Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Skype - camera not recognised

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Morwell, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    25

    Talking Skype - camera not recognised

    I´m running openSUSE 12.3 64 bit on Gnome 3.6.2 desktop dual booted with W8.1 on a Medion Akoya laptop with i3 3120 CPU x 4.
    Using Skype I´ve recently experienced audio issues with the audio cutting in and out. However that has corrected itself. But now the inbuilt laptop camera is not recognised.
    I´ve had no problems with Skype since the installation of openSUSE 12.3 in Sept 2013 until later 2104 when the audio issue commenced, now followed by the camera issue
    Would appreciate any suggestions as to how this can be rectified.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    2,997

    Default Re: Skype - camera not recognised

    some ideas
    run skype from the console and see if there are any errors reported, create a new user from yast maybe an old configuration file is messing with skype (your camera), I'm not sure what skype uses for video encoding but see if packman is seat as the default system repository (in yast) if it's not set it and update video codecs.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Morwell, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    25

    Default Re: Skype - camera not recognised

    I_A Your talking a launage I don´t understand. What do you mean by run Skype in console?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,748

    Default Re: Skype - camera not recognised

    open a console and type skype

    that will start it on the command line and any problems should be reported on the console that may not be visible in the GUI

    It is a simple debug technique and will reporter any missing libraries or other problems.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Morwell, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    25

    Default Re: Skype - camera not recognised

    Open console typed skype

    Skype loaded normally, no error message.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Morwell, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    25

    Default Re: Skype - camera not recognised

    Repository has an item titled Games and a series of openSUSE titles but nothing related to packman.

    How do I install packman to the repository?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    2,997

    Default Re: Skype - camera not recognised

    Quote Originally Posted by johnbh View Post
    Repository has an item titled Games and a series of openSUSE titles but nothing related to packman.

    How do I install packman to the repository?
    packman is a repository
    https://en.opensuse.org/Additional_p...tories#Packman
    you can add packman to your list of repo's using the console (konsole in kde) by doing this
    Code:
    sudo zypper ar -f -n packman http://packman.inode.at/suse/openSUSE_12.3/
    and set packman as the system repo (it has video and audio codecs support including xvid, mp3, h264, aac ...)
    Code:
    sudo zypper dup --from packman
    or from yast goto software repositories click add, then select Comunity Reposetories.., select packman from the list, next launch software managment select reposetory view, then packman and click the link (button) use as system reposetory. see pic below (but you'll select pacman)

    now when you search for software in yast you will get resolts from packman too.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    2,997

    Default Re: Skype - camera not recognised

    FYI you can use copy/paste in konsole for the lazy that don't like to type.
    just select text rightclick copy
    in konsole use SHIFT+INS or rightclick and select paste

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Morwell, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    25

    Default Re: Skype - camera not recognised

    Looks like this could be the solution to a few other issues. However the 1st line of code generates the following message:

    If only one argument is used, it must be a URI pointing to a .repo file.
    etc etc. plus a string of command options:

    I´m using the Gnome desktop, and console appears to react differently than konsole to copy/paste commands. Can´t do anything with highlighted text, other than delete the highlighing!!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,748

    Default Re: Skype - camera not recognised

    Then just type it it is not that hard a string.

    You might try ctrl-v as the paste but I don't run Gnome so.....

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •