Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Can't transfer from Sony camera

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Mexico and Sweden
    Posts
    1,280

    Default Can't transfer from Sony camera

    openSUSE 13.2 64bit KDE 4.14.6

    In the past with earlier OS versions I could connect my Sony DSC W170 camera to a USB slot and transfer the photos with a file browser. Now after connecting the browser reports a directory called "USB PTP Class Camera", but when I click on it I get "Unknown error code 150 I/O problem". The camera card is not a standard SDHC card so I can't stick in a USB card reader.

    Any suggestions would be appreciated.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Mexico and Sweden
    Posts
    1,280

    Default Re: Can't transfer from Sony camera

    I don't see how it can be an "I/O problem" because the usb ports both work with other connections. And the transfer works normally under openSUSE 13.1 32bit KDE 4.11.5 running on another box.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    24,869

    Default Re: Can't transfer from Sony camera

    Many cameras can switch between PTP (Picture Transfer Protocol) and being mass-storage. Maybe you switched the camera from the on to the other.

    As far as I know, a program like digiKam does know how to use PTP.
    Henk van Velden

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    24,869

    Default Re: Can't transfer from Sony camera

    Sorry, did miss your second post. When it can be used as mass-storage on 13.1, it will not be the switch in the camera.

    I vaguely remember a similar (or even same) thread here. It could be that in 13.2 the priority is changed from using mass-storage to PTP if both are supported by the device. When thgat is the case, maybe a bug report might be the way to go.
    Henk van Velden

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Mexico and Sweden
    Posts
    1,280

    Default Re: Can't transfer from Sony camera

    Quote Originally Posted by hcvv View Post
    Many cameras can switch between PTP (Picture Transfer Protocol) and being mass-storage. Maybe you switched the camera from the on to the other.

    As far as I know, a program like digiKam does know how to use PTP.
    Excellent diagnosis Henk! I had let someone use the camera and it had been set to PTP. Thank you very much.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    24,869

    Default Re: Can't transfer from Sony camera

    Quote Originally Posted by ionmich View Post
    Excellent diagnosis Henk! I had let someone use the camera and it had been set to PTP. Thank you very much.
    You are welcome.

    I assume, nowadays one should handle these cameras as being computers. And as such, when the settings are not protected by a root password that only you know, you should not let others use it.
    Henk van Velden

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •