Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Configure tool missing in bin

  1. #1

    Default Configure tool missing in bin

    Hi All

    Code:
     ./configure
    seems to be missing.
    I have checked in my bin directory & it is not there.
    I have installed everything i can on yast & bash & checked the man pages for confgure but can't seem to get it installed.

    Code:
     linux-e5ds:/home/home # zypper in ./configure
    Specified local path does not exist or is not accessible.
    Problem retrieving the specified RPM file:
    Malformed URI: 
    
    Please check whether the file is accessible.
    Problem with the RPM file specified as './configure', skipping.
    No valid arguments specified.
    linux-e5ds:/home/home # zypper in findutils-configure
    Retrieving repository 'Packman Repository' metadata ..........................................................................................................................[done]
    Building repository 'Packman Repository' cache ...............................................................................................................................[done]
    Retrieving repository 'packman' metadata .....................................................................................................................................[done]
    Building repository 'packman' cache ..........................................................................................................................................[done]
    Loading repository data...
    Reading installed packages...
    Package 'findutils-configure' not found.
    Resolving package dependencies...
    
    Nothing to do.
    linux-e5ds:/home/home # zypper in findutils-./configure
    Loading repository data...
    Reading installed packages...
    Package 'findutils-./configure' not found.
    Resolving package dependencies...
    
    Nothing to do.
    linux-e5ds:/home/home # man configure
    No manual entry for configure
    linux-e5ds:/home/home # info configure
    linux-e5ds:/home/home # configure --help
    If 'configure' is not a typo you can use command-not-found to lookup the package that contains it, like this:
        cnf configure
    How do I determine what package I am missing to install it?
    Opensuse Leap 4.2
    KDE Plasma version 5.5.4

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Sauerland
    Posts
    3,882

    Default AW: Configure tool missing in bin


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    24,853

    Default Re: Configure tool missing in bin

    When, after reading the Wikipedia page mentioned above, you are still wondering what this is all about, then please tell us more information.

    You are probably trying to build a software package that you could not find a ready openSUSE installable one for. Explain what it is. Maybe someone can point you to an installable RPM.

    You probably dowloaded a so called tarball (the name ending in tar.gz or similarr). Please explain where you downloaded and what.

    The tarball should be unpacked. Did you do that? And where, in what directory, did you do that?

    Waiting for your details before carrying on
    Henk van Velden

  4. #4

    Default Re: Configure tool missing in bin

    I am trying to install wine from the mirror site
    I don't want any apps running in wine to have root access so I can't use yast to install it.
    To download wine the user guide say the best method is to install the package source from their download page where there is a link to the mirror
    Following the instructions on the opensuse wine documentation (64 bit) there are a few RPMs I need to install before I install wine.
    I was able to install most of them but there were a few I was unable to install.
    Code:
    'libjpeg-devel-32bit' not found in package names. Trying capabilities.
     No provider of 'libjpeg-devel-32bit' found.
     'hal-32bit,' not found in package names. Trying capabilities.
     No provider of 'hal-32bit,' found.
     'hal-devel' not found in package names. Trying capabilities.
     No provider of 'hal-devel' found.
     'sane-32bit' not found in package names. Trying capabilities.                                                                                                                        
     No provider of 'sane-32bit' found.                                                                                                                                                   
     Resolving package dependencies...                                                                                                                                                    
                                                                                                                                                                                          
     The following 35 NEW packages are going to be installed:

    I am looking for a way to see if I have got all the necessary RPMs installed before compiling wine.
    Under the wine documentation
    getting build dependencies it says “ If you wish to install build dependencies by hand, there are several ways to see if you're missing some useful development libraries. The most straightforward approach is to watch the output of configure before you compile Wine and see if anything important is missing.

    Code:
     home@linux-e5ds:~> cd Wine  
     home@linux-e5ds:~/Wine> ./configure –prefix=~/.wine --x-libraries=/usr/X11R6/lib --x-includes=/usr/include/X11/ --with-x
     bash: ./configure: No such file or directory

    Code:
     home@linux-e5ds:~/Wine> rpm -x wine-1.7.34-399.1.x86_64.rpm
     rpm: -x: unknown option

    I am trying to find a way to check if I have got all the necessary RPMs as well as extracting the rpm from archive before installing it.
    Opensuse Leap 4.2
    KDE Plasma version 5.5.4

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Configure tool missing in bin

    On 2015-01-18 09:46, Hermes14 wrote:

    > seems to be missing.
    > I have checked in my bin directory & it is not there.


    True, it should not be there.

    > I have installed everything i can on yast & bash & checked the man pages
    > for confgure but can't seem to get it installed.


    Because you can't.

    Code:
    
    >      linux-e5ds:/home/home # zypper in ./configure
    That can not install anything. It is not a package name, but a program name.


    > How do I determine what package I am missing to install it?


    The "configure" script is a component of the build sources of whatever
    project you are trying to build. That is, it should come in the tar.gz.
    Sometimes you even have to create the configure script with another command.

    You really have to read the documentation of whatever you are trying to
    build. Typically start with the "README".


    By the way, the use of "./configure" instead of "configure" means that
    the script is searched for in the current directory. Even if you managed
    to install it to "/bin", that one would not run and you would get an
    error while trying to run "./configure".

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" at Telcontar)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Configure tool missing in bin

    On 2015-01-18 13:56, Hermes14 wrote:
    >
    > I am trying to install wine from the mirror site
    > I don't want any apps running in wine to have root access so I can't
    > use yast to install it.


    Can you expand on that? I don't understand.


    Notice that building a complex package like Wine, is difficult. For
    someone without build experience (and you obviously don't have it, or
    you would not had problems finding "./configure"), is a daunting task.

    > Following the instructions on the 'opensuse'
    > (https://en.opensuse.org/Wine#Repositories) wine documentation (64 bit)
    > there are a few RPMs I need to install before I install wine.


    By using YaST to install the supplied wine rpm package, you would get
    everything needed automatically.

    > I was able to install most of them but there were a few I was unable to
    > install.
    >
    > Code:
    > --------------------
    > No provider of 'hal-32bit,' found.


    Huh. That's a hard one. "Hal" is a deprecated package from the
    distribution; only KDE3 uses it, I believe in a modified version. I
    doubt you need it.


    >> If you wish to install build dependencies by hand, there are several
    >> ways to see if you're missing some useful development libraries. The
    >> most straightforward approach is to watch the output of *configure*
    >> before you compile Wine and see if anything important is missing.


    True.


    > Code:
    > --------------------
    > home@linux-e5ds:~> cd Wine
    > home@linux-e5ds:~/Wine> ./configure –prefix=~/.wine --x-libraries=/usr/X11R6/lib --x-includes=/usr/include/X11/ --with-x
    > bash: ./configure: No such file or directory
    > --------------------


    Did you expand the tar? Does it contain a configure?


    > Code:
    > --------------------
    > home@linux-e5ds:~/Wine> rpm -x wine-1.7.34-399.1.x86_64.rpm
    > rpm: -x: unknown option
    > --------------------


    What are you trying to do now? :-?



    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" at Telcontar)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,646

    Default Re: Configure tool missing in bin

    Just because you install Wine as root does not mean it runs as root. It just gets put in the system section and that means it requires root to install or change the files. When you run it you run it under your credentials ergo it does not run as root but as a user.

    Manually building it means you will not get updates and also if you follow normal procedures you end up putting it in the same place with the same permissions as a normal Yast or zypper install. Just without the convince of having the system manage it. You take full responsibly to perform all updates.

  8. #8

    Default Re: Configure tool missing in bin

    Even if you managed
    to install it to "/bin", that one would not run and you would get an
    error while trying to run "./configure".
    https://activedoc.opensuse.org/book/...d-bash-scripts
    The start up manual it says
    Code:
     /bin - Contains the basic shell commands that may be used both by root and by other users. These commands include ls, mkdir, cp, mv, rm and rmdir. /bin also contains Bash, the default shell in openSUSE.
    therefore I mistook configure as a command that should be the this directory
    I know period (.) indicates current directory but I mistakenly took the whole configure with the period & forward slash as one command.
    I the mistake I was making now, thanks


    I am trying to install wine from the mirror site
    > I don't want any apps running in wine to have root access so I can't
    > use yast to install it.


    Can you expand on that? I don't understand.


    In the wine faq question 7.12 they say you should never run wine as root.
    It also says that running wine in sudo is even more dangerous as a virus can damage your prefix.
    It als say that “As far as Windows programs are concerned, you are running with administrator privileges”
    http://wiki.winehq.org/FAQ#head-96be...51f278b0d41014
    I was under the impression that running included installing it, gogalthorp answered it for me.
    If it is safe to install wine with yast I would rather do it that way as it is much easier.


    Code:
    > --------------------
    > home@linux-e5ds:~/Wine> rpm -x wine-1.7.34-399.1.x86_64.rpm
    > rpm: -x: unknown option
    > --------------------


    What are you trying to do now? :-?


    I was trying to extract the compressed RPM the say way as you would a tar file
    It should have been rpm xvf wine-1.7.34-399.1.x86_64.rpm
    You don't seem to be able to extract tar & rpm file the same way.


    Gogalthorp the part that made me think that when they said run they were also referring to install is
    Code:
     Running with sudo also has these same risks but with the added bonus of breaking the permissions on your ~/.wine folder in the process
    As far as I know the only time someone would run a program in sudo is when they are installing a program.
    Opensuse Leap 4.2
    KDE Plasma version 5.5.4

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    24,853

    Default Re: Configure tool missing in bin

    You seem to have a lot of misunderstandings. The following is the normal way to do things and completely save as with any other application you install.

    1. YaST > Software > Software manager (it will ask for the root password, because you need to be the Superuser (root) to install packages on the system); type "wine" (without the "s) in the Search field and click the Search button; at right check the box before the wine package and continue with the install.

    2. Use Wine from a normal user GUI login. This is a bit superfluous remark, because one should never login in the GUI as root, thus you will only be able to run Wine from a user login.

    Enjoy. And ask in a new thread when you need further advice using Wine.
    Henk van Velden

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,173
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Configure tool missing in bin

    Quote Originally Posted by hcvv View Post
    You seem to have a lot of misunderstandings. The following is the normal way to do things and completely save as with any other application you install.

    1. YaST > Software > Software manager (it will ask for the root password, because you need to be the Superuser (root) to install packages on the system); type "wine" (without the "s) in the Search field and click the Search button; at right check the box before the wine package and continue with the install.

    2. Use Wine from a normal user GUI login. This is a bit superfluous remark, because one should never login in the GUI as root, thus you will only be able to run Wine from a user login.

    Enjoy. And ask in a new thread when you need further advice using Wine.
    And to add to Henk's remarks, once you have a wine installed this way, you install and use windows apps as a regular user. (ie Don't use sudo). For example, if you have an .exe installer, you'd do
    Code:
    wine myprog.exe

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •