More update errors, kernel packages causing errors again.

Today Apper notified me of another update, with various updates to my existing programs, and two new packages :
kernel-source-3.14.4-30.2.gbebeb6f, and kernel-syms-3.14.4-30.2.gbebeb6f

I tried to let Apper do the work, but as soon as the above packages began to download, I got an error box that said “Installation cancelled by user.” Confused, I decided to run

sudo zypper up 

to get the update instead. Everything ran as normal, and I was asked to confirm whether I want to proceed with the update. I confirmed, and zypper spat out

Error: Subprocess failed. Error: RPM failed:    installing package kernel-source-3.14.4-30.2.gbebeb6f.noarch needs 284MB on the / filesystem 

This is strange as I still have a 20GiB / partition, and a 278 GiB /home/. I’m going to have to ask for help again, what is this and why is it happening? I’m new to this, so please excuse my lack of knowledge.

Why do you get kernel 3.14.4 as update?

Are you using Tumbleweed? Then you should not use Apper or “zypper up” to update.
You should only use “zypper dup”.

Please post the output of:

zypper lr -d

I tried to let Apper do the work, but as soon as the above packages began to download, I got an error box that said “Installation cancelled by user.” Confused, I decided to run

sudo zypper up 

to get the update instead. Everything ran as normal, and I was asked to confirm whether I want to proceed with the update. I confirmed, and zypper spat out

Error: Subprocess failed. Error: RPM failed:    installing package kernel-source-3.14.4-30.2.gbebeb6f.noarch needs 284MB on the / filesystem 

This is strange as I still have a 20GiB / partition, and a 278 GiB /home/. I’m going to have to ask for help again, what is this and why is it happening? I’m new to this, so please excuse my lack of knowledge.

But how much free space is on your / partition?

df -h /

Apparently there’s not enough room for the new kernel-source package.