Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: web site doesn't show flash in Firefox

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    233

    Default web site doesn't show flash in Firefox

    Hi!
    I use Firefox 35.0.
    in my browser Flash-player works well in many web sites.
    But, in this web site http://www.bl.uk/learning/langlit/sounds/index.html



    Firefox's flash-player doesn't show flash animation, sounds. (It should show a Great Britain map with all British accents instead of black space).

    I Tried open this site in Chrome - it works.
    But in Chromium and Firefox - don't.

    How can I fix this bug?
    Does it work in your Firefox browser?
    openSUSE Tumbleweed (x86_64) 64-bit
    Xfce

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    2,997

    Default Re: web site doesn't show flash in Firefox

    tanks to adobe Firefox uses an old flash v11.
    you can try and use chrome's flash 16 with freshplayerplugin from packman
    http://packman.links2linux.org/packa...shplayerplugin
    Code:
    sudo zypper in freshplayerplugin
    you need packman's repo enabled

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Kamloops, BC, Canada
    Posts
    3,974

    Default Re: web site doesn't show flash in Firefox

    Does it work in your Firefox browser?

    ... nope. Just a black square, as you said, although a right click gives access to the Flash properties and so forth.
    -Gerry Makaro
    Fraser-Bell Info Tech
    Solving Tech Mysteries since the Olden Days!
    ~~
    If I helped you, consider clicking the Star at the bottom left of my post.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    2,997

    Default Re: web site doesn't show flash in Firefox

    it works (for me) with freshplayerplugin and pepper-flash


    ps. chrome uses a local flash player, to get it to work with chromioum you need pepper-flash, to get it to work with firefox you need pepper-flash and freshplayerplugin
    for Chromium install chromium-pepper-flash
    Code:
    sudo zypper in chromium-pepper-flash
    for Firefox install freshplayerplugin and chromium-pepper-flash
    Code:
    sudo zypper in freshplayerplugin chromium-pepper-flash

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    2,997

    Default Re: web site doesn't show flash in Firefox

    I'm not 100% sure it works with FF, I can navigate the flash elements and listen to the audio clips but I didn't see a map, I don't have chrome or chromium to compare.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    233

    Default Re: web site doesn't show flash in Firefox

    Quote Originally Posted by I_A View Post
    it works (for me) with freshplayerplugin and pepper-flash


    ps. chrome uses a local flash player, to get it to work with chromioum you need pepper-flash, to get it to work with firefox you need pepper-flash and freshplayerplugin
    for Chromium install chromium-pepper-flash
    Code:
    sudo zypper in chromium-pepper-flash
    for Firefox install freshplayerplugin and chromium-pepper-flash
    Code:
    sudo zypper in freshplayerplugin chromium-pepper-flash
    I've installed freshplayerplugin and chromium-pepper-flash. Flash-player have been upgraded to new version 16.0.0.257.
    But there is no animation, sound. There is still black space in the page.
    openSUSE Tumbleweed (x86_64) 64-bit
    Xfce

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    233

    Default Re: web site doesn't show flash in Firefox

    It works in Chromium, but not in Firefox browser.



    As you see the flash map of Great Britain instead a black square.
    openSUSE Tumbleweed (x86_64) 64-bit
    Xfce

  8. #8

    Default Re: web site doesn't show flash in Firefox

    Quote Originally Posted by andranique View Post
    It works in Chromium, but not in Firefox browser.

    As you see the flash map of Great Britain instead a black square.
    It works fine in Konqueror and rekonq as well, with the standard 11.2 flash-player (I don't have chromium-pepper-flash nor freshplayerplugin installed):

    But it doesn't work here in Firefox either.
    So this seems to be a problem in Firefox (or the page), not flash-player.

    PS: it actually seems to be a bug in the page. It doesn't work either if I tell Konqueror to spoof itself as Firefox or Netscape, but it works fine if Konqueror identifies itself as Konqueror (or Internet Explorer, Chrome, Opera, Safari, ...)
    Last edited by wolfi323; 14-Feb-2015 at 07:29.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    233

    Default Re: web site doesn't show flash in Firefox

    Quote Originally Posted by wolfi323 View Post
    It works fine in Konqueror and rekonq as well, with the standard 11.2 flash-player (I don't have chromium-pepper-flash nor freshplayerplugin installed):

    But it doesn't work here in Firefox either.
    So this seems to be a problem in Firefox (or the page), not flash-player.

    PS: it actually seems to be a bug in the page. It doesn't work either if I tell Konqueror to spoof itself as Firefox or Netscape, but it works fine if Konqueror identifies itself as Konqueror (or Internet Explorer, Chrome, Opera, Safari, ...)
    Thank you for sharing.
    Yes, perhaps this is a problem in Firefox browser.
    openSUSE Tumbleweed (x86_64) 64-bit
    Xfce

  10. #10

    Default Re: web site doesn't show flash in Firefox

    Quote Originally Posted by andranique View Post
    Thank you for sharing.
    Yes, perhaps this is a problem in Firefox browser.
    No, it's a problem with the page or rather the particular flash content as mentioned.
    If I tell Konqueror to identify itself as Firefox, the same problem occurs.

    Maybe they don't want that their visitors use Firefox?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •