Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 32

Thread: How do you run two different browsers side by side

  1. #11
    Viljo Mustonen NNTP User

    Default Re: How do you run two different browsers side by side

    hcvv wrote:

    >
    > What about trying other combinations. Konqueror - FF will most probably
    > have no problems (many, including me do this). but did you test
    > Konqueror - Chrome?
    >


    I have openSUSE 13.2 / KDE. Firefox and Chromium pair forks fine.

    --
    Viljo


  2. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: How do you run two different browsers side by side

    On 2015-01-18 17:36, gogalthorp wrote:
    >
    > No it does not make sense.
    >
    > I don't have chrome installed but it is proprietary and thus who knows.


    Not in 13.1 and XFCE.
    I can not switch to KDE4 to try, too disruptive, and anyway I'm not
    familiar with kde4 knobs and handles.

    But maybe there is a setting, perhaps related to being the default browser?

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" at Telcontar)

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,273
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: How do you run two different browsers side by side

    Quote Originally Posted by robin_listas View Post
    On 2015-01-18 17:36, gogalthorp wrote:
    >
    > No it does not make sense.
    >
    > I don't have chrome installed but it is proprietary and thus who knows.


    Not in 13.1 and XFCE.
    I can not switch to KDE4 to try, too disruptive, and anyway I'm not
    familiar with kde4 knobs and handles.

    But maybe there is a setting, perhaps related to being the default browser?

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" at Telcontar)
    No, others have reported that they do not experience this behaviour in KDE environment.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: How do you run two different browsers side by side

    On 2015-01-18 19:43, Carlos E. R. wrote:
    > On 2015-01-18 17:36, gogalthorp wrote:


    >> I don't have chrome installed but it is proprietary and thus who knows.

    >
    > Not in 13.1 and XFCE.
    > I can not switch to KDE4 to try, too disruptive, and anyway I'm not
    > familiar with kde4 knobs and handles.


    Oops. Of course I can try! I forgot that I can switch to another user,
    without closing the first one. I now have another simultaneous user
    running kde plasma - that is kde4, right?

    Ok, I have no problems running simultaneously chrome and firefox,
    windowed, in the same, eum... display. I don't know if it is the same
    activity space or whatever - sorry, not familiar with kde4.

    I first started FF, then chrome, which asked to be the master (default)
    browser, and I said no. No problem. Then I closed it, and this time told
    it to set as default: again, no problem.


    What I don't have is a 13.2 with kde installed (or chrome). Only a small
    virtualized environment, insufficient for this test.

    I'd suggest she (SteveFury61's wife) creates a new user and try with
    that one. If it works, it is a configuration issue.


    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" at Telcontar)

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: How do you run two different browsers side by side

    On 2015-01-18 19:56, deano ferrari wrote:
    > No, others have reported that they do not experience this behaviour in
    > KDE environment.


    But none is using chrome, I believe. The suspicion was that it being
    proprietary it might do strange things.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" at Telcontar)

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    12,486
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: How do you run two different browsers side by side

    Quote Originally Posted by robin_listas View Post
    But none is using chrome, I believe. The suspicion was that it being
    proprietary it might do strange things.
    I doubt that is what is happening.

    Here's another wild guess. It is possible to configure KDE for a "Desktop" or a "Netbook". I have never tried the "Netbook" option. But maybe that causes the effect described. It does say that it is optimized for devices with smaller screens.

    Configure Desktoop --> Workspace Behavior --> Workspace

    and look at the option "Workspace Type".
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5;
    testing Leap 15.2Alpha

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    12,486
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: How do you run two different browsers side by side

    Quote Originally Posted by nrickert View Post
    I have never tried the "Netbook" option.
    Okay, I just tried that.

    It is weird. As soon as a window loses focus, it minimizes.

    Maybe this works on a tablet or cell phone, but it is not for me. I quickly switched back.
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5;
    testing Leap 15.2Alpha

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Little Exuma, Bahamas
    Posts
    699

    Default Re: How do you run two different browsers side by side

    Quote Originally Posted by nrickert View Post
    Okay, I just tried that.

    It is weird. As soon as a window loses focus, it minimizes.

    Maybe this works on a tablet or cell phone, but it is not for me. I quickly switched back.
    In the past I've tried the Netbook option on a couple of small screen netbooks, and I always went back to the default option for a variety of reasons, even on one with a 9 " screen.That one's only got an early Atom processor and 1 Gb. of RAM, but it runs 13.2 & KDE4 just fine. It's a little sluggish, but no more so than the "lightweight" desktops.
    MS user 1988-2008, Linux user 1998-present, openSUSE user since 2004
    (The first computer I used had a punch card reader)

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,273
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: How do you run two different browsers side by side

    Quote Originally Posted by robin_listas View Post
    On 2015-01-18 19:56, deano ferrari wrote:
    > No, others have reported that they do not experience this behaviour in
    > KDE environment.


    But none is using chrome, I believe. The suspicion was that it being
    proprietary it might do strange things.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" at Telcontar)
    Read the posts from Viljo Mustonen and carpus

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,273
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: How do you run two different browsers side by side

    Quote Originally Posted by nrickert View Post
    Okay, I just tried that.

    It is weird. As soon as a window loses focus, it minimizes.

    Maybe this works on a tablet or cell phone, but it is not for me. I quickly switched back.
    Ah, so a KDE Netbook 'feature'? That explains why most KDE users don't observe this (including myself).

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •