Thread: Cannot remove kmail widget from panel

Default Cannot remove kmail widget from panel

Before you say, "Just right click and select remove", I have to point out that right-clicking the icon gives me a menu of PANEL options, not widget options.

I've also read the directions for editing a non-existent Desktop file.

I suppose I could remove the panel, re-install it and re-add the widgets; but, I'd like to avoid it.

This is a new install of 13.1 using the KDE/plasma interface. It replaces the CentOS installation I've been using for the last ten years.

Default Re: Cannot remove kmail widget from panel

Quote Originally Posted by david_42 View Post
    Before you say, "Just right click and select remove", I have to point out that right-clicking the icon gives me a menu of PANEL options, not widget options.

I've also read the directions for editing a non-existent Desktop file.

I suppose I could remove the panel, re-install it and re-add the widgets; but, I'd like to avoid it.
    There is _no_ KMail "widget".
    Can you please post a screenshot to clarify what icon you want to get rid of?

Probably you mean KMail's system tray icon. In this case even removing the panel and creating a new one wouldn't help...
    But then you should in fact get a context menu when you right-click on it, including an option to quit KMail.
    Have you tried to _left_ click on the icon?

The Kmail client "whatever you want to call it". I dragged a copy out of the application launcher and put it on a panel.

Right clicking does have a "Icon Settings" but there isn't any Remove.

Since I created the panel and added the icons, I do not understand why destroying the panel and rebuilding it would result in the Kmial client still being on the new panel.

Left clicking launches Kmail.

unlock widgets (right click desktop select unlock widgets)