Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 57

Thread: Old Suse 10.1 smp upgrade for use of more than 4GB

  1. #1

    Default Old Suse 10.1 smp upgrade for use of more than 4GB

    Hi all. I am not a Linux pro, so I have an issue here that I am not sure if it is possible to resolve.

    We use a Media Server here that still runs an old Suse 10.1 version (Linux version 2.6.16.21-0.25-smp (geeko@buildhost) (gcc version 4.1.0 (SUSE Linux)) #1 SMP Tue Sep 19 07:26:15 UTC 2006 )

    I hoped it will support my RAM upgrade but I already thought it wont. It doesnt recognize more than 4Gigs.
    Unfortunately I cannot simply install a new 64bit version. It runs some older software that I didnt install and dont really know what exactly they installed here. So I am new to it and still need time to figure out how the system runs here.
    I would like to know if I can upgrade or change something on this older Distro to support more than 4Gigs, in fact I have installed 24GB coz it runs a database.
    Is it possible to install a pae kernel without reinstalling the whole system?
    What options do I have?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    2,012

    Default Re: Old Suse 10.1 smp upgrade for use of more than 4GB

    Blast from the past, haven't seen 10.1 in a while - shame it isn't 10.0, that thing was great.

    From the bottom of my memory the old smp 32-bit kernel only had support for 4GB but the -pae kernel had support for up to 64GB, come to think of it the kernel might have been called bigsmp at the time.

    However you must understand the limitations of a 32-bit OS, just adding memory won't magically make software use more of it or be able to address more than 4GB per process.

    So if you want the system to be able to use more than 4GB (minus GPU so usually around 3.25-3.5GB) you'll need to install the bigsmp / pae kernel. Naturally all the repositories for 10.1 are long dead and if you are a completely new and fresh with Linux, you might have to learn a bit on the way.

    Before you start anything; do you have a complete image/clone of the system with full backups taken first?
    .: miuku #suse @ irc.freenode.net
    :: miuku@opensuse.org

    .: h​ttps://download.opensuse.org/repositories/home:/Miuku/

  3. #3

    Default Re: Old Suse 10.1 smp upgrade for use of more than 4GB

    Yeah of course I am going to backup the system first before doing anything critical to it.

    I imagened that the old sources are dead already. But maybe I can find them somewhere

    Would be a shame if I couldnt upgrade the Ram.

    And yeah I know that the actual app is probably limited too. But still hoping it will use more Ram than now. At least it supports multi CPU, so I hope for the best.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    2,012

    Default Re: Old Suse 10.1 smp upgrade for use of more than 4GB

    It was indeed named bigsmp - not pae on 10.1 so you'll want to install kernel-bigsmp.

    Luckily I'm such a nice guy that I did it for you, here are some mirrors you can use to replace the oss, non-oss and update:

    oss / oss inst-source:
    Code:
    ftp://ftp.uni-paderborn.de/pub/linux/opensuse/distribution/SL-10.1/inst-source/
    non-oss / non-oss inst-source:
    Code:
    ftp://ftp.uni-paderborn.de/pub/linux/opensuse/distribution/SL-10.1/non-oss-inst-source/
    update repository:
    Code:
    ftp://ftp.uni-paderborn.de/pub/linux/opensuse/update/10.1/
    If you run into issues, let me know. I do this kind of stuff all the time - that's why I have full mirrors of all SUSE versions since 7.3 locally. :3
    .: miuku #suse @ irc.freenode.net
    :: miuku@opensuse.org

    .: h​ttps://download.opensuse.org/repositories/home:/Miuku/

  5. #5

    Default Re: Old Suse 10.1 smp upgrade for use of more than 4GB

    Man you are an angel!!!!

    Btw... I hate to ask you for more help but I do not exactly know how to upgrade the kernel. What commands I have to use and so on. Well I can figure it out. But if you know it out of the head I would be really greatful.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    2,012

    Default Re: Old Suse 10.1 smp upgrade for use of more than 4GB

    First, make sure you have a COMPLETE backup and I do mean a complete image of the system since from what I gathered, this is an important production machine (sorry for saying this several times but if you aren't very experienced with Linux, recovery can be painful).

    Then download the bigsmp kernel to the machine, you could do this by using wget for example:
    Code:
    wget ftp://ftp.uni-paderborn.de/pub/linux/opensuse/update/10.1/rpm/i586/kernel-bigsmp-2.6.16.21-0.25.i586.rpm
    Then, as root in the directory where the file is, issue:
    Code:
    rpm -Uvh kernel-bigsmp-2.6.16.21-0.25.i586.rpm
    If it complains about dependencies and stuff - post them here and wrap the messages in code tags ( # in the editor )

    If all goes well and there are no dependency errors, reboot and cross your fingers
    .: miuku #suse @ irc.freenode.net
    :: miuku@opensuse.org

    .: h​ttps://download.opensuse.org/repositories/home:/Miuku/

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Old Suse 10.1 smp upgrade for use of more than 4GB

    On 2015-01-27 12:46, Miuku wrote:

    > However you must understand the limitations of a 32-bit OS, just adding
    > memory won't magically make software use more of it or be able to
    > address more than 4GB per process.


    Rather, each process can use about 3 GB, about one is reserved for the
    kernel and the paging or whatever is the name process. Blocks of 3 GB
    are switched around, so that a different process may have another 3 GB
    bock, and so on.

    The exact and correct description is in the wikipedia, don't trust mine :-)

    But the idea is that likely that database won't be able to use those
    shiny 24 GiB, as it is one process.

    >
    > So if you want the system to be able to use more than 4GB (minus GPU so
    > usually around 3.25-3.5GB) you'll need to install the *bigsmp / pae
    > kernel*. Naturally all the repositories for 10.1 are long dead and if
    > you are a completely new and fresh with Linux, you *might* have to learn
    > a bit on the way.


    On
    http://ftp5.gwdg.de/pub/opensuse/dis.../distribution/
    I see 10.2, but not 10.1. The first problem is locating a site that has
    10.1. I think I was told of one, but I can't remember the name...

    Yes, found it.

    ftp://ftp.hosteurope.de/mirror/ftp.s...ontinued/i386/

    Oh. Has 10.0, but not 10.1.

    Well, then investigate here:
    http://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Mirrors#EOL_mirrors

    > Before you start anything; do you have a complete image/clone of the
    > system with full backups taken first?


    That's an absolute must have, yes.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" at Telcontar)

  8. #8

    Default Re: Old Suse 10.1 smp upgrade for use of more than 4GB

    Ok thanks, I will prepare the Backup. And yes I know what you mean
    I will Backup the whole system bit by bit

    After that I try to upgrade the kernel. Will be back and contact you. I hope the upgrade runs fine, but as we all know. Life isnt that easy unfortunately

    Thanks a lot!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Old Suse 10.1 smp upgrade for use of more than 4GB

    On 2015-01-27 13:16, Miuku wrote:

    > Then download the bigsmp kernel to the machine, you could do this by
    > using wget for example:


    Why not try yast? :-?

    Well, I imagine it would want to update other things, using rpm is less
    invasive.

    But it would be just a question of pointing the repositories to the
    discontinued mirror sites.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" at Telcontar)

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    2,012

    Default Re: Old Suse 10.1 smp upgrade for use of more than 4GB

    Quote Originally Posted by robin_listas View Post
    Why not try yast? :-?

    Well, I imagine it would want to update other things, using rpm is less
    invasive.
    This is exactly the reason why. I'm afraid that they might not have updated all possible who-knows-whats in the system, including possibly the database server software.

    The less gears we have to replace, the less likely is that the entire thing comes down ;-)
    .: miuku #suse @ irc.freenode.net
    :: miuku@opensuse.org

    .: h​ttps://download.opensuse.org/repositories/home:/Miuku/

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •