Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: How to make gnomesu command shorter?

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Shah Alam, Malaysia
    Posts
    68

    Default How to make gnomesu command shorter?

    In other distro/DE they have 'kdesu' 'sudo' 'gksu' (or whatever else) that basically allows a command to be executed temporarily with root privilege.

    But in Gnome (at least Gnome 3 in openSUSE) it is 'gnomesu' and I find 7 letters are annoyingly too long. gnomesu this gnomesu that. Too long.

    is there any shorter command? or way to make it shorter?

    (other than su)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    2,004

    Default Re: How to make gnomesu command shorter?

    ln -s /usr/bin/gnomesu /usr/bin/hurpderp
    .: miuku #suse @ irc.freenode.net
    :: miuku@opensuse.org

    .: h​ttps://download.opensuse.org/repositories/home:/Miuku/

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Shah Alam, Malaysia
    Posts
    68

    Default Re: How to make gnomesu command shorter?

    Ooh its that simple actually. thanks.

    so I rename it to 'up'. Will it possibly conflict with any other existing important application (that i might install later)?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    17,043

    Default Re: How to make gnomesu command shorter?

    On Tue, 30 Sep 2014 19:16:01 +0000, razirazo wrote:

    > Ooh its that simple actually. thanks.
    >
    > so I rename it to 'up'. Will it possibly conflict with any other
    > existing important application (that i might install later)?


    Possibly, it would be impossible to enumerate every possible executable
    you /might/ install and whether or not any given name you choose to use
    is going to conflict with it.

    Try it and see.

    Jim



    --
    Jim Henderson
    openSUSE Forums Administrator
    Forum Use Terms & Conditions at http://tinyurl.com/openSUSE-T-C

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: How to make gnomesu command shorter?

    On 2014-09-30 21:16, razirazo wrote:
    >
    > Ooh its that simple actually. thanks.
    >
    > so I rename it to 'up'. Will it possibly conflict with any other
    > existing important application (that i might install later)?


    Open a terminal, type "up", then press tab twice. Then enter "su -", give password, and repeat the
    procedure.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" (Elessar))

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    24,854

    Default Re: How to make gnomesu command shorter?

    Create a file .alias in your home directory and put a line like
    Code:
    alias g='gmomesu'
    in it.

    But I realy wonder how many times a day you are usuing this. Running things as root must be an exception in a normal stable system.
    Henk van Velden

  7. #7

    Default Re: How to make gnomesu command shorter?

    If you want to create an alias or create a link (soft/hard) of an executable or even a function, you should consider that the name you want to use is already existing in your PATH or the alias/function is already define.

    check for the aliases in your system

    Code:
    alias
    check for the functions in your system.

    Code:
    set
    check for an executable is in your PATH,

    Code:
    type -a «command»
    «command» can be ls,grep or any other command/executable you use.

    Code:
    help type
    for more info.

    The common mistake is create an alias, function, executable that is named test since it is a shell builtin according to

    Code:
    type -a test
    If you want to know which get executed first, the PATH executable or the builtin see.
    Code:
    man bash
    and look for COMMAND EXECUTION.
    "Unfortunately time is always against us" -- [Morpheus]

    .:https://github.com/Jetchisel:.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: How to make gnomesu command shorter?

    On 2014-09-30 21:16, hcvv wrote:

    > But I realy wonder how many times a day you are usuing this. Running
    > things as root must be an exception in a normal stable system.


    For that reason, what I do is open a terminal, and enter "su -", and leave it there... as I
    hibernate every day, it stays opens for weeks.

    Sometimes, from that xterm I open other xterms, which thus run as root as well. Sometimes I can have
    dozens of them. It is easier than starting several xterms and typing the password on each one.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" (Elessar))

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Shah Alam, Malaysia
    Posts
    68

    Default Re: How to make gnomesu command shorter?

    Quote Originally Posted by hcvv View Post
    Create a file .alias in your home directory and put a line like
    Code:
    alias g='gmomesu'
    in it.

    But I realy wonder how many times a day you are usuing this. Running things as root must be an exception in a normal stable system.
    Im deploying lots of PC for some proof-of-concept project spanning several computer lab; where there are multiple type of PC with different configurations that I need to install one by one before full deployment from disk image.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    24,854

    Default Re: How to make gnomesu command shorter?

    Quote Originally Posted by razirazo View Post
    Im deploying lots of PC for some proof-of-concept project spanning several computer lab; where there are multiple type of PC with different configurations that I need to install one by one before full deployment from disk image.
    Sounds more like something to be done from the CLI, on the real console and no login in the GUI at all. But this comment is only made without knowing any details about what you are doing.

    My original remark was based on my own experiences (with can of course differ widely from your's) and on using KDE. I use YaST from the KDE menu as important tool for actions to be done as root (thus no kdesu (the KDE equivalent of gomesu), just clicking. And for CLI actions I use Terminal in Superuser Mode (or similar wording, it starts Konsole with an su -) from the KDE menu. Again only click.

    Apart for the fact that I use the CLI for checking/testing actions to post here when answering people, I do not use it very much. About the same for YaST. In a system that is in production, I will do YaST about once a week for updating software. So even when I had to use gnomesu, it wouldn'd be worth for me to make an alias.
    Henk van Velden

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •