Page 2 of 15 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 141

Thread: Considering switching to Opensuse

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    384

    Default Re: Considering switching to Opensuse

    I just finished testing Opensuse 13.1 on Virtualbox and I have to admit that I am truly impressed, one thing that I'd like to find out is if/how I can move an active application to another "desktop" or "workspace"(in Ubuntu/Linux Mint language)
    I also like the fact konsole is there by default. It's my favorite terminal. It seems that I will need to find my way to set up hotkeys and get used zypper instead of apt-get. I am finding that it boots a little bit slower than other distros with similar parameters which won't matter too much because my work laptop has SSD. I WILL need tips on optimizing it for SSD though. Starting with partition management (I am likely to have 0 swap)

    As I've mentioned above, for some reason the hardware incompatibility did not occur with Ubuntu 14.04.1 for some reason. I think I am going to back everything up and try on Opensuse at full scale next week.

    Regarding my thread at Linux Mint community, weird part is that the hardware incompatibility surfaced so arbitrarily, I thought it was fixed until it resurfaced and the entire OS crashed and refused to boot.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,719
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Considering switching to Opensuse

    One thing is for sure.
    If you want to get an accurate reflection of a newly installed systems stability. You need to maintain a status quo. That would mean;
    Install, Patch fully, add mutlimedia and additional basics, and run.
    Avoid any unusual additions of non-standard or proprietary form.

    One problem with distro hopping is you can loose track of the facts and never really get a feel for any one system.
    On the other hand it is good for experience, and the more, the better.

    Ubuntu's UI just takes some getting used to.
    But for stability I actually find openSUSE by far the best.
    Leap 15_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    384

    Default Re: Considering switching to Opensuse

    Well, I will admit that I am quite nicely settled in with Linux Mint, I know my around quite well except I cannot fix the touchpad/keyboard problem and that I cannot explain that recent crashes. I have booted OpenSUSE 13.1 using live cd without any issues but I want to wait to get 13.2 in the mean while I would greatly appreciate the following:

    1.Setting up "Virtual Desktop" shortcuts
    such that I can move this active application to the next virtual desktop purely using keyboard (I didn't see one by default)

    2. Optimizing for SSD
    fstrim equivalent,
    partition management.

    3. I still need MS Word, I'm currently using Crossover 13, do I use .deb package or the red hat package?

    4. Environmental variables:
    For ROOT and python I have added a few lines to my .bashrc and .rootrc using "export" this=$OverHere
    would the syntax still be valid?
    I also have access to Scientific Linux 6.5 which are installed in my lab computers, one thing I notice is that they use sentenv instead of export and cshell instead of bshell

    I am currently quite comfortable with the Debian derivatives but not with other distros.

    I have decided to go with KDE desktop instead of Gnome 3 because Gnome seems almost identical to Unity.
    I am currently down to Kbuntu and OpenSuse and currently Opensuse seems to have my favour due to reviews on its' stability and I am hoping that this jump is the very last one at least for the rest of the year.

    I actually halted myself from formatting my drive about an hour ago to get opensuse installed because as little as the 4 things sound, they are important at least to me.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,719
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Considering switching to Opensuse

    1. Don't know. Not something I have ever had the need for.

    2. I don't have SSD's either

    3. There should be a .rpm or .bin

    4. No idea

    Sorry I can't be more useful. Standby for other replies from forum users.
    Leap 15_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Sydney AU
    Posts
    146

    Default Re: Considering switching to Opensuse

    Shortcut to move window (1) in your list.
    Alt-Tab to select window, then use shortcuts specified here:
    K-menu->System Setting->Shortcuts and Gestures->Global Keyboard Shortcuts
    Then, in the KDE component drop-down, select KWin
    The action is Window One Desktop Down, Window One Desktop to the Left, Window One Desktop to the Right, and Window One Desktop Up
    You can reset shortcuts to suit.

    However, I use mouse. Right mouse-click on top window border, then select 'Move to desktop >'

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Considering switching to Opensuse

    On 2014-10-18 06:36, SJLPHI wrote:

    > OpenSUSE 13.1 using live cd without any issues but I want to wait to get
    > 13.2 in the mean while I would greatly appreciate the following:


    Notice that 13.1 is mature, and 13.2 is "mint new". Meaning, that 13.1
    had most kinks ironed out, whereas 13.2 needs ironing for a month or
    two, at least for my liking. Nothing special about 13.2, it is just
    always like that. Problems are found just after release because that's
    when the majority of users install it and then they start finding
    problems that the testers did not find.


    > 1.Setting up "Virtual Desktop" shortcuts
    > such that I can move this active application to the next virtual desktop
    > purely using keyboard (I didn't see one by default)


    In XFCE, which what I use, "ctrl-alt-3" moves the current window to the
    "workspace" number 3, and also sets that workspace as active. I suppose
    KDE may also have something like that, but I don't know. Some of this
    things you can add hot keys for them as you wish.


    > 2. Optimizing for SSD
    > fstrim equivalent,
    > partition management.


    I can't talk from personal experience, but I have seen some very recent
    threads about that very question. Search a bit, you should see them easily.


    > 3. I still need MS Word, I'm currently using Crossover 13, do I use .deb
    > package or the red hat package?


    If there is no specific package for openSUSE, the next choice is a
    generic rpm package. A Red Hat package may work. The next option is a
    bin. I have used crossover (test) without problems.


    > 4. Environmental variables:
    > For ROOT and python I have added a few lines to my .bashrc and .rootrc
    > using "export" this=$OverHere
    > would the syntax still be valid?


    I suppose so. I'm not familiar with "ROOT", only heard of it.

    > I also have access to Scientific Linux 6.5 which are installed in my lab
    > computers, one thing I notice is that they use sentenv instead of export
    > and cshell instead of bshell


    I don't see a package by the name of "cshell" nor "bshell". Guessing
    that the latter is "bash shell", the former must be some other name wich
    I don't "compute" ;-)

    There are several shells available and you can install any/all of them,
    and select anyone as default. Don't dare remove bash, as then the system
    scripts would fail! Just use yourself whichever you like.


    > I have decided to go with KDE desktop instead of Gnome 3 because Gnome
    > seems almost identical to Unity.


    Whichever you like best, is the best for you :-)

    openSUSE is different from other distros in that it is "desktop
    agnostic". You can install any desktop from the same installation DVD
    (the BIG one, not the kde/gnome /demo/ lives). You can also install
    several of them simultaneously. I do. I have kde4, kde3, gnome, xfce,
    and others I forgot about.

    > I am currently down to Kbuntu and OpenSuse and currently Opensuse seems
    > to have my favour due to reviews on its' stability and I am hoping that
    > this jump is the very last one at least for the rest of the year.


    Good :-)

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" at Telcontar)

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    12,183
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: Considering switching to Opensuse

    Quote Originally Posted by SJLPHI View Post
    I also have access to Scientific Linux 6.5 which are installed in my lab computers, one thing I notice is that they use sentenv instead of export and cshell instead of bshell
    As far as I know, Scientific Linux is repacked RedHat. But I could be mistaken.

    I use c-shell. The actual shell program is "csh" or "tcsh".

    Yes, csh handles environment variables differently from bash or other Bourne shell derivatives/clones.

    With "csh" there are two distinct sets of variables - the internal variable and the environment variables.

    To set an internal variable, I use
    set variablename=value
    To set an environmental variable, I use
    setenv variablename value

    To get the value of an internal variable, I use $variablename
    To get the value of an environmental variable, I can use `printenv variablename`,
    or, if there is no internal variable with the same name, I can use $variablename

    Examples:
    Code:
    % echo $TERM
    xterm
    % setenv TERM vt102
    % echo $TERM
    vt102
    % set TERM=vt100
    % echo $TERM
    vt100
    % printenv TERM
    vt102
    % unset TERM
    % echo $TERM
    vt102
    % unsetenv TERM
    % echo $TERM
    TERM: Undefined variable.
    %
    You can see there that, at one stage, the internal TERM has the value "vt100" while the environmental TERM has the value "vt102". This is a great way to confuse yourself. Most csh users avoid using the same name for both an internal variable and an environmental variable (except when demonstrating the difference).

    With bash, if I export TERM to the environment, then any changes I make to TERM as an internal variable are automatically exported.

    However, I am used to using "csh" from an era before linux existed. So I continue to use it.
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5;

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    12,183
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: Considering switching to Opensuse

    Quote Originally Posted by SJLPHI View Post
    1.Setting up "Virtual Desktop" shortcuts
    such that I can move this active application to the next virtual desktop purely using keyboard (I didn't see one by default)
    The way I handle this with KDE is as follows:

    I click the button at the top left of the application window. That puts the application in all workspace, and the shape of the button changes to indicate this. Then I move to the other workspace, and I click that button again. That toggles it to be only in the current workspace. The effect is that I have moved it.
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5;

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    384

    Default Re: Considering switching to Opensuse

    Thank you for such detailed replies. I think I will be making the switch as soon as I finish coding an assignment.

    Regarding moving the active application to another virtual desktop, I would very prefer it to be something that can be done quickly using the keyboard because often I like to write my codes in Kate and make my Konsole transparent and I can quickly lay my konsole on top of kate for mistakes then move it over on top of systems monitor to make sure that I'm not frying my cpu once I start the code (I do a lot of simulations and my last example involved generating 10 million events which kind of "froze" the computer for 15 seconds)

    If that's not available on KDE, I suppose I could try look into the XFCE? I only found Gnome and KDE from the big installation DVD.iso though.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    12,183
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: Considering switching to Opensuse

    Quote Originally Posted by SJLPHI View Post
    I only found Gnome and KDE from the big installation DVD.iso though.
    XFCE is there.

    Early in the install, you are asked to choose KDE or Gnome or Other. Choose "Other" at that point. Then, later in the install, click the "software" heading, and look for the XFCE and XFCE base patterns to select.
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5;

Page 2 of 15 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •