Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27

Thread: How to get cube animation in KDE?

  1. #1

    Default How to get cube animation in KDE?

    I've intalled openSuSE 13.2 using KDE on my desktop PC. I'd like to have cube animation which switching virtual desktops (as I have on my laptop PC using 12.2), but when I try to apply that option from my system settings I get told it's not possible without OpenGL. I've been into YaST and installed every likely thing I can find that comes up when I search for OpenGL and rebooted, but no luck.

    So how do I get cube animation working.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    2,997

    Default Re: How to get cube animation in KDE?

    What kind of graphic card and driver do you have, compiz needs 3d acceleration aka a propitiatory driver (Nouveau will work for nvidia cards)
    see this page
    https://en.opensuse.org/SDB:Configuring_graphics_cards
    and get the proper video driver

  3. #3

    Default Re: How to get cube animation in KDE?

    I have an nVidia GTE550 graphics cardm, and I'm using the nVidia driver, from the nVidia repository.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    2,997

    Default Re: How to get cube animation in KDE?

    Quote Originally Posted by johngwalker View Post
    I have an nVidia GTE550 graphics cardm, and I'm using the nVidia driver, from the nVidia repository.
    what about compiz, compiz-plugins, compizconfig-settings-manager and compiz-kde4?
    run nvidia-settings and see if 3d acceleration is enabled.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Sauerland
    Posts
    4,024

    Default AW: How to get cube animation in KDE?

    I have an nVidia GTE550 graphics cardm, and I'm using the nVidia driver, from the nVidia repository.
    Please post in Code-Tags:
    Code:
    /sbin/lspci -nnk | grep -E -iA2 'Display|VGA|3D'
    @I_A:
    what about compiz, compiz-plugins and compiz-kde4?
    Why compiz? It is not necessary.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    2,997

    Default Re: How to get cube animation in KDE?

    here's an old article about compiz in kde4
    http://www.ghacks.net/2010/02/15/con...k-with-compiz/


    I thought that compiz was the peace of software that gave us that nice cube, actually I run kde with almost all effects turned off.

    edit
    another article
    http://www.ghacks.net/2009/05/25/ena...ube-in-compiz/

    is there another cube a native kde4 one?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    2,997

    Default Re: How to get cube animation in KDE?


  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Sauerland
    Posts
    4,024

    Default AW: How to get cube animation in KDE?

    compiz is for these Desktop-Effects not longer necessary.

    Only 3D is necessary.

    Therefore:
    Is the Nvida-Driver necessary for this Graphic-Card, loading and working?

  9. #9

    Default Re: AW: How to get cube animation in KDE?

    Quote Originally Posted by Sauerland View Post
    Please post in Code-Tags:
    Code:
    /sbin/lspci -nnk | grep -E -iA2 'Display|VGA|3D'
    Code:
    0:02.0 Display controller [0380]: Intel Corporation 2nd Generation Core Processor Family Integrated Graphics Controller [8086:0102] (rev 09)
            Subsystem: Dell Device [1028:0527]
            Kernel modules: i915
    --
    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: NVIDIA Corporation GF114 [GeForce GTX 555] [10de:1206] (rev a1)
            Subsystem: NVIDIA Corporation Device [10de:0958]
            Kernel driver in use: nvidia

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    2,997

    Default Re: AW: How to get cube animation in KDE?

    Quote Originally Posted by johngwalker View Post
    Code:
    0:02.0 Display controller [0380]: Intel Corporation 2nd Generation Core Processor Family Integrated Graphics Controller [8086:0102] (rev 09)
            Subsystem: Dell Device [1028:0527]
            Kernel modules: i915
    --
    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: NVIDIA Corporation GF114 [GeForce GTX 555] [10de:1206] (rev a1)
            Subsystem: NVIDIA Corporation Device [10de:0958]
            Kernel driver in use: nvidia
    You have 2 video cards I think you need bumblebee not the vanilla nvidia drivers
    ask in the hardware forums, another option is to disable the build-in intel (it's not a card it's part of the cpu) graphic support
    ps. I'm not quite sure about this but if your monitor connects via the nvidia card does the build-in intel hardware do any video decoding, does it pass decoded data streams to nvidia, you might be better of turning it off in bios

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •