Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 33

Thread: Automatic mounting of USB devices does not work properly

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Erlangen
    Posts
    901

    Default Automatic mounting of USB devices does not work properly

    External USB disks, camera and GPS device are mounted automatically when plugged in to USB. This works sometimes and sometime it does not work. Trying then to mount manually takes a very long time and often aborts with the message: Can't mount device. Frequently I need to unplug and plug in again to get the devices mounted.

    Linux 3.11.10-21-desktop, openSUSE 13.1 (Bottle) (x86_64), KDE 4.11.5

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    24,869

    Default Re: Automatic mounting of USB devices does not work properly

    And which desktop environment are you using?

    This type of mounting (what you call "automatic") is done through the desktop, thus it may matter.

    And you also may explain what you do when you "mount manualy".
    Last edited by hcvv; 04-Oct-2014 at 12:34.
    Henk van Velden

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Automatic mounting of USB devices does not work properly

    On 2014-10-04 21:36, hcvv wrote:
    >
    > And which desktop environment are you using?


    He said: "openSUSE 13.1 (Bottle) (x86_64), KDE 4.11.5" :-)

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" at Telcontar)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    24,869

    Default Re: Automatic mounting of USB devices does not work properly

    Quote Originally Posted by robin_listas View Post
    On 2014-10-04 21:36, hcvv wrote:
    >
    > And which desktop environment are you using?


    He said: "openSUSE 13.1 (Bottle) (x86_64), KDE 4.11.5" :-)

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" at Telcontar)
    Sorry, my fault, Missed that for some reason

    In that case, a pop-up should show shortly after the device is connevted,280 Does that happen?
    We realy do not ave much information on what happens and what not.
    Henk van Velden

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Erlangen
    Posts
    901

    Default Re: Automatic mounting of USB devices does not work properly

    Quote Originally Posted by hcvv View Post
    In that case, a pop-up should show shortly after the device is connevted,280 Does that happen?
    We really do not have much information on what happens and what not.
    When connecting a device to USB, device notifier pops up and shows all devices available; this works reliably.

    What does not work reliably is automatic mounting when attaching the device. Very often devices checked for automatic mounting (see below) will not mount. When trying to mount by clicking the USB icon in device notifier, there is a long wait and finally device notifier displays a message: Can't mount device. :-(



  6. #6

    Default Re: Automatic mounting of USB devices does not work properly

    Quote Originally Posted by karlmistelberger View Post
    When connecting a device to USB, device notifier pops up and shows all devices available; this works reliably.

    What does not work reliably is automatic mounting when attaching the device. Very often devices checked for automatic mounting (see below) will not mount. When trying to mount by clicking the USB icon in device notifier, there is a long wait and finally device notifier displays a message: Can't mount device. :-(


    Hello Hello hello! I'm from Brazil and I came to this forum seeking on the subject on Google. My home community is "Live toLinux" ( Incidentally, our greetings to your community !! ) I have had problems similar to those you are looking at, but you got it for different reasons. Just to conextualize, I was trying to create a USB Bootle, when my Elementary Freya began to give the same problem! And I confirmed everything you said. The system does not recognize the GPT table pen by a UUID error, which does not recognize the corret amount of memory blocks! In fact I was facing two problems in one: First I could not extract the ISO because the system was not supporting the symbolic links, a problem that is not the first time that occurs and know me solve: Symbolic Links rely on a call dependence "SYMLINK" and another called "glibc". For some reason, my systems live uninstalling these dependencies ... We have discussed this in my community. In Linux, almost everything is dependencies problem... after my community suggest the usual solutions, and I have already turned the world communities all via Google, I deduced that the problem could be more of the same, that is, as always, DEPENDENCE . The devil was to find out which! I am far from an understanding that part, but not intimidated me, I devised a tactical plan and typed UUID in Synaptic ... I there a dependency (uninstalled, of course) striking: "uuidcef", described as "UUID generator". I wanted to die! Said reinstalled and still had to reboot twice - because once was not enough - but managed to solve the problem. Moreover, it was enough to follow the recommendation of veterans of my community "first ever disassemble the device before formatting it!" I hope that will be useful all who are with you I Cheers and hugs, foreign colleague, you are doing a good job !!! BRAZIL Greetings !!!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,192
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Automatic mounting of USB devices does not work properly

    Hi invernosantigos. First, welcome to the openSUSE Forums. After reading, your post (which I confess I found difficult to read), it does not seem related to this thread in any way. Anyway, in future it is preferable that start you own new thread with a descriptive title, rather than tacking on to an old thread like this.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Automatic mounting of USB devices does not work properly

    On 2014-10-04 21:26, karlmistelberger wrote:

    > Linux 3.11.10-21-desktop, openSUSE 13.1 (Bottle) (x86_64), KDE 4.11.5


    You have to mount manually with the "-v" switch, and have a look at the
    log, for clues.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" at Telcontar)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Erlangen
    Posts
    901

    Default Re: Automatic mounting of USB devices does not work properly

    Quote Originally Posted by robin_listas View Post
    On 2014-10-04 21:26, karlmistelberger wrote:

    > Linux 3.11.10-21-desktop, openSUSE 13.1 (Bottle) (x86_64), KDE 4.11.5


    You have to mount manually with the "-v" switch, and have a look at the
    log, for clues.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" at Telcontar)
    erlangen:/home/karl # mount -v /dev/sde7 /mnt/
    mount: /dev/sde7 mounted on /mnt.
    erlangen:/home/karl #

    /var/log/messages has:
    2014-10-04T21:41:18.555950+02:00 erlangen kernel: [357140.528448] EXT4-fs (sde7): mounting ext3 file system using the ext4 subsystem
    2014-10-04T21:41:18.597364+02:00 erlangen kernel: [357140.569590] EXT4-fs (sde7): mounted filesystem with ordered data mode. Opts: (null)

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Automatic mounting of USB devices does not work properly

    On 2014-10-04 21:56, karlmistelberger wrote:

    > erlangen:/home/karl # mount -v /dev/sde7 /mnt/
    > mount: /dev/sde7 mounted on /mnt.
    > erlangen:/home/karl #
    >
    > /var/log/messages has:
    > 2014-10-04T21:41:18.555950+02:00 erlangen kernel: [357140.528448]
    > EXT4-fs (sde7): mounting ext3 file system using the ext4 subsystem
    > 2014-10-04T21:41:18.597364+02:00 erlangen kernel: [357140.569590]
    > EXT4-fs (sde7): mounted filesystem with ordered data mode. Opts: (null)


    That's a successful one. We need to see a failed one :-)

    A comment: Next time, when pasting here computer commands and such,
    please use a CODE BLOCK, so that the forum software doesn't do silly
    things like converting URLS to tiny urls or otherwise hide or alter the
    commands you entered. You get them by clicking on the '#' button in the
    forum editor.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" at Telcontar)

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •