Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 35

Thread: Can't update kernel

  1. #21

    Default Re: Can't update kernel

    Quote Originally Posted by Fraser_Bell View Post
    No.



    No problem. Just follow the directions of those who are helping.



    It is difficult not to answer with just "So, go ahead." However, we would rather help you.

    So.

    Somehow, whether consciously or through some method you were unaware of what the consequences would be, you have activated the Tumbleweed repositories, for which lots of experience (as in your referral to "being a comp sci student") is required.

    How that happened does not matter. It happened, so it needs to be reversed.

    Therefore, before doing anything else, follow the instructions to allow only the four official repos for 13.1, as Carlos said: oss, non-oss, update-oss, update-non-oss.

    Any other changes and fixes can be done once you have done that.

    Good luck, take a deep breath, relax, and we can help you get this sorted out.
    Get an error saying "cannot add repository" .. "repository will be added in disabled state"

    supposed to happen?

    I just said screw it and went ahead with the 'update' anyway, by now I could've just formatted and gotten 95% of the data back off the net so I don't really care if I just lost my data lol

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Can't update kernel

    On 2014-05-23 01:46, iceberg wrote:
    >
    > I'm doing the update thing but am I supposed to set all the repos to
    > remove?


    Yes.

    > This will make me lose my data too, right?


    Data, no. Applications and libraries, yes, absolutely, that is the goal.
    You have the wrong set of libraries and applications, so you have to
    reset to a clean slate, then install whatever you need from the correct
    places (ask us).


    > All I want to do is get it to boot to desktop with the data I had on the
    > hd... if I can't do that then I'm just gonna format it with a windows OS
    > anyway I don't care about a clean opensuse OS


    If you want to use Windows instead of Linux, go ahead. I'm not going to
    try convince you to use either system. Use the one that works best for you.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.

    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" (Minas Tirith))

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,798

    Default Re: Can't update kernel

    Ok I know this is taxing but you need to help use help you we can not see what you do unless you show us.

    I thought you were going to download the full DVD and do an update. it really is much eaise and less pron to user error. If you repetitively careful be be certain you don't format your home directory all you data will be there. The defaault for upgrade from the DVD is NOT to format your home. Just pay attention and always double check the installers selections If you do the upgrade you should not need to remove any repos,

    But it looks like you are trying to do it using zypper

  4. #24

    Default Re: Can't update kernel

    Quote Originally Posted by robin_listas View Post
    On 2014-05-23 01:46, iceberg wrote:
    >
    > I'm doing the update thing but am I supposed to set all the repos to
    > remove?


    Yes.


    > This will make me lose my data too, right?


    Data, no. Applications and libraries, yes, absolutely, that is the goal.
    You have the wrong set of libraries and applications, so you have to
    reset to a clean slate, then install whatever you need from the correct
    places (ask us).


    > All I want to do is get it to boot to desktop with the data I had on the
    > hd... if I can't do that then I'm just gonna format it with a windows OS
    > anyway I don't care about a clean opensuse OS


    If you want to use Windows instead of Linux, go ahead. I'm not going to
    try convince you to use either system. Use the one that works best for you.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.

    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" (Minas Tirith))
    @ the bolded... I'm confused because of this:


    "Therefore, before doing anything else, follow the instructions to allow only the four official repos for 13.1, as Carlos said: oss, non-oss, update-oss, update-non-oss."

    but either way i wasnt able to add any repos before going through with the update so doesn't really matter i guess.

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Can't update kernel

    On 2014-05-23 02:16, iceberg wrote:

    > Get an error saying "cannot add repository" .. "repository will be added
    > in disabled state"


    Just do not not try to add any repos, accept the defaults.

    The procedure should typically disable ALL your existing repos, and adds
    the official ones instead.

    It does not remove extra applications already installed - but they may
    not work afterwards. That's to be taken care later.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.

    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" (Minas Tirith))

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Kamloops, BC, Canada
    Posts
    3,974

    Default Re: Can't update kernel

    Quote Originally Posted by iceberg View Post
    @ the bolded... I'm confused because of this:


    "Therefore, before doing anything else, follow the instructions to allow only the four official repos for 13.1, as Carlos said: oss, non-oss, update-oss, update-non-oss."

    but either way i wasnt able to add any repos before going through with the update so doesn't really matter i guess.
    So, the update is done. What stage are you at, now?

    Are you booting to the updated system?

    If so, launch Yast. In there, choose "Software Repositories". Remove all repositories except the 4 listed above. Then, launch "Online Update", also in Yast.
    -Gerry Makaro
    Fraser-Bell Info Tech
    Solving Tech Mysteries since the Olden Days!
    ~~
    If I helped you, consider clicking the Star at the bottom left of my post.

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Can't update kernel

    On 2014-05-23 02:26, gogalthorp wrote:
    >
    > Ok I know this is taxing but you need to help use help you we can not
    > see what you do unless you show us.


    Absolutely! We need eyes.

    > The defaault for upgrade from the DVD is NOT to format
    > your home.


    Upgrade from DVD does not format anything.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.

    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" (Minas Tirith))

  8. #28

    Default Re: Can't update kernel

    Quote Originally Posted by Fraser_Bell View Post
    So, the update is done. What stage are you at, now?

    Are you booting to the updated system?

    If so, launch Yast. In there, choose "Software Repositories". Remove all repositories except the 4 listed above. Then, launch "Online Update", also in Yast.
    Yeah I booted to the desktop finally, updating via cable to the modem since there's no network management without update but I should be good from here

    Assuming that, should the latest system updates all be done with this one update or is there anything else I need to do to get it up to date fully? like as far as just important system updates.

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Kamloops, BC, Canada
    Posts
    3,974

    Default Re: Can't update kernel

    Quote Originally Posted by iceberg View Post
    Yeah I booted to the desktop finally, updating via cable to the modem since there's no network management without update but I should be good from here

    Assuming that, should the latest system updates all be done with this one update or is there anything else I need to do to get it up to date fully? like as far as just important system updates.
    There is a bit more that will need to be done after that. Some junk or conflicting version items might need to be replaced. You will need to follow the multimedia guide, and that will have you add one or two additional repositories that are suitable for you to use.

    Carlos, Gogalthorp, and Wolfi are all great at helping you clean up messes caused by improper repositories, so follow their advice carefully. They should be along here shortly with "What to do next", I expect.

    Great to see you making progress.
    -Gerry Makaro
    Fraser-Bell Info Tech
    Solving Tech Mysteries since the Olden Days!
    ~~
    If I helped you, consider clicking the Star at the bottom left of my post.

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Can't update kernel

    On 2014-05-23 03:06, iceberg wrote:

    > Assuming that, should the latest system updates all be done with this
    > one update or is there anything else I need to do to get it up to date
    > fully? like as far as just important system updates.


    Please post the result of this:

    Code:
    zypper lr --details
    And please do so inside code tags (the '#' button in the forum editor).
    See how


    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.

    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" (Minas Tirith))

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •