Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 44

Thread: How to Install Google Earth

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Atlanta, Georgia
    Posts
    70

    Default How to Install Google Earth

    I have tried to install Google Earth several times by various methods.

    The default suggestion seems to be the "Apper" installer but I have also tried downloading it.

    For whatever reason, the Yast software manager seems to ignore it, and I can't find my way around it.

    And I always seem to end up at the dreaded "Your current backend does not support installing files."

    What is the preferred method for downloading "outside" applications in openSUSE? Simple, step-by-step, please.

    http://www.google.com/earth/download...inux_dl=rpm_64

    Thank you.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,746

    Default Re: How to Install Google Earth

    Totally depends on the app there is no one way to do it. Each should come with instructions.

    Been a while since I installed GE but it came as an installer which you simply run. But you do have to follow instruction one of which is to change permissions so that the file can be run.

    A downloaded files does not default have run permission. You have to explicitly tell it to allow running of the file. From a GUI nav to the file right click select properties - permissions and tick the allow run box. If you own the file or have the correct permissions it will change.

    By default GE is installed in the users home not as a system program so if multiple users you must install for each

  3. #3

    Default Re: How to Install Google Earth

    I would give their repo a shot (this is the 64bit) http://dl.google.com/linux/earth/rpm/stable/x86_64
    openSUSE Leap 42.1 x64, Plasma 5 & KDE 4.14.x, pretty current proprietary Nvidia drivers (self-compiled)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Atlanta, Georgia
    Posts
    70

    Default Re: How to Install Google Earth

    Quote Originally Posted by gogalthorp View Post

    You have to explicitly tell it to allow running of the file. From a GUI nav to the file right click select properties - permissions and tick the allow run box. If you own the file or have the correct permissions it will change.
    I did exactly this but there was nothing resembling "allow run" to be found.

    Would you please assume that I am a complete idiot and tell me step-by-step?

    I know where to find the .rpm file in the "downloads" folder.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,746

    Default Re: How to Install Google Earth

    LOL thought I did

    navigate to the installer you downloaded right click it select properties. Select permission tab about 1/2 way down you will see is executable. Check that box

    Now open a konsole navigate to that file type .\thefilenamehee
    of course replace thefilenamehere with the name of the file to run

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Atlanta, Georgia
    Posts
    70

    Default Re: How to Install Google Earth

    Quote Originally Posted by gogalthorp View Post

    navigate to the installer you downloaded right click it select properties. Select permission tab about 1/2 way down you will see is executable. Check that box
    Please bear with me. I did not download an installer, unless it came in without my knowledge. What is an installer?

    When I click on the appropriate file on the Google Earth site, it immediately asks me whether I wanted to open the file with the Apper Installer or to download it. I have done both, several times each. Either way, I get the "backend does not support" message.

    When I later try "open with Ark" it temporarily looks more promising because I am able to go a couple of more steps before getting trapped in a quagmire of "file already exists" loops.

    The file is /home/Harry/Downloads/google-earth-stable_current_x86_64.rpm

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    400

    Default Re: How to Install Google Earth

    Quote Originally Posted by fohat View Post
    The file is /home/Harry/Downloads/google-earth-stable_current_x86_64.rpm
    Navigate to that file in Dolphin, right click it, point at "Open With", then click "Install/Remove Software". You will then be asked for your root password so YaST can run.
    Howard

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,746

    Unhappy Re: How to Install Google Earth

    Ok looks like Google has changed things (surprise) since I last installed it

    If you have and know where the rpm file you downloaded is you can install with an rpm command. Or you can point zypper to it. Problem seems to be that apper is broken on your machine. Others have reported this also (you have done updates right?)


    In any case there is more then one way to do it

    here is one

    As root in the directory that the rpm is in

    rpm -i nameoffile.rpm

    You can see all the rpm option with

    man rpm

    Another is

    zypper install fullpathtotherpmfile

    Again you can see all zypper option with

    man zypper

    Hope you are seeing a pattern here


    The advantage with zypper is it resolves and if possible fixes an package dependencies that might be needed. With rpm it will just tell you some lib is need if required.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,383
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: How to Install Google Earth

    The file is /home/Harry/Downloads/google-earth-stable_current_x86_64.rpm
    You could install with
    Code:
    sudo zypper in /home/Harry/Downloads/google-earth-stable_current_x86_64.rpm

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,746

    Default Re: How to Install Google Earth

    For what it is worth the 7.1 version crashed here but I did advanced setup on the web page and selected the 7.0 version and it down loaded like I remembered as an install script not a rpm and it worked fine,

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •