Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: obs parallel build supports ???

  1. #1

    Default obs parallel build supports ???

    is obs parallel build supports ???

    I am having processor : 32 .
    So what will be my "OBS_WORKER_INSTANCES " & " OBS_WORKER_JOBS "

    should it be 4*16 or 32*32 ...

    please help me to understand

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    29,721

    Default Re: obs parallel build supports ???

    I do not understand you. Could this be a question regarding the Open Build Sevice?
    In that case you should have asked in Other Forums > Development > Open Build Service (OBS) sub-forum.

    When you decide that you are wrong here, please say so and I will move this thread there. In any case: Do NOT double post!
    Henk van Velden

  3. #3

    Default Re: obs parallel build supports ???

    ok you close hrere . I will reraise in OBS forum

    Sorry

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: obs parallel build supports ???

    On 2014-05-20 12:56, hcvv wrote:
    >
    > I do not understand you. Could this be a question regarding the Open
    > Build Sevice?
    > In that case you should have asked in Other Forums > Development > Open
    > Build Service (OBS) sub-forum.


    Notice that you can install OBS locally, on your own system, and in that
    case it is an application.

    I mention this because I understand the number of processors you have is
    irrelevant when using the openSUSE build service, as the building
    happens there, not on your own machine.

    I think the OP should clarify this point. Hopefully this gets posted
    before move is considered :-)

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.

    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" (Minas Tirith))

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    29,721

    Default Re: obs parallel build supports ???

    Quote Originally Posted by rampatnaik View Post
    ok you close hrere . I will reraise in OBS forum

    Sorry
    NO!, you should NOT double post.

    This will be moved and is CLOSED for the moment.
    Henk van Velden

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    29,721

    Default Re: obs parallel build supports ???

    Quote Originally Posted by hcvv View Post
    This will be moved and is CLOSED for the moment.
    Moved from Applications and open again.
    Henk van Velden

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Nuernberg/Germany
    Posts
    36

    Default Re: obs parallel build supports ???

    Quote Originally Posted by rampatnaik View Post
    is obs parallel build supports ???

    I am having processor : 32 .
    So what will be my "OBS_WORKER_INSTANCES " & " OBS_WORKER_JOBS "

    should it be 4*16 or 32*32 ...

    please help me to understand
    Why don't you leave it at '0' and let worker figure it out?

  8. #8

    Default Re: obs parallel build supports ???

    if i will set OBS_WORKER_INSTANCES=0 then what will be the OBS_WORKER_JOBS= ??

    when i set
    OBS_WORKER_INSTANCES=0 then i am getting 32 workers/build but job will be ??

    so my question is the map will be like
    OBS_WORKER_INSTANCES=32 & OBS_WORKER_JOBS= 32
    make j1

    or
    OBS_WORKER_INSTANCES=8 & OBS_WORKER_JOBS= 16

    no of build 8 and
    make j16 .



  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Nuernberg/Germany
    Posts
    36

    Default Re: obs parallel build supports ???

    Quote Originally Posted by rampatnaik View Post
    if i will set OBS_WORKER_INSTANCES=0 then what will be the OBS_WORKER_JOBS= ??

    when i set
    OBS_WORKER_INSTANCES=0 then i am getting 32 workers/build but job will be ??

    so my question is the map will be like
    OBS_WORKER_INSTANCES=32 & OBS_WORKER_JOBS= 32
    make j1

    or
    OBS_WORKER_INSTANCES=8 & OBS_WORKER_JOBS= 16

    no of build 8 and
    make j16 .
    OBS_WORKER_INSTANCES=0 will start as many worker instances as you have CPU cores. It has no relation to OBS_WORKER_JOBS.
    See https://github.com/openSUSE/open-bui...obsworker#L230

    OBS_WORKER_JOBS=N is setting the number of jobs a worker instance executes in parallel. So basically how many -j's passed to make. It has no relation to OBS_WORKER_INSTANCES.

    So if you set OBS_WORKER_INSTANCES=8 & OBS_WORKER_JOBS= 16 you get 8 worker instances all building with -j 16.

    Last edited by hennevogel; 21-May-2014 at 05:59.

  10. #10

    Default Re: obs parallel build supports ???

    thanks .
    as we have 32 processor so i define

    OBS_WORKER_INSTANCES=8 & OBS_WORKER_JOBS= 4

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •