Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: A problem met switching from kde to xfce

Default A problem met switching from kde to xfce

Hi, I am new to linux/opensuse. I installed opensuse on my laptop a few days ago with xfce as my default desktop environment. Then I wanted to try kde and see if I am gonna like it, so I install with command "zypper install kde-basics, kde-patterns and kde4-desktop" (the command was kind of like that, but I can't really remember). After trying it out, I switched back to xfce, the window style still keeps the kde oxygen theme with the glowing blue light, and I can't change the theme nor icons back in xfce to what it looked like before. I am really uncomfortable with this. Could anyone teach me how change things back? Thank you for your time!

Default Re: A problem met switching from kde to xfce

There are big signs in this subforums saying things like: "Do not ask product questions here" and "This forum is NOT for asking questions, ......"

This thread is CLOSED for the moment and will be moved to Applications.
    Last edited by hcvv; 02-Mar-2015 at 01:48.
    Henk van Velden

Quote Originally Posted by hcvv View Post
    This thread is CLOSED for the moment and will be moved to Applications.
    Moved from Unreviewed Howtos and FAQ and open again.
    Henk van Velden

When you want to add a further DE to your installation (like KDE in this case), you should NOT install a list of packages (like kde-basics, ....) because it is to easy to forget one (and where did you get that list in the first place). Most easy is YaST > Software > Software Management, then from the View menu choose Patterns. Scroll down and see KDE, check it and install. maybe you should do that first because we are not sure now you have all you need for using KDE.