-4790K Leap 15.1(x86_64)4.12.14-lp151.28.7-default KF5 59.0 Plasma 5.14.4 Qt 5.13.0
    Lap: HPDV7T i7 Leap 15.0(x86_64)4.12.14-lp151.28.7-default KF5 59.0 Plasma 5.14.4 Qt 5.13.0

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    2,997

    Default Re: Firefox performance - frequent stalls

    completely agree with robin_listas
    just wanted to share some experience about a relatively new (for firefox) ad blocker
    uBlock Origin
    https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/fir...ublock-origin/
    it's supposed to be a lot faster then adblockplus
    according to their tests (on Chromium) browsing uses less memory then without an ad blocker
    https://github.com/gorhill/uBlock#performance

    ps the mozilla people have been doing a lot of changes regarding mp4 rendering, the latest versions use html5 instead of flash on youtube and pages with embedded youtube video's
    as bad as flash is on Linux, there seam to be some bugs regarding html5 and mp4 that are even more complex on Linux as Firefox uses the OS's build-in decoders, maybe when (if) Firefox bundles ffmpeg (as chrome did) we'll get a better media experience
    this prefference does exist media.fragmented-mp4.ffmpeg.enabled

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    2,997

    Default Re: Firefox performance - frequent stalls

    just a quick note
    I am writing this from a win box and I can't test it but according to this
    https://oneanddone.mozilla.org/en-US/tasks/89/
    If you want to test on Linux: ffmpeg is enabled by default at compile time on Linux but disabled by prefs.
    if you have ffmppeg from packman you can try this
    in about:config
    media.fragmented-mp4.exposed=true
    media.fragmented-mp4.ffmpeg.enabled=true
    media.mediasource.mp4.enabled=true

    not sure what Firefox uses as the current back-end, but imo ffmpeg is the best media library and should do a good job rendering mp4's

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    2,997

    Default Re: Firefox performance - frequent stalls

    Firefox performance-vise I thought I'd share this info
    I really wouldn't trust google (Chrome) devs talking about noscript or adblockers as 90% of their revenue is from ads. Yes adblockplus increases RAM and CPU usage significantly but noscript reduces RAM and CPU usage.
    I'd like to share these ublock graphs that seam rather interesting:
    RAM

    CPU (notice the significantly lower cpu usage) of ublock vs adblockplus


    ps there seams to be a fork of ublock by a new developer, I'm talking about the original author that seams to have lost his projects name and has a new one aka ublock origin.

    ps
    http://vimcolorschemetest.googlecode...l/index-c.html with ublock origin
    uses only 580MiB of RAM on a 32bit system with 4 GiB
    Last edited by I_A; 03-Jun-2015 at 14:29. Reason: spelling

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    970

    Default Re: Firefox performance - frequent stalls

    Thanks for info, lots to digest.

    I did install Flashblock 1.5.18.1 add-in, Firefox now idling nicely at 6-8%CPU.
    Desk: i7-4790K Leap 15.1(x86_64)4.12.14-lp151.28.7-default KF5 59.0 Plasma 5.14.4 Qt 5.13.0
    Lap: HPDV7T i7 Leap 15.0(x86_64)4.12.14-lp151.28.7-default KF5 59.0 Plasma 5.14.4 Qt 5.13.0

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    2,997

    Default Re: Firefox performance - frequent stalls

    ps if you'd like to remove that new yahoo search button and go back to the drop-down menu do this:
    in the address bar type about:config
    find the preference
    browser.search.showOneOffButtons and set it to false
    now you'll have the pre yahoo search box.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Firefox performance - frequent stalls

    On 2015-06-03 23:36, cmcgrath5035 wrote:
    >
    > Thanks for info, lots to digest.
    >
    > I did install Flashblock 1.5.18.1 add-in, Firefox now idling nicely at
    > 6-8%CPU.


    Good! :-)

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.

    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" (Minas Tirith))

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    970

    Default Re: Firefox performance - frequent stalls

    I_A - Thanks, I immediately changed back to Google as default search when the change originally appeared, so I am good.
    Desk: i7-4790K Leap 15.1(x86_64)4.12.14-lp151.28.7-default KF5 59.0 Plasma 5.14.4 Qt 5.13.0
    Lap: HPDV7T i7 Leap 15.0(x86_64)4.12.14-lp151.28.7-default KF5 59.0 Plasma 5.14.4 Qt 5.13.0

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •