Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Skype not working

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Mexico and Sweden
    Posts
    1,288

    Default Skype not working

    openSUSE 13.1 64bit KDE

    As of yesterday my Skype 4.2 stopped working with the error message "Skype can't connect". The same with a 32bit machine, same distribution. Is anyone experiencing a similar problem? Any solutions? I am unable to download version 4.3 as it doesn't offer a download button.

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    2,004

    Default Re: Skype not working

    Version 4.3 for Linux Dynamic download link:
    Code:
    http://www.skype.com/en/download-skype/skype-for-linux/downloading/?type=dynamic
    If that doesn't work, direct download link:
    Code:
    http://download.skype.com/linux/skype-4.3.0.37.tar.bz2
    .: miuku #suse @ irc.freenode.net
    :: miuku@opensuse.org

    .: h​ttps://download.opensuse.org/repositories/home:/Miuku/

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Sauerland
    Posts
    3,983

    Default AW: Skype not working

    Download-Link for the rpm (only 32 bit):
    http://www.skype.com/en/download-sky...g/?type=suse32

  4. #4

    Default Re : Skype not working

    Hello,

    Sorry for my poor english, I'm French.

    I installed openSuse 13.1 on an "old" machine 32 bits "only".

    I tried to run Skype.

    1) 4.3 rpm -> abandon
    2) 4.2 rpm -> Skype can't connect
    3) 4.3 dynamic -> abandon
    4) 4.2 dynamic -> Skype can't connect

    No suse Firewall
    This machine has the same IP than a previous with openSuse 12.2 where Skype worked fine. (NAT on router has the same configuration)

    After 2 days and 1 nigth of try, anybody can he answer these questions?

    - Is it really possible to understand what happens ?

    - Must I go back to Suse 12.x to use Skype ?

    - Can we trust Window$ to maintain Linux programs ?

    Thank you.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,748

    Default Re: Skype not working

    Well to answer last question first

    No you can not trust Microsoft

    I run 64 bit OS and Skype works fine here you just have to be sure that you have the proper 32 bit libs. For you that should not be an issue.

    So please say excatly what it is doing? ie does it start at all? Did you try running it from a command line to see an errors that it might throw? We can't look over your shoulder so you have to tell us the details of what you experience. So far you have said it does not work so how does it not work?

  6. #6

    Default Re : Skype not working

    Hello,

    Thank you for fast answer.

    I tried ALL : from menu and from console, with pre load v4l lib and not pre load,.....

    4.2 show the connexion panel, I enter my pseudo and passwd (verified on the skype site, that's work) and ask connexion. After a little time new line on the panel : Skype can't connect.

    4.3 : not start at all. Just write "abandon" on the console.

    As there is no "verbose" mode I don't know what happens and where is the error.

    I saw, on web, same problems for 4.2 on ubuntu and/or other linux and they were solved by adding some 32 bits libraries.
    But, as you wrote, it can't be the solution for me, I'm already 32 bits.

    Thank you

    PS: I never post a message on forum before doing all what I can, and I was unix administrator and, of course, hot liner unix during more than 20 years. But you could not know that.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Skype not working

    On 2014-08-02 13:16, ionmich wrote:
    >
    > openSUSE 13.1 64bit KDE
    >
    > As of yesterday my Skype 4.2 stopped working with the error message


    MS is intentionally forcing users to update to 4.3 by making their
    servers refuse to work with clients that have 4.2. So you need to switch
    to 4.3 want it or not.

    If 4.2 still works for you, it is because you get a server at MS that
    has not yet been updated and allows you. It is just a matter of time...

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.

    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" (Minas Tirith))

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Skype not working

    On 2014-08-07 20:06, Zoltic wrote:

    > 4.2 show the connexion panel,


    Forget 4.2, it will never work. Microsoft is blocking that version. You
    absolutely have to use 4.3, so concentrate on it.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.

    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" (Minas Tirith))

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Near Cape Canaveral Florida
    Posts
    190

    Default Re: Skype not working

    Quote Originally Posted by robin_listas View Post
    On 2014-08-07 20:06, Zoltic wrote:

    > 4.2 show the connexion panel,


    Forget 4.2, it will never work. Microsoft is blocking that version. You
    absolutely have to use 4.3, so concentrate on it.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.

    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" (Minas Tirith))

    Here is how a friend helped me get this new version of Skype installed while also removing all pieces of the previous version. Follow these steps:

    1) First, download the rpm from the Skype site to your ~/Downloads directory. Use the SuSE 12.1 version that Skype offers. It works.

    2) Open a konsole, type 'su -' (without the ' marks) and then your root password.

    3) cd /home/<your user name>/Downloads [This changes you to the directory where the rpm file is]

    4) zypper rm skype [wait until removal of the old skype is done]

    5) zypper in skype-4.3.0.37-suse.i586.rpm [The new version you just downloaded from Skype will be installed]

    The new Skype should now be installed and the launcher should be in the same place as before (under 'Applications')

    6) Test by making a test call to Skype. It should now work with the new version and you should not get error messages.

    Doing it this way ensures that any obsoleted or missing dependencies will be updated or installed by Zypper at the same time.

    Hope this helps.
    bosdad

    .

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,748

    Default Re: Skype not working

    Note that if you run 64 bit OS you may need to add a couple of 32 bit lib.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •