Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Firefox 29 huge RAM hog - system unusable after update

  1. #1

    Default Firefox 29 huge RAM hog - system unusable after update

    Hi,
    Recently updated Firefox to version 29 and after that I noticed a huge downgrade in performance. It constantly causes my system to lock up. I did some monitoring and found out that even after I freshly start Firefox, when opening a new blank tab for example it creates a new process in system activity called "Browser" that instantly eats up +1.9GB and increasing, after few seconds my mouse lags, everything locks up and lags and I have to struggle getting into console mode, login as root and kill the *******. It eats so much RAM that I can hear my HDD and even loging as root takes over 30 seconds after typing the password, I think it fills up my entire swap too. I have absolutely no issue with Chromium, Konqueror, etc, just Firefox. I have no Add-ons, clean. I reproduced the problem several times. Sometimes, plugin-container wich I know is flash does the same thing but even when no Flash content is loaded, like when opening the new tab page in Firefox wich displays the tiles with the most visited websites.

    4GB RAM DDR3
    X2 240 AMD
    openSUSE x64 13.1 KDE with 3.14.0.2 kernel
    OpenSUSE Leap 42.2 x64 KDE

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    150

    Default Re: Firefox 29 huge RAM hog - system unusable after update

    I just did an openSUSE install on a system with nearly identical specs to yours, and updated it to FF 29 and am not getting the error your speak of. Neither am I with FF 29 on my system with KDE 4.13 and the 3.11.10-7 kernel. Try removing flash through YaST and delete the directory: ~/.mozilla and restart the browser. You will need to backup any bookmarks before doing this. I don't see any process running called "browser" on my system, nor did I on the aforementioned PC, so I have no idea what that is. Are you sure it's not an add-on?

  3. #3

    Default Re: Firefox 29 huge RAM hog - system unusable after update

    Yes I know its weird, I already reinstalled Firefox though I didn't delete the profile .Mozilla folder. This "browser" process appeared recently after Firefox 29. Will do a clean install, remove Flash and get back with results.
    I am sure it is not a plugin, I removed them all.
    OpenSUSE Leap 42.2 x64 KDE

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Firefox 29 huge RAM hog - system unusable after update

    On 2014-05-16 01:56, robertot5 wrote:
    >
    > Hi,
    > Recently updated Firefox to version 29 and after that I noticed a huge
    > downgrade in performance. It constantly causes my system to lock up. I
    > did some monitoring and found out that even after I freshly start
    > Firefox, when opening a new blank tab for example it creates a new
    > process in system activity called "Browser" that instantly eats up
    > +1.9GB and increasing, after few seconds my mouse lags, everything locks
    > up and lags and I have to struggle getting into console mode, login as
    > root and kill the *******. It eats so much RAM that I can hear my HDD


    And using swap.

    It is possible to start an application with a memory limit imposed, so
    that it is killed automatically if it runs away:

    Code:
    ulimit -v 1500000
    firefox
    And there are other variants of *limit to limit on the appropriate type
    of memory.

    This way you don't have to fight the machine to kill a runaway process
    when it is heavily swapping.

    You can also use an addon as "flashblock" so that flash animations are
    not loaded till you click on them.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.

    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" (Minas Tirith))

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Firefox 29 huge RAM hog - system unusable after update

    On 2014-05-16 03:46, robertot5 wrote:
    > Will do a clean install, remove Flash and get
    > back with results.


    Before doing a clean install, simply try with a new user.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.

    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" (Minas Tirith))

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    194

    Default Re: Firefox 29 huge RAM hog - system unusable after update

    Hi,

    Just out of curiosity are you using Catalyst or the Open Source graphics drivers ? I noticed from your signature you are on Kernel 3.14. Have you tried turning off hardware acceleration in FF ?

  7. #7

    Default Re: Firefox 29 huge RAM hog - system unusable after update

    Quote Originally Posted by Dragon32 View Post
    Hi,

    Just out of curiosity are you using Catalyst or the Open Source graphics drivers ? I noticed from your signature you are on Kernel 3.14. Have you tried turning off hardware acceleration in FF ?
    Ok so I did a clean reinstall, both Firefox and Flash. Added FlashBlock addon and went to some usual websites, it worked fine for a few hours until I went to IMDB to search for a movie and then after some scrolling I noticed the issue appeared again. Tried to open system monitor CTRL+ESC, it did opened after a few seconds, meanwhile mouse lagging and everything stuck. The unknown "browser" process was there again, using 1.9GB of ram and Firefox itself went to over 1GB.
    I don't have sync, account, nothing in my Firefox now, this is extremely annoying.

    I have the open-source, not Catalyst. Disabling hardware acceleration in FF does nothing.

    Chromium works perfectly, but I lack Firebug
    OpenSUSE Leap 42.2 x64 KDE

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Firefox 29 huge RAM hog - system unusable after update

    On 2014-05-16 12:46, robertot5 wrote:
    > until I went to IMDB to search for a movie and then after some scrolling
    > I noticed the issue appeared again. Tried to open system monitor
    > CTRL+ESC, it did opened after a few seconds, meanwhile mouse lagging and
    > everything stuck. The unknown "browser" process was there again, using
    > 1.9GB of ram and Firefox itself went to over 1GB.


    The do as I told you.

    Try a new user, and use ulimit.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.

    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" (Minas Tirith))

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    2,879

    Default Re: Firefox 29 huge RAM hog - system unusable after update

    Quote Originally Posted by robertot5 View Post
    Tried to open system monitor CTRL+ESC, it did opened after a few seconds, meanwhile mouse lagging and everything stuck.
    Just a guess, no guaranties: in privacy settings, see if "clean navigation data when leaving firefox" is unchecked. If not, try unchecking it. As a last ditch attempt, quit ff and rename your profile to something else, restart ff.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Firefox 29 huge RAM hog - system unusable after update

    On 2014-05-17 01:26, brunomcl wrote:

    > quit ff and rename your profile
    > to something else, restart ff.


    Instead of doing that, just create a new user and run FF with that user.
    That ensures you use a completely new profile with no addons, no desktop
    config encumbrances. It is the closest thing to a reinstall, is very
    fast to do, and does absolutely no changes to your normal user.

    If you don't know how to create a new user, ask.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.

    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" (Minas Tirith))

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •