Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25

Thread: Firewall doesn't detect network interfaces unless they were previously configured with wicked

  1. #1

    Default Firewall doesn't detect network interfaces unless they were previously configured with wicked

    Hello.

    I was planning to submit this as a bug, but I tough it would be wise to ask first:
    Is this the intended behaviour of the firewall?
    If no, should I report this?

    Steps to reproduce
    1.Fresh install of openSUSE 13.2 with Ethernet, not wifi
    2.Open firewall with YaST --> Interfaces (wlp3s0 is missing)
    3.Network Settings --> pick wicked --> configure wireless interface, connecting to an available wifi spot --> pick NetworkManager again
    4.Open firewall with YaST --> Interfaces(wlp3s0 is there now)

    I am not an expert, if you need me to do something, I am gonna need a lot of hand-holding

    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,769

    Default Re: Firewall doesn't detect network interfaces unless they were previously configured with wicked

    I had that problem or one like it in my case Wicked does not work so the Net goes to NetworkManager but the interface never was set so I had to temp set things to wicked to set the interface to allow the firewall to come up then switch back to NM. So I wonder how many people are running without a firewall???

    I did not notice it until I went to set up samba which would not work with the firewall down

  3. #3

    Default Re: Firewall doesn't detect network interfaces unless they were previously configured with wicked

    So, yes or no?
    I didn't find anything in bugzilla.
    Maybe I missed it?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,769

    Default Re: Firewall doesn't detect network interfaces unless they were previously configured with wicked

    I did not report it because it was a wicked failure in my case

  5. #5

    Default Re: Firewall doesn't detect network interfaces unless they were previously configured with wicked

    Bug, assuming it is, submitted here

    EDIT: Can this thread be closed now?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Firewall doesn't detect network interfaces unless they were previouslyconfigured with wicked

    On 2015-05-03 03:56, GreenMint wrote:

    > EDIT: Can this thread be closed now?


    Threads are not closed on these parts :-)

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.

    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" (Minas Tirith))

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    25,394

    Default Re: Firewall doesn't detect network interfaces unless they were previously configured with wicked

    Quote Originally Posted by GreenMint View Post
    Bug, assuming it is, submitted here

    EDIT: Can this thread be closed now?
    Thanks for providing the link. This enables people to add comment to the bug report.

    Threads are not closed normally. People might want to add something to it. And that might be important for others, you included.
    Henk van Velden

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    N. Wales
    Posts
    1,028

    Default Re: Firewall doesn't detect network interfaces unless they were previously configured with wicked

    gogalthorp wrote:

    >
    > I had that problem or one like it in my case Wicked does not work so the
    > Net goes to NetworkManager but the interface never was set so I had to
    > temp set things to wicked to set the interface to allow the firewall to
    > come up then switch back to NM. So I wonder how many people are running
    > without a firewall???
    >
    > I did not notice it until I went to set up samba which would not work
    > with the firewall down
    >
    >



    Waves hand here..... :-(

    Brand spanking new Tosh lappy, completely wiped it and installed 13.2 over
    the last couple of days, never thought about checking the firewall (or
    should I say not got round to it yet ) after seeing this thread I just
    checked and same here.

    No firewall

    not even set to enable

    so I started it but no adapters at all, but all are working fine, no probs
    at the moment as I am behind my router which is clamped pretty tight but
    while I am away from that I am leeching using my phone tetherd through usb.

    Thanks for pointing this out gogalthorp.

    So I take it that all I need to do is cange over from NM get eth and wifi
    set using wikd and then set firewall, go back to NM and all will be fine??

    Bit late now to start...

    Funny though never had this problem before in all the 13.2 installs just on
    this new laptop

    Cheers..


    Mark

    (as you cab see I have not even set my usual footer up yet)

    ;-)


  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    N. Wales
    Posts
    1,028

    Default Re: Firewall doesn't detect network interfaces unless they were previously configured with wicked

    Mark Christie wrote:

    > gogalthorp wrote:
    >
    >>
    >> I had that problem or one like it in my case Wicked does not work so the
    >> Net goes to NetworkManager but the interface never was set so I had to
    >> temp set things to wicked to set the interface to allow the firewall to
    >> come up then switch back to NM. So I wonder how many people are running
    >> without a firewall???
    >>
    >> I did not notice it until I went to set up samba which would not work
    >> with the firewall down
    >>
    >>

    >
    >
    > Waves hand here..... :-(
    >
    > Brand spanking new Tosh lappy, completely wiped it and installed 13.2 over
    > the last couple of days, never thought about checking the firewall (or
    > should I say not got round to it yet ) after seeing this thread I just
    > checked and same here.
    >
    > No firewall
    >
    > not even set to enable
    >


    <snippity snip my drivel>

    Put comment on bugzilla as well..

    ( I hate this keyboard, must plug a proper one in, so sensitive for my fat
    fingers, took me 10 mins just to type this ) ha ha ha :-)

    --
    Mark
    Nullus in verba
    Caveat emptor
    Nil illigitimi carborundum

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,769

    Default Re: Firewall doesn't detect network interfaces unless they were previously configured with wicked

    Yes all should check to see if the Firewall is running. Don't assume it is. If it is not running you get no error messages unless you try to add a port or service. or otherwise deal with it. You just don't have any firewall protection.

    Set net to wicked set the set a interface name switch back to NM enable start at boot and that should be it It needs the Interface string for the Firewall to work and it appears that if wicked fails to start no interface string is created.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •