Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21

Thread: Resize root partion on runing system?

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,747

    Default Re: Resize root partion on runing system?

    Bad design if you can not specify where you want the files to go. As stated if you really feel you need the program add another disk with one large partition on it. Mount that partition at the directory where he program stores the data and be sure that the mount is in /etc/fstab. Then instead of writing a bunch of stuff to root it will go to the new drive and that can be as large as yo can afford to add.

  2. #12
    josephkk NNTP User

    Default Re: Resize root partion on runing system?

    On Wed, 21 May 2014 10:46:01 GMT, kilbert
    <kilbert@no-mx.forums.opensuse.org> wrote:

    >
    >Turns out this is normal for a media program, some users state their
    >database has grown to 200+gb
    >PLex devs suggest 100gb for /, 50gb for /opt and 700gb for /var as Plex
    >resides there with all it's metadata.
    >Looks like this is all by design.
    >My puny 320 gb drive is woefully undersized for this application.
    >
    >For anyone reading this with this issue, plex .bif indexing files are
    >the culprit. 30 gb of these files were what was filling up my drive.
    >plex total was about 38gb.


    Spewing that kind of GB in those directories??????? Evil by design.

    ?-)


  3. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Bari (Italy)
    Posts
    57

    Default Re: Resize root partion on runing system?

    Quote Originally Posted by kilbert View Post
    My root disk is full.(opensuse 13.1) I only found out while doing updates and it kept telling me the operation was aborted by user. I have less than 100mb free after I deleted a whole bunch of tmp files and logs.
    The system error-ed on shutdown before I figured out what was wrong, so I am afraid to use it until I can fix the space issue.

    I have one disk spit: with about 50gb root disk and /home/kilbert about 250 gb
    I would like to split another 50gb off the /home/kilbert and add it to the / partition.
    I have /home backed up elsewhere. So no worries there.
    I have other drives mounted for data.

    What's the safest way to expand the root partition and keep my system running without reinstalling?

    Many thanks in advance,
    Kilbert
    Are you using updated kernels? If so, try uninstalling old versions with Yast, kernel-source packages take a lot of space.

    To resize root and home partitions i use Gparted live iso without issues (on ext4).

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Resize root partion on runing system?

    On 2014-05-27 08:17, josephkk wrote:
    > On Wed, 21 May 2014 10:46:01 GMT, kilbert <> wrote:


    >> For anyone reading this with this issue, plex .bif indexing files are
    >> the culprit. 30 gb of these files were what was filling up my drive.
    >> plex total was about 38gb.

    >
    > Spewing that kind of GB in those directories??????? Evil by design.
    >
    > ?-)


    Nope.

    For instance, mysql stores databases under "/var/lib/mysql/", so what
    plex does in "/var" is absolutely normal. It is a database.


    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" at Telcontar)

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Resize root partion on runing system?

    On 2014-05-27 09:36, ezio84 wrote:
    >
    > kilbert;2644459 Wrote:



    >> What's the safest way to expand the root partition and keep my system
    >> running without reinstalling?


    > Are you using updated kernels? If so, try uninstalling old versions with
    > Yast, kernel-source packages take a lot of space.


    Please, read the entire thread, don't jump to early answers ;-)

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" at Telcontar)

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    25,157

    Default Re: Resize root partion on runing system?

    Quote Originally Posted by robin_listas View Post

    For instance, mysql stores databases under "/var/lib/mysql/", so what
    plex does in "/var" is absolutely normal. It is a database.


    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" at Telcontar)
    That is why I have told (configured if you want) MySQL to put it elsewhere (it does so by using symlinks btw).
    But this product seems not to be configurable in this subject and that it what people loath here.
    Henk van Velden

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Resize root partion on runing system?

    On 2014-05-27 14:06, hcvv wrote:
    >
    > robin_listas;2645714 Wrote:
    >>
    >>
    >> For instance, mysql stores databases under "/var/lib/mysql/", so what
    >> plex does in "/var" is absolutely normal. It is a database.


    > That is why I have told (configured if you want) MySQL to put it
    > elsewhere (it does so by using symlinks btw).
    > But this product seems not to be configurable in this subject and that
    > it what people loath here.


    I assume that you can use symlinks or bind mounts as with any other
    application in Linux. I don't have the intention to install it in order
    to check it, but I don't see a reason why its data directories can not
    be redirected.

    The only objection is that you can not do it by configuration of the
    application, apparently, but that's the case with many applications.


    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" at Telcontar)

  8. #18
    josephkk NNTP User

    Default Re: Resize root partion on runing system?

    On Tue, 27 May 2014 11:18:58 GMT, "Carlos E. R."
    <robin_listas@no-mx.forums.opensuse.org> wrote:

    >On 2014-05-27 08:17, josephkk wrote:
    >> On Wed, 21 May 2014 10:46:01 GMT, kilbert <> wrote:

    >
    >>> For anyone reading this with this issue, plex .bif indexing files are
    >>> the culprit. 30 gb of these files were what was filling up my drive.
    >>> plex total was about 38gb.

    >>
    >> Spewing that kind of GB in those directories??????? Evil by design.
    >>
    >> ?-)

    >
    >Nope.
    >
    >For instance, mysql stores databases under "/var/lib/mysql/", so what
    >plex does in "/var" is absolutely normal. It is a database.


    Evil, but not anything a smart admin can't handle with some links to more
    appropriate places (other mounted volumes).

    ?-)


  9. #19

    Default Re: Resize root partion on runing system?

    Quote Originally Posted by robin_listas View Post
    On 2014-05-20 22:16, kilbert wrote:

    use "du" instead. I don't remember offhand which options will be more
    appropriate, so you will have to read the man page and try... I think
    you need -c, -h, -s, and -x

    Code:
    su -
    du -chsx /*
    I'm having a similar problem - the 30G system partition is filling up - but I'm getting odd numbers. If I go to the properties of each folder in the home directory (hidden & non-hidden) I can count up about 1.5G worth of files. But folder properties & du both report over 3G so I'm not finding something. du is also having trouble accessing some directories.

    HTML Code:
    du: cannot access ‘/proc/3482/task/3482/ns/net’: No such file or directory
    du: cannot access ‘/proc/3482/task/3482/ns/uts’: No such file or directory
    du: cannot access ‘/proc/3482/task/3482/ns/ipc’: No such file or directory
    du: cannot access ‘/proc/3482/ns/net’: No such file or directory
    du: cannot access ‘/proc/3482/ns/uts’: No such file or directory
    du: cannot access ‘/proc/3482/ns/ipc’: No such file or directory
    du: cannot access ‘/proc/4601/task/4601/fd/4’: No such file or directory
    du: cannot access ‘/proc/4601/task/4601/fdinfo/4’: No such file or directory
    du: cannot access ‘/proc/4601/fd/4’: No such file or directory
    du: cannot access ‘/proc/4601/fdinfo/4’: No such file or directory
    0       /proc
    6.0M    /root
    du: cannot access ‘/run/user/1000/gvfs’: Permission denied
    I'm running OpenSuse 12.3 Linux 3.7.10-1.32-desktop with KDE 4.10.5. Is there some other utility I should run instead?

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,747

    Default Re: Resize root partion on runing system?

    Some directories like /proc are virtual ie do not live on the disk so should not be considered in calculating disk usage. In Linux like Unix eveything is a file so /proc is a window into all the process. /dev is a window into attached hardware /sys is a window into the system process

    Check your logs unless you are running some program that may have huge databases then it is probably over large log files and that means that there is a problem somewhere that is repeatedly getting logged.

    You probably should start a new thread since your problems is unlikely the same as the original poster

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •