Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: 13.2 firewall shipped off??

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,769

    Default 13.2 firewall shipped off??

    Finally got around to installing 13.2 (because I added a SSD). Was setting up samba and noticed the the samba module said the firewall was off . Also notice I was running network on networkmanager not wicked. When I try wicked it won't connect so ok networkmanager is fine by me if it works. But the firewall defaulting off is a problem also when I turn it on the samba module still says it is off and the check box to open ports is still grayed out. Trying to open the ports in the firewall module does not seem to work either.

    Anyone have a clue?

    As an aside the firewall GUI has become rather unintuitive even to someone that as worked with this stuff for a long time though networks have never been my thing.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    12,889
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: 13.2 firewall shipped off??

    Firewall was on here. I used the DVD installer.

    I seem to recall that the firewall is off with the live KDE system. I didn't install that way, so I don't know if it stays off after an install.
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5;
    testing Leap 15.2Alpha

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,769

    Default Re: 13.2 firewall shipped off??

    I did use the KDE iso (USB install) Everything else is running great boot time is near zero with the SSD

    I can't seem to open the ports needed for samba

    set firewall on

    The interface screen was blank so I added "any" for all zones (Why not a browse for hardware here????)

    I then for externel zone added samba server/client/netbios

    Samba module still shows firewall off

    samba will not work with firewall on no matter what I do. Setting the interfaces to "any" seems to allowed Internet even with the firewall on. Before I set the interface Firewall blocked everything

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,769

    Default Re: 13.2 firewall shipped off??

    Bump

    I don't like running without a firewall is there any way to actually make this work in 13.2??

    The fact that wicked does not seem to like my net card and the firewall interface does not show any interfaces unless I add them.

    Looked in Bugzilla but does not seem to have any issues open??? So...... Any ideas?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,769

    Default Re: 13.2 firewall shipped off??

    Bump again.............

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    12,889
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: 13.2 firewall shipped off??

    Quote Originally Posted by gogalthorp View Post
    Bump
    I'm not sure of the point. Evidently, most folk are not experiencing what you see. And if we are not experiencing those issues, it's hard to know exactly what problems you are seeing.

    I don't like running without a firewall is there any way to actually make this work in 13.2??
    You could try turning it on.

    The fact that wicked does not seem to like my net card and the firewall interface does not show any interfaces unless I add them.
    This is normal. If your system is initially configured with NetworkManager, then no interfaces will be configured in wicked or in the firewall.

    I'm not sure of your samba issues. For me, when I setup samba it automatically opened ports. But if the firewall was not running, maybe Yast skips those steps.
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5;
    testing Leap 15.2Alpha

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,712
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: 13.2 firewall shipped off??

    Quote Originally Posted by gogalthorp View Post
    Bump

    I don't like running without a firewall is there any way to actually make this work in 13.2??

    The fact that wicked does not seem to like my net card and the firewall interface does not show any interfaces unless I add them.

    Looked in Bugzilla but does not seem to have any issues open??? So...... Any ideas?
    I do recall a recent thread dealing with this topic. I'll see what I can find.

    You can configure the firewall manually. Check/edit /etc/sysconfig/SuSEfirewall2 for configuration entries, or use YaST to For example, I have the following entry to allow (Avahi) broadcasts from port 5353
    Code:
    FW_SERVICES_EXT_UDP="5353"

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,712
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: 13.2 firewall shipped off??

    Quote Originally Posted by deano_ferrari View Post
    I do recall a recent thread dealing with this topic. I'll see what I can find.
    Ah, here we go....
    https://forums.opensuse.org/showthre...ewall-problems

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,769

    Default Re: 13.2 firewall shipped off??

    The point is that if I turn it on samba does not work even if I set it in yast to allow samba. So I can have a firewall but not a local network or a local network and no firewall. See my problem? The fact that it after the install was not running (it should have been) and that Yast samba mod always says it is off even if turned on says there is something wrong but I can't find the problem.

    Interfaces are blank out of the box I can add "any" or enp2s0 (the card alias) but it does not help. Shouldn't the interface be populated. I should not have to add an interface.

    Looking at the /etc/sysconfig/Sussefirewall2 file it looks ok

    I've always had problem out of the box with samba but never the firewall

    Ok got it to work here was the problem

    Wicked does not like my card

    Code:
    02:00.0 Ethernet controller: Qualcomm Atheros AR8161 Gigabit Ethernet (rev 10)

    Flat won't run it. Because of that the card was not properly listed
    Went to yast-network-devices-networksettings set it to wicked that allowed me to initialize the card and edit the settings and assign the card to the internal zone. It now showed up in the Firewall and Yast-samba now shows that the fire wall is running and lists things right and the local net is working.

    Because Wicked failed and management worked but did not allow editing of the settings it totally confused me. Nd then why in the world was there no fire wall set on

    We will see if the fix servives a reboot later

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,712
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: 13.2 firewall shipped off??

    Quote Originally Posted by gogalthorp View Post
    T
    Ok got it to work here was the problem

    Wicked does not like my card

    Code:
    02:00.0 Ethernet controller: Qualcomm Atheros AR8161 Gigabit Ethernet (rev 10)

    Flat won't run it. Because of that the card was not properly listed
    Went to yast-network-devices-networksettings set it to wicked that allowed me to initialize the card and edit the settings and assign the card to the internal zone. It now showed up in the Firewall and Yast-samba now shows that the fire wall is running and lists things right and the local net is working.
    So, essentially as explained here? (Not so much the NIC, as a bit of manual configuration needed?)

    We will see if the fix servives a reboot later
    I don't see why it wouldn't.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •