Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: TX repeat in PUTTY

  1. #1

    Default TX repeat in PUTTY

    Hi,

    I have a project where I need to send a line of data to, and repeat it once/second. I have Putty, and have got it to receive data once (The extent of my experience)

    Can someone give me simple instructions on how to do this please? I am able to change settings, baud rate, com port etc.

    Cheers, Camerart.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: TX repeat in PUTTY

    On 2014-06-06 12:46, camerart wrote:
    >
    > Hi,
    >
    > I have a project where I need to send a line of data to, and repeat it
    > once/second. I have Putty, and have got it to receive data once (The
    > extent of my experience)
    >
    > Can someone give me simple instructions on how to do this please? I am
    > able to change settings, baud rate, com port etc.


    Sorry, I don't understand fully the question. Could you explain it a bit
    more, please?

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" at Telcontar)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    San Diego, Ca, USA
    Posts
    11,117
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: TX repeat in PUTTY

    The description as is, is also confusing.

    PuTTY is a Windows equivalent of a serial console, but I generally only use it as a <client>, not a <server>. Maybe it can be used as a server, but I doubt it's really needed, typically if you're sending to a Windows serial com port, I don't think PuTTY is needed.

    It might also be useful to know what type of software is running on whichever machine.

    Typically in my experience the OS and hardware is not too important to setting up serial communications, you just need to have a configured "server" and a "client" setup with the same serial configuration. Send a command which is understood by the Server and you will receive a response. Like many other things, if you want to send data or commands periodically, it can be done programmatically.

    TSU

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: TX repeat in PUTTY

    On 2014-06-07 00:26, tsu2 wrote:
    >
    > The description as is, is also confusing.
    >
    > PuTTY is a Windows equivalent of a serial console, but I generally only
    > use it as a <client>, not a <server>. Maybe it can be used as a server,
    > but I doubt it's really needed, typically if you're sending to a Windows
    > serial com port, I don't think PuTTY is needed.


    As far as I know, putty is an SSH/Telnet client.
    But apparently, it can also work as serial port console:
    http://the.earth.li/~sgtatham/putty/...l#using-serial

    In this mode, you could use putty in one computer to connect to another computer using putty as well, all over serial ports, and chat.
    This is used for testing, of course, normally you would have something more complex at the other end.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" at Telcontar)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    San Diego, Ca, USA
    Posts
    11,117
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: TX repeat in PUTTY

    Quote Originally Posted by robin_listas View Post
    On 2014-06-07 00:26, tsu2 wrote:
    >
    > The description as is, is also confusing.
    >
    > PuTTY is a Windows equivalent of a serial console, but I generally only
    > use it as a <client>, not a <server>. Maybe it can be used as a server,
    > but I doubt it's really needed, typically if you're sending to a Windows
    > serial com port, I don't think PuTTY is needed.


    As far as I know, putty is an SSH/Telnet client.
    But apparently, it can also work as serial port console:
    http://the.earth.li/~sgtatham/putty/...l#using-serial

    In this mode, you could use putty in one computer to connect to another computer using putty as well, all over serial ports, and chat.
    This is used for testing, of course, normally you would have something more complex at the other end.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" at Telcontar)
    Yes,
    I guess it's possible to setup what you describe simply for a lab, ie you only want to echo what is being sent <or> received.
    Perhaps is why I've never set that up, I've typically wanted to connect to an <app> running on the server side which does more than simply echo.

    Yup, in the "old" days HyperTerm was included in Windows, then it was removed so you had to install it. So, today you can use PuTTY although old fogies will probably still use HyperTerm.

    TSU

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: TX repeat in PUTTY

    On 2014-06-07 08:46, tsu2 wrote:

    > Yes,
    > I guess it's possible to setup what you describe simply for a lab, ie
    > you only want to echo what is being sent <or> received.
    > Perhaps is why I've never set that up, I've typically wanted to connect
    > to an <app> running on the server side which does more than simply echo.


    More than that. It could be used with a serial port to another machine
    in the same room, but also one across the country, via modem and phone.
    We "chatted" with the other person, then the same terminal program could
    be used to send a file, which was usually the final purpose. I used this
    procedure on the job place.

    On the "lab" it could be used for learning how the serial port worked,
    testing, but also for sending files, because we had no networks, and
    floppies were small, anyway.


    > Yup, in the "old" days HyperTerm was included in Windows, then it was
    > removed so you had to install it. So, today you can use PuTTY although
    > old fogies will probably still use HyperTerm.


    Hyperterm was an horrible terminal application. There were dozens out
    there, designed for MsDOS, which were way more powerful. Some were
    adapted for Windows, but as by that time networking and Internet was
    starting, soon there was not much use for them.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" at Telcontar)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    970

    Default Re: TX repeat in PUTTY

    I suggest investigating plink, which is installed with the putty RPM.

    I use it to dump Gcode to a CNC machine via a USB serial connection.
    The script looks like this
    Code:
    #!/bin/bash
    now=$(date +"%Y-%m-%d.%H.%M")
    echo "Processing file.nc starting Timestamp $now "
    cat file.nc |plink -serial /dev/ttyUSB0 -sercfg 115200,8,n,1,R | tee "$now-file".log
    the response is captured by the tee.

    A script that executes periodically and sends a command file via this mechanism seems what is needed here.
    Desk: i7-4790K Leap 15.1(x86_64)4.12.14-lp151.28.7-default KF5 59.0 Plasma 5.14.4 Qt 5.13.0
    Lap: HPDV7T i7 Leap 15.0(x86_64)4.12.14-lp151.28.7-default KF5 59.0 Plasma 5.14.4 Qt 5.13.0

  8. #8

    Default Re: TX repeat in PUTTY

    Sorry didn't know there had been replies.

    I managed to do it. I am connecting a GPS module to Putty then saving the log file and using it for information after the event.

    Thanks, Camerart.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: TX repeat in PUTTY

    On 2014-08-05 16:56, camerart wrote:
    >
    > Sorry didn't know there had been replies.


    Unfortunately the mail that should be sent when there are new posts is
    not always sent. So you should manually check now and then. Typically
    always someone answers here.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.

    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" (Minas Tirith))

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •