Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: OpenSuse 13.2 with Gnome desktop with Compiz

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    87

    Default OpenSuse 13.2 with Gnome desktop with Compiz

    After installing OpenSuse 13.2 I used YaST to install compiz settings manager and I have enables desktop cube, rotate cube, and wobbly windows but none of the effects have taken effect. What do I need to do to start using these effects?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Sauerland
    Posts
    3,891

    Default AW: OpenSuse 13.2 with Gnome desktop with Compiz

    Code:
    What do I need to do to start using these effects?
    Normally no compiz.

    What Desktop are you using, KDE or Gnome or?

  3. #3

    Default Re: AW: OpenSuse 13.2 with Gnome desktop with Compiz

    Quote Originally Posted by Sauerland View Post
    Code:
    What do I need to do to start using these effects?
    Normally no compiz.

    What Desktop are you using, KDE or Gnome or?
    I think Gnome he is using.......

  4. #4

    Default Re: OpenSuse 13.2 with Gnome desktop with Compiz

    From this answer at Ask Ubunt : http://askubuntu.com/questions/11267...ects-on-gnome3

    Gnome 3 and Compiz don't work together.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    2,997

    Default Re: OpenSuse 13.2 with Gnome desktop with Compiz

    I think you might need compiz-gnome and compiz-gnome-session
    compiz should run on gnome3, in principle you would need to replace the gnome window manager mutter with compiz
    try running
    Code:
    compiz --replace

  6. #6

    Default Re: OpenSuse 13.2 with Gnome desktop with Compiz

    Quote Originally Posted by I_A View Post
    I think you might need compiz-gnome and compiz-gnome-session
    compiz should run on gnome3, in principle you would need to replace the gnome window manager mutter with compiz
    try running
    Code:
    compiz --replace
    TY,
    Code:
    compiz --replace
    worked. But repositories are missing the extra animations which is why I was interested. I installed docky and gnome-do to be able to launch applications and switch windows. What I wanted to know is if gnome-shell would work with compiz but it doesn't. When I replaced mutter with compiz I was left with the windows already opened and no activities menu.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,652

    Default Re: OpenSuse 13.2 with Gnome desktop with Compiz

    Thought compiz was dead tech ie no longer deloped/

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    2,997

    Default Re: OpenSuse 13.2 with Gnome desktop with Compiz

    According to this
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Compiz#Compiz_0.9_series
    development has staled but hasn't stopped and there was a new stable release only a few months ago, surprisingly only a user repository holds the new 0.9 releases
    http://download.opensuse.org/reposit...an69/openSUSE/

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    194

    Default Re: OpenSuse 13.2 with Gnome desktop with Compiz

    Quote Originally Posted by gogalthorp View Post
    Thought compiz was dead tech ie no longer deloped/
    Allegedly it's still been worked on, I remember reading an amusing story on the matter a few months back at Phoronix:

    http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?pag...tem&px=MTg0NjY

    Read the comments section attached to story as it makes systemd fighting look like ladies with handbags.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •