Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: KDE Desktop Freezing Up

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    43

    Default KDE Desktop Freezing Up

    This problem has just appeared over the last few days. After a while, the KDE desktop will simply lock up and refuse to respond to input. The applications visible will still run and, if you happen to have focus, you can still do things up to (sometimes) pressing buttons, right-clicking or using menus. After a while these actions seem to lock up as well You can still drag windows about via the title bar. However, the toolbar stops reponding and the close button stops working. After about 30-40 seconds, either everything goes back to normal or just locks up even more, eventually requiring me to hard-cycle the power and reboot.

    Coupled to this is that ksysguard shows one processor permanently on 100%, despite showing no actual process that is running at anything like that.

    Removing the task manager from the toolbar improves things somewhat, as does switching the launcher from the classic menu style to the new sytle.

    Things I've done:

    Switched between the radeon and fglrx drivers (currently using fglrx)
    Completely reinstalled 13.2, to remove any weird crud that has built up
    Cleared out my .kde4, .kde and .config directories to ensure that I'm not loading something odd

    I'm using KDE 4.11.17 and kernel 3.16.7. Basically, I'm as up to date as I can be on a 64 bit system

    Posting quickly before the system locks up again ...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,654

    Default Re: KDE Desktop Freezing Up

    Odd maybe a heat problem??

    what video card and show us our repos

    zypper lr -d

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    N. Wales
    Posts
    1,028

    Default Re: KDE Desktop Freezing Up

    charvolant donned his tin foil hat and penned:

    >
    > This problem has just appeared over the last few days. After a while,
    > the KDE desktop will simply lock up and refuse to respond to input. The
    > applications visible will still run and, if you happen to have focus,
    > you can still do things up to (sometimes) pressing buttons,
    > right-clicking or using menus. After a while these actions seem to lock
    > up as well You can still drag windows about via the title bar. However,
    > the toolbar stops reponding and the close button stops working. After
    > about 30-40 seconds, either everything goes back to normal or just locks
    > up even more, eventually requiring me to hard-cycle the power and
    > reboot.
    >
    > Coupled to this is that ksysguard shows one processor permanently on
    > 100%, despite showing no actual process that is running at anything like
    > that.
    >
    > Removing the task manager from the toolbar improves things somewhat, as
    > does switching the launcher from the classic menu style to the new
    > sytle.
    >
    > Things I've done:
    >
    > Switched between the radeon and fglrx drivers (currently using fglrx)
    > Completely reinstalled 13.2, to remove any weird crud that has built up
    > Cleared out my .kde4, .kde and .config directories to ensure that I'm
    > not loading something odd
    >
    > I'm using KDE 4.11.17 and kernel 3.16.7. Basically, I'm as up to date as
    > I can be on a 64 bit system
    >
    > Posting quickly before the system locks up again ...


    Does it take a long time to boot?

    I will bet anything your root is full of snapshots from snapper.

    Had this myself, have a look in Yast>snapper and remove some of the older
    snapshots.

    You can limit how many snapper makes I think I just un-installed the thing
    :-)

    On my machine there was nearly 15 gigs out of 40 in snaps so removed them
    all and hey presto machine runs like a dream again.

    However I would not recommend getting rid of the last couple just in case
    you need to restore the machine.

    I do not mind here as it is only a play machine and am going to re-install
    later with a better partition scheme and no snapper or btrfs.

    HTH

    >
    >

    --
    Mark
    Nullus in verba
    Caveat emptor
    Nil illigitimi carborundum

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    43

    Default Re: KDE Desktop Freezing Up

    Some further information. I tried used IceWM. However, it kept on going into sleep mode all the time. (The KDE desktop, once it's got itself into a knot will also enter sleep mode, as well, sometimes, but not with the enthusiasm of IceWM).

    I've installed the GNOME desktop and that seems to be working fine and doesn't have a CPU maxing out.

    Quote Originally Posted by gogalthorp View Post
    Odd maybe a heat problem??

    what video card and show us our repos

    zypper lr -d
    The CPU temperature is about 55C under KDE and 45C under GNOME.

    The system is a Dell M4800 with an AMD FirePro M5100 Mobility Pro graphics card (according to Dell) or a Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Venus XT [Radeon HD 8870M / R9 M270X] according to lspci

    Output from zypper lr -d

    # | Alias | Name | Enabled | Refresh | Priority | Type | URI | Service
    ---+--------------------------------------+-----------------------------------------------------+---------+---------+----------+--------+-------------------------------------------------------------------------+--------
    1 | download.opensuse.org-Extra | openSUSE BuildService - KDE:Extra | Yes | Yes | 99 | rpm-md | http://download.opensuse.org/reposit...openSUSE_13.2/ |
    2 | download.opensuse.org-Virtualization | openSUSE BuildService - Virtualization (VirtualBox) | Yes | Yes | 99 | rpm-md | http://download.opensuse.org/reposit...openSUSE_13.2/ |
    3 | download.opensuse.org-games | openSUSE BuildService - Games | Yes | Yes | 99 | rpm-md | http://download.opensuse.org/reposit...openSUSE_13.2/ |
    4 | ftp.gwdg.de-suse | Packman Repository | Yes | Yes | 99 | rpm-md | http://ftp.gwdg.de/pub/linux/packman...openSUSE_13.2/ |
    5 | geeko.ioda.net-amd-fglrx | AMD/ATI Graphics Drivers | Yes | Yes | 99 | rpm-md | http://geeko.ioda.net/mirror/amd-fglrx/openSUSE_13.2/ |
    6 | openSUSE-13.2-0 | openSUSE-13.2-0 | No | No | 99 | yast2 | cd:///?devices=/dev/disk/by-id/ata-HL-DT-ST_DVD+_-RW_GU90N_KMPE3PG4308 |
    7 | opensuse-guide.org-repo | libdvdcss repository | Yes | Yes | 99 | rpm-md | http://opensuse-guide.org/repo/13.2/ |
    8 | repo-debug | openSUSE-13.2-Debug | No | Yes | 99 | NONE | http://download.opensuse.org/debug/d...13.2/repo/oss/ |
    9 | repo-debug-update | openSUSE-13.2-Update-Debug | No | Yes | 99 | NONE | http://download.opensuse.org/debug/update/13.2/ |
    10 | repo-debug-update-non-oss | openSUSE-13.2-Update-Debug-Non-Oss | No | Yes | 99 | NONE | http://download.opensuse.org/debug/update/13.2-non-oss/ |
    11 | repo-non-oss | openSUSE-13.2-Non-Oss | Yes | Yes | 99 | yast2 | http://download.opensuse.org/distrib.../repo/non-oss/ |
    12 | repo-oss | openSUSE-13.2-Oss | Yes | Yes | 99 | yast2 | http://download.opensuse.org/distrib...13.2/repo/oss/ |
    13 | repo-source | openSUSE-13.2-Source | No | Yes | 99 | NONE | http://download.opensuse.org/source/...13.2/repo/oss/ |
    14 | repo-update | openSUSE-13.2-Update | Yes | Yes | 99 | rpm-md | http://download.opensuse.org/update/13.2/ |
    15 | repo-update-non-oss | openSUSE-13.2-Update-Non-Oss | Yes | Yes | 99 | rpm-md | http://download.opensuse.org/update/13.2-non-oss/

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    43

    Default Re: KDE Desktop Freezing Up

    Quote Originally Posted by baskitcaise View Post
    charvolant donned his tin foil hat and penned:


    Does it take a long time to boot?

    I will bet anything your root is full of snapshots from snapper.
    Thanks for the suggestion, but it doesn't take a long time to boot and, since I did a complete re-install to try and fix things, it's not very cluttered up by snapper.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    N. Wales
    Posts
    1,028

    Default Re: KDE Desktop Freezing Up

    charvolant donned his tin foil hat and penned:

    >
    > baskitcaise;2711148 Wrote:
    >> charvolant donned his tin foil hat and penned:
    >>
    >>
    >> Does it take a long time to boot?
    >>
    >> I will bet anything your root is full of snapshots from snapper.
    >>
    >>

    >
    > Thanks for the suggestion, but it doesn't take a long time to boot and,
    > since I did a complete re-install to try and fix things, it's not very
    > cluttered up by snapper.
    >
    >


    Ah well, good job I don't do the horses :-)

    cheers.

    --
    Mark
    Nullus in verba
    Caveat emptor
    Nil illigitimi carborundum

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,654

    Default Re: KDE Desktop Freezing Up

    Did you try a different user? Maybe it is something messed in the KDE configs

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    43

    Default Re: KDE Desktop Freezing Up

    Quote Originally Posted by gogalthorp View Post
    Did you try a different user? Maybe it is something messed in the KDE configs
    Well, that's interesting. I created a new test user, logged in as that user under KDE and everything was just fine. The CPU was normal and everything was reacting with a gazelle-like sprightliness.

    This does, however, leave me with a bit of a problem. I reset KDE (or so I thought) before asking for help by removing .kde4, .kde and .config. It looks as if I haven't properly cleared things out and there's something else gumming up the works. I don't particularly want to blow away gigbytes of work and the databases of contact and connection information that I have in firefox and thunderbird for ... reasons. So I'm a bit uncomfortable with just zapping everything and starting again.

    So my question is, what do I need to do to completely reset KDE without mucking anything else up? Or, is there a tool that will allow me to elegantly migrate to a new user, without leaving a lot of useful information behind?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Kamloops, BC, Canada
    Posts
    3,974

    Default Re: KDE Desktop Freezing Up

    Quote Originally Posted by charvolant View Post
    Well, that's interesting. I created a new test user, logged in as that user under KDE and everything was just fine. The CPU was normal and everything was reacting with a gazelle-like sprightliness.

    This does, however, leave me with a bit of a problem. I reset KDE (or so I thought) before asking for help by removing .kde4, .kde and .config. It looks as if I haven't properly cleared things out and there's something else gumming up the works. I don't particularly want to blow away gigbytes of work and the databases of contact and connection information that I have in firefox and thunderbird for ... reasons. So I'm a bit uncomfortable with just zapping everything and starting again.

    So my question is, what do I need to do to completely reset KDE without mucking anything else up? Or, is there a tool that will allow me to elegantly migrate to a new user, without leaving a lot of useful information behind?
    One good method would be:

    Create the new test user, make certain it is working as you report, do not bother making any configuration changes.

    dd (or use a file backup method of your own preference) the new user's ~/ directory for backup purposes (you will see why lower down).

    Now copy one of the larger directory trees (such as .kde4) from your original user overtop of the same directory in the new user's location.

    Does the problem return? If not, do the same with another ~/ directory (say, .kde).

    BUT:

    If the problem does come back with one of these copy-overs:

    Copy the clean directory from the unadulterated backup you made (this is my "see below", as I mentioned).

    Make sure that fixes the problem. If so, that means you have found the tree containing the problem.

    Now (let us use the .kde4 directory as an example) copy one of the .kde4 subdirectories from your original user over top of the corresponding directory in your test user.

    Use the same test as above.

    Doing this, you can most likely narrow it down to one thing, and you can then work on a solution.
    -Gerry Makaro
    Fraser-Bell Info Tech
    Solving Tech Mysteries since the Olden Days!
    ~~
    If I helped you, consider clicking the Star at the bottom left of my post.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,654

    Default Re: KDE Desktop Freezing Up

    Note also you have to not be running KDE to successfully delete the ~/.kde4 directory since there may be files in use there. ie you can't change a tire while driving down the road

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •