Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: No mic input with pulseaudio

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    India
    Posts
    332

    Default No mic input with pulseaudio

    Hi everyone,


    I am using Opensuse 12.3 with XFCE desktop. I have installed Skype version 4.3 but I am unable to input anything. What might be the problem.

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    India
    Posts
    332

    Default Re: No mic input with pulseaudio

    Is there an article on installing skype 4.3 on OpenSUSE 12.3. If so please share me the link.

    Thank You.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,650

    Default Re: No mic input with pulseaudio

    Check the levels for the mic in your volume control. Note if you use pulse then install pavcontrol and adjust volume there

    Also if you run 64 bit OS then be sure you install the 32 alsa-pulse libraries

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    India
    Posts
    332

    Default Re: No mic input with pulseaudio

    Quote Originally Posted by gogalthorp View Post
    Check the levels for the mic in your volume control. Note if you use pulse then install pavcontrol and adjust volume there

    Also if you run 64 bit OS then be sure you install the 32 alsa-pulse libraries

    I am using 32 bit version and have checked the sound levels but unable to record.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,650

    Default Re: No mic input with pulseaudio

    In kmix it is called capture device I don't know what is used in XFCE for sound control

    Since pulse is used install pavucontrol and check it there

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    1,546

    Default Re: No mic input with pulseaudio

    Quote Originally Posted by nishanth9042 View Post
    Is there an article on installing skype 4.3 on OpenSUSE 12.3. If so please share me the link.

    Thank You.
    Have you checked the skype SDB?
    It covers openSUSE 12.3

    http://en.opensuse.org/SDB:Skype
    Mark F.
    openSUSE Leap 15.1 / Plasma 5.12



  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    India
    Posts
    332

    Default Re: No mic input with pulseaudio

    I have checked the skype SDB page as well as pavucontrol but while recording it does not show any input devices.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,186
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: No mic input with pulseaudio

    Quote Originally Posted by nishanth9042 View Post
    I have checked the skype SDB page as well as pavucontrol but while recording it does not show any input devices.
    If nothing is shown, then you might want to take a step backwards and run the diagnostic script which should help to give you a complete picture of the audio hardware in terms of what has been detected, active etc

    https://en.opensuse.org/SDB:Audio_tr..._to_run_script

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    India
    Posts
    332

    Default Re: No mic input with pulseaudio

    Quote Originally Posted by deano_ferrari View Post
    If nothing is shown, then you might want to take a step backwards and run the diagnostic script which should help to give you a complete picture of the audio hardware in terms of what has been detected, active etc

    https://en.opensuse.org/SDB:Audio_tr..._to_run_script

    K I will try that. Thanks for the reply.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    India
    Posts
    332

    Default Re: No mic input with pulseaudio

    Extremely sorry for the delayed reply. I couldn't identify the problem and I have reinstalled the OS and now the problem is solved.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •