Page 6 of 15 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast
Results 51 to 60 of 141

Thread: Considering switching to Opensuse

  1. #51
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    456

    Default Re: Considering switching to Opensuse

    So I have 3 current questions:
    1. How do I make the boot faster, and not have the 10 seconds wait on which kernel to be loaded?
    2. How can I make the desktop to show the icons by default?
    3. I am currently booting with KDE crash handler telling me that there was a crash. I didn't really make any modifications yet, in fact I was unsuccessful at doing the first zypper update. Any suggestions?

  2. #52
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    28,172
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Considering switching to Opensuse

    On Fri 24 Oct 2014 04:26:01 AM CDT, SJLPHI wrote:


    So I have 3 current questions:
    1. How do I make the boot faster, and not have the 10 seconds wait on
    which kernel to be loaded?
    Hi
    I'm assuming you mean the grub boot menu, if so fire up
    YaST->System->Bootloader, click on bootloader options. Set the 'timeout
    in seconds' (I use 0), if your not booting another OS, then uncheck the
    box 'Probe Foreign OS'. Click ok to finish.

    --
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° LFCS, SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    openSUSE 13.1 (Bottle) (x86_64) GNOME 3.10.1 Kernel 3.11.10-21-desktop
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!


  3. #53
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,743
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Considering switching to Opensuse

    1. Yast > System > Bootloader > Bootloader Options tab
    Reduce the timeout value from 8 to 2 sec

    2. Switch to Desktop Icons activity

    3. Run: zypper patch twice, then reboot
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  4. #54
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Kamloops, BC, Canada
    Posts
    3,974

    Default Re: Considering switching to Opensuse

    Quote Originally Posted by SJLPHI View Post
    So I have 3 current questions:
    1. How do I make the boot faster, and not have the 10 seconds wait on which kernel to be loaded?
    Skip GRUB Menu unless the Shift key is held down

    In order to achieve the fastest possible boot, instead of having GRUB wait for a timeout, it is possible for GRUB to hide the menu, unless the Shift key is held down during GRUB's start-up.

    In order to achieve this, you should add the following line to /etc/default/grub:
    Code:
    GRUB_FORCE_HIDDEN_MENU="true"
    And the following file should be created:
    Code:
    /etc/grub.d/31_hold_shift
    Contents of the file are:

    Code:
    #! /bin/sh
    set -e
    
    # grub-mkconfig helper script.
    # Copyright (C) 2006,2007,2008,2009  Free Software Foundation, Inc.
    #
    # GRUB is free software: you can redistribute it and/or modify
    # it under the terms of the GNU General Public License as published by
    # the Free Software Foundation, either version 3 of the License, or
    # (at your option) any later version.
    #
    # GRUB is distributed in the hope that it will be useful,
    # but WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY; without even the implied warranty of
    # MERCHANTABILITY or FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE.  See the
    # GNU General Public License for more details.
    #
    # You should have received a copy of the GNU General Public License
    # along with GRUB.  If not, see <http://www.gnu.org/licenses/>.
    
    prefix="/usr"
    exec_prefix="${prefix}"
    datarootdir="${prefix}/share"
    
    export TEXTDOMAIN=grub
    export TEXTDOMAINDIR="${datarootdir}/locale"
    source "${datarootdir}/grub2/grub-mkconfig_lib"
    
    found_other_os=
    
    make_timeout () {
    
      if [ "x${GRUB_FORCE_HIDDEN_MENU}" = "xtrue" ] ; then 
        if [ "x${1}" != "x" ] ; then
          if [ "x${GRUB_HIDDEN_TIMEOUT_QUIET}" = "xtrue" ] ; then
        verbose=
          else
        verbose=" --verbose"
          fi
    
          if [ "x${1}" = "x0" ] ; then
        cat <<EOF
    if [ "x\${timeout}" != "x-1" ]; then
      if keystatus; then
        if keystatus --shift; then
          set timeout=-1
        else
          set timeout=0
        fi
      else
        if sleep$verbose --interruptible 3 ; then
          set timeout=0
        fi
      fi
    fi
    EOF
          else
        cat << EOF
    if [ "x\${timeout}" != "x-1" ]; then
      if sleep$verbose --interruptible ${GRUB_HIDDEN_TIMEOUT} ; then
        set timeout=0
      fi
    fi
    EOF
          fi
        fi
      fi
    }
    
    adjust_timeout () {
      if [ "x$GRUB_BUTTON_CMOS_ADDRESS" != "x" ]; then
        cat <<EOF
    if cmostest $GRUB_BUTTON_CMOS_ADDRESS ; then
    EOF
        make_timeout "${GRUB_HIDDEN_TIMEOUT_BUTTON}" "${GRUB_TIMEOUT_BUTTON}"
        echo else
        make_timeout "${GRUB_HIDDEN_TIMEOUT}" "${GRUB_TIMEOUT}"
        echo fi
      else
        make_timeout "${GRUB_HIDDEN_TIMEOUT}" "${GRUB_TIMEOUT}"
      fi
    }
    
      adjust_timeout
    
        cat <<EOF
    if [ "x\${timeout}" != "x-1" ]; then
      if keystatus; then
        if keystatus --shift; then
          set timeout=-1
        else
          set timeout=0
        fi
      else
        if sleep$verbose --interruptible 3 ; then
          set timeout=0
        fi
      fi
    fi
    EOF
    -Gerry Makaro
    Fraser-Bell Info Tech
    Solving Tech Mysteries since the Olden Days!
    ~~
    If I helped you, consider clicking the Star at the bottom left of my post.

  5. #55
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Kamloops, BC, Canada
    Posts
    3,974

    Default Re: Considering switching to Opensuse

    Oh, I should mention that:

    You need to run
    Code:
    grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/grub2/grub.cfg
    afterwards to update /boot/grub2/grub.cfg.
    -Gerry Makaro
    Fraser-Bell Info Tech
    Solving Tech Mysteries since the Olden Days!
    ~~
    If I helped you, consider clicking the Star at the bottom left of my post.

  6. #56
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Kamloops, BC, Canada
    Posts
    3,974

    Default Re: Considering switching to Opensuse

    Just to make certain it still works (I was confident it would, but it never hurts to verify such things again), I just applied it to my few-days-old installation of openSUSE 13.1 on an old Acer Laptop that dual-boots Win Vista.

    Works as expected.

    When I want to boot Win Vista, I hold the shift key while booting the laptop, and the menu shows up, including the Vista entry.
    -Gerry Makaro
    Fraser-Bell Info Tech
    Solving Tech Mysteries since the Olden Days!
    ~~
    If I helped you, consider clicking the Star at the bottom left of my post.

  7. #57

    Default Re: Considering switching to Opensuse

    On 2014-10-24, SJLPHI <SJLPHI@no-mx.forums.opensuse.org> wrote:
    > So I have 3 current questions:
    > 1. How do I make the boot faster, and not have the 10 seconds wait on
    > which kernel to be loaded?


    YaST is your friend. Familiarise yourself with the Bootloader configuration.

    > 2. How can I make the desktop to show the icons by default?


    Which icons? If you want to add a link to a folder view:

    1. Right click desktop -> check Unlock widgets (or confirm they are unlocked).
    2. Right click desktop -> Add Widget -> scroll through Widgets until you find `folder' and drag to desktop.
    3. Left click on the Folder view's spanner and make sure "Show the Desktop Folder' radiobutton is checked.
    4. Right click within the Folder view and `Create new ->' to whatever kind of link you want.

    > 3. I am currently booting with KDE crash handler telling me that there
    > was a crash. I didn't really make any modifications yet, in fact I was
    > unsuccessful at doing the first zypper update. Any suggestions?


    Sorry, more information is needed before you can be helped properly. Few questions:

    1. Can you actually boot to a desktop?
    2. Assuming you can (or only in recovery mode), can you connect to the network?
    3. Assuming you can, please post the console output of what you see when you `zypper up' inside code tags, iconified by
    the octothorpes (# signs) in the forum toolbar.

  8. #58

    Default Re: Considering switching to Opensuse

    Some more comments. Sorry if something already has been written...
    Quote Originally Posted by SJLPHI View Post
    Well I will be installing opensuse on my work laptop tomorrow evening here's the current plan:
    7. Try to customize the "Virtual-Desktop" thing, I haven't really found anywhere how to move the items from one virtual desktop to another because in my current distro it's as simple as "Ctrl+Shift+arrow" to move the active item to another "workspace" I didn't see similar feature by default on OpenSuse.
    "Configure Desktop" (or "Systemsettings")->Shortcuts and Gestures->Global Shortcuts. Select "KWin" as component and you can setup shortcuts for those actions (and many more) as you like. (click on the empty space in the "Global" column for setting a not-yet-set shortcut)

    Or just right click on a window's title bar (or on its entry in the task manager) to get a menu where you can move it to a specific virtual desktop (amongst other things)
    You can also just drag windows in the "Virtual Desktops" applet in the panel to move them between desktops...

    Quote Originally Posted by SJLPHI View Post
    2. How can I make the desktop to show the icons by default?
    Open the "Activity Manager" (either click on the "3 dots" icon in the panel right next to the application launcher (K-Menu), or by right-clicking on the desktop and choosing "Activities..."), then switch to "Desktop Icons".

    3. I am currently booting with KDE crash handler telling me that there was a crash.
    As mentioned already, we will need more informations to help you there.
    At least which application crashes, maybe post a screenshot of the crash dialog.
    OTOH, this might be solved by installing all updates already.
    Last edited by wolfi323; 24-Oct-2014 at 03:35.

  9. #59
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    456

    Default Re: Considering switching to Opensuse

    Thank you all for the help.

    As for the grub force hidden menu. I'm unsure if it's because I don't know where in the /etc/default/grub
    I placed
    GRUB_FORCE_HIDDEN_MENU="true"
    in the middle of the code and then moved it to the end of the code but it didn't work, so I just set the timeout to be zero.

    If there's one thing that I've learned so far on this distro (I reinstalled it once already) is that it isn't very friendly to unreliable internet connection. I was disconnected during an update and I kept on getting list of errors when I tried to update after that.

    Anywho here are some more questions:
    1. How could I set the "Meta" button to show the kickoff application launcher? I have read elsewhere that it can be done with some modifications but it was from a couple years back so I was hoping that if there was a default feature for this by now.

    2.On the left edge of the screen, if I have my cursor there and if I scroll, it switches between virtual desktop. I wish to disable it but I wasn't successful on finding which setting may be responsible for that.

    3. I've had a few installations/update that were aborted due to various reasons, it seems that some of the packages are installed broken.
    I've been getting many of these
    {:
    Abort, retry, ignore? [a/r/i] (a): i
    (161/169) Installing: Mesa-libGL-devel-9.2.3-61.9.1 ...................................................................................................[done]
    (162/169) Installing: Mesa-libEGL-devel-9.2.3-61.9.1 ..................................................................................................[done]
    (163/169) Installing: libpng12-compat-devel-1.2.50-6.4.1 ..............................................................................................[done]
    (164/169) Installing: libmysqlclient-devel-5.5.33-2.2 ................................................................................................[error]
    Installation of libmysqlclient-devel-5.5.33-2.2 failed:
    Error: Subprocess failed. Error: RPM failed: installing package libmysqlclient-devel-5.5.33-2.2.x86_64 needs 4MB on the / filesystem




    Abort, retry, ignore? [a/r/i] (a): i
    (165/169) Installing: libXft-devel-2.3.1-7.1.2 ........................................................................................................[done]
    (166/169) Installing: glu-devel-9.0.0-7.1.2 ...........................................................................................................[done]
    (167/169) Installing: graphviz-devel-2.28.0-19.1.3 ....................................................................................................[done]
    (168/169) Installing: xorg-x11-devel-7.6-42.1.2 .......................................................................................................[done]
    (169/169) Installing: libqt4-devel-4.8.5-5.13.1 ......................................................................................................[error]
    Installation of libqt4-devel-4.8.5-5.13.1 failed:
    Error: Subprocess failed. Error: RPM failed: installing package libqt4-devel-4.8.5-5.13.1.x86_64 needs 59MB on the / filesystem
    }


    4. When I mount an external drive, (I have put the automount feature on) is there a way to make a link to it on the desktop automatically?
    I.e. regardless if it was mounted before or not, if I stick a USB stick to my laptop, I can immediately access it on the desktop

  10. #60

    Default Re: Considering switching to Opensuse

    On 2014-10-24, SJLPHI <SJLPHI@no-mx.forums.opensuse.org> wrote:
    > Installation of libqt4-devel-4.8.5-5.13.1 failed:
    > Error: Subprocess failed. Error: RPM failed: installing package
    > libqt4-devel-4.8.5-5.13.1.x86_64 needs 59MB on the / filesystem


    In relation to this and the other errors you've been having, please output the result of:

    Code:
    sh-4.2$ df -h
    sh-4.2$ su -c "fdisk -l"
    sh-4.2$ cat /etc/fstab
    Also, please try not ignore our questions. It's easier for us to help you if you answer them.

Page 6 of 15 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •