Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Yast > Software Manager

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    249

    Default Yast > Software Manager

    Hi,

    I last week I did a dist-upgrade from 13.1 to 13.2 and ever since the software managers lists all packages that I remove under 'Modified'. Also, when ever I try to install something with the software manager, it tries to reinstall all previously removed packages that are listed under 'Modified'.

    What can I do to 'convince' the software manager I don't want these packages back

    When I use zypper, it is no problem.

  2. #2

    Default Re: Yast > Software Manager

    Quote Originally Posted by Ricochet View Post
    What can I do to 'convince' the software manager I don't want these packages back
    Enable "Ignore recommended packages for already installed packages" in YaST's "Options" menu.

    If there are still some packages getting installed automatically, you could "Taboo -- never install" them (right-click on the package).

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    249

    Default Re: Yast > Software Manager

    Lol thanks!
    Been using SUSE for more then ten years and it never occurred to me the software manager had more options haha.

    /shame

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Bucharest, Romania
    Posts
    77

    Default Re: Yast > Software Manager

    Err... Seems that option "Ignore recommended packages for already installed packages" does more than it's name suggests
    Anyway, I wouldn't have guessed that this option should solve this problem.

    Thanks anyway, I had the same issue, and now it's not anymore.
    Linux user #179833

  5. #5

    Default Re: Yast > Software Manager

    Quote Originally Posted by corneld View Post
    Err... Seems that option "Ignore recommended packages for already installed packages" does more than it's name suggests
    Hm?
    Those additional packages get marked to be installed because they are recommended by other packages or patterns that are already installed.
    That option prevents that, by "ignoring recommended packages for already installed packages".

    What do you think it does more than its name suggests?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •