Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: why cron is not running?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    25

    Default why cron is not running?

    hi
    I edit my crontab and write
    Code:
    * * * * * idle3
    but it's not running, for edit crontab i use
    Code:
    EDITOR=/usr/bin/gedit crontab -e
    and my OS is OpenSuse 13.1
    thank you

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    27,194
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: why cron is not running?

    On Mon 30 Jun 2014 11:56:02 PM CDT, mshj wrote:


    hi
    I edit my crontab and write

    Code:
    --------------------

    * * * * * idle3

    --------------------

    but it's not running, for edit crontab i use

    Code:
    --------------------

    EDITOR=/usr/bin/gedit crontab -e

    --------------------

    and my OS is OpenSuse 13.1
    thank you


    Hi
    By default cron knows no environment, you need to set the full path to
    your script in your crontab.

    --
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    openSUSE 13.1 (Bottle) (x86_64) GNOME 3.10.1 Kernel 3.11.10-17-desktop
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Belleville, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    451

    Default Re: why cron is not running?

    The environment entry was for editing using crontab, not an entry "in" crontab.
    "Making rich people richer doesn't make the rest of us richer." Ha-Joon Chang
    openSUSE 15.1 4.12.14-lp151.28.16-default x64

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    12,870
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: why cron is not running?

    Quote Originally Posted by kerijan2003 View Post
    The environment entry was for editing using crontab, not an entry "in" crontab.
    I suspect the comment was about "idle3" possibly depending on your PATH setting.
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5;
    testing Leap 15.2Alpha

  5. #5

    Default Re: why cron is not running?

    Quote Originally Posted by kerijan2003 View Post
    The environment entry was for editing using crontab, not an entry "in" crontab.
    run

    Code:
    type idle3
    using your shell and whatever is the output you need to put in cron ie

    Code:
    * * * * * /path/to/my/idle3
    Assuming that idle3 is in your PATH the builitin type is useful, if not you can just put the absolute path of idle3.
    "Unfortunately time is always against us" -- [Morpheus]

    .:https://github.com/Jetchisel:.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: why cron is not running?

    On 2014-07-01 01:56, mshj wrote:
    >
    > hi
    > I edit my crontab and write
    >
    > Code:
    > --------------------
    >
    > * * * * * idle3
    >
    > --------------------
    >
    > but it's not running, for edit crontab i use
    >
    > Code:
    > --------------------
    >
    > EDITOR=/usr/bin/gedit crontab -e
    >
    > --------------------
    >
    > and my OS is OpenSuse 13.1
    > thank you



    Oh. So I suppose that "cron IS running", but that "your cronjob is not
    running". There is a big difference! :-)

    "cron" is the system daemon or service that runs the "cronjobs" existing
    in a system.


    Normally when a cronjob fails to work, you get the error message sent to
    you via email. Unix/Linux machines are capable of sending emails from
    local users to local users, or like in this case, from a program running
    without a terminal to a user. In order to read these emails, you
    typically use the command "mail" at a terminal. Or configure kmail or
    evince or whatever to be able to pick those emails. I use Pine.

    Reading that email would tell you the actual reason for not working. But
    guessing, it is probably because you have to use "/path/to/my/idle3" as
    others have told you.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" at Telcontar)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    South-West France
    Posts
    1,069

    Default Re: why cron is not running?

    Hello.
    I join this thread because I have the same problem.
    After re-reading https://en.opensuse.org/SDB:Cron
    and spending long time to this problem I have discovered :
    Code:
    crontab -e
    open /var/spool/cron/tabs/$USER and put it in a temporary file in directory /tmp, and after exiting, you have yourself put it back to the running directory by typing the following commands :
    Code:
    crontab "/temp/temporary file name"
    .
    That is not what you could imagine when reading the SD/:Cron
    This is the most common way how to user define his cron job. If you want edit cron job just use crontab -e command. It will open preferred (export EDITOR=vim) editor with already defined cronjobs. Each line is represent one cron job definition. With crontab command you could also list your user cronjobs crontab -l.
    Crontab definitions are placed in /var/spool/cron/tabs/
    But the files in that directory (/var/spool/cron/tabs/$USER) are never run.

    So I decide to put the files in /etc/cron.d
    And the scripts are run

    So where to put user cron script ( even for specific script for root user )


    Any comment or correction are welcome.
    Thanks for helping. JCD
    __________
    server leap 15.0 -- ASUS g75vw KDE leap 15.0 -- ASUS g750JZ Optimus KDE leap 15.1 -- acer aspire s13 win 10 home -- HP Omen win 10 home - scan EPSON V500 - Brother HL2250DN - Samsung CLP-325W

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •