Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Open File in Firefox

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    181

    Default Open File in Firefox

    Hello
    I'm using Firfox to view pdf documents.

    But there is one glitch when I click File>Open_File
    in the address bar (Name of the file) there is a dot at start.
    How to change that so it is clear.

    see yourself at the screenshot

    Linux 4.12.14
    openSUSE Leap 15.0 - 64 bit
    KDE Plasma 5.12.15
    KDE Framework 5.44.0
    Qt - 5.9.4

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    25,136

    Default Re: Open File in Firefox

    Your observation is the same as mine, but I can't see a problem. Either you ignore it completely by using the list above and clicking throug the directories until you click the file you want to open, or you start typing which, as the dot is pre-selected, will replace the dot with what you type without any extra action to be done.

    Not that I understand the existance of that dot there, but it does not do anything adverse imho.

    BTW, you should upgrade away from 12.2. It is unsuported.
    Henk van Velden

  3. #3

    Default Re: Open File in Firefox

    I just tried that, nothing happens, the dot just disappears. It is weird, though. The dot is usually to specify the current directory, isn't it? That's what it's for in the cli, anyway.
    Desktop : Leap 15.0 | KDE Plasma | AMD Phenom II x6 1035T | 8 GB Memory | Integrated Radeon HD4250 | Ext4
    Laptop: Leap 15.0 | KDE Plasma | Intel Core i5 3rd Gen 3320M 2.6GHz | Intel HD Graphics 4000 | 8 GB Memory | Ext4

  4. #4

    Default Re: Open File in Firefox

    Quote Originally Posted by HighBloodSugar View Post
    I just tried that, nothing happens, the dot just disappears. It is weird, though. The dot is usually to specify the current directory, isn't it? That's what it's for in the cli, anyway.
    The '.' also separates the ending from the rest in filenames. And that's more likely the case here, since it is the _filename_ input field.

    But IMHO this looks like a bug. (a harmless one though)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    12,621
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: Open File in Firefox

    Quote Originally Posted by GazetaCypr View Post
    But there is one glitch when I click File>Open_File
    in the address bar (Name of the file) there is a dot at start.
    I'm not getting that. I just see an open entry area. I'm not sure what is different.
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5;
    testing Leap 15.2Alpha

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    181

    Default Re: Open File in Firefox

    Do you think it can be changed somewhere (e.g. about:config)?
    I can't see it in about:config but I might be blind
    I'm just "happy" I'm not alone in this issue.
    Linux 4.12.14
    openSUSE Leap 15.0 - 64 bit
    KDE Plasma 5.12.15
    KDE Framework 5.44.0
    Qt - 5.9.4

  7. #7

    Default Re: Open File in Firefox

    Quote Originally Posted by GazetaCypr View Post
    Do you think it can be changed somewhere (e.g. about:config)?
    I don't think so.
    This rather looks like a bug than an intended feature that can be turned on and off.

    Btw, I tried to rename the ~/.mozilla directory (to start with a completely fresh profile), and that issue is still there.

    Maybe it's somehow related to the KDE integration?
    If you set ui.platform_file_picker to false in about:config, this issue disappears. Firefox uses its own file dialog then and not KDE's.
    I have yet to try whether the problem exists in GNOME as well.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    12,621
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: Open File in Firefox

    Quote Originally Posted by wolfi323 View Post
    If you set ui.platform_file_picker to false in about:config, this issue disappears.
    I suspect that you meant "ui.allow_platform_file_picker".

    That's at "true" for me, yet I don't have the "problem".

    Hmm, that's interesting. I happen to use several different firefox profiles. I don't have "problem" in my main (default) profile, but I do have it in some others.

    Here's what I am noticing.

    When I use open-file, if the "." appears, then the directory shown is my profile directory. If the "." does not appear, then the directory shown is not the profile directory.

    It looks as if "." is the default directory. But if you change directories while searching around for the file to open, then it remembers the most recently used directory and does not pre-select ".".

    (I think this means that it is not a bug, it is a feature )
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5;
    testing Leap 15.2Alpha

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    25,136

    Default Re: Open File in Firefox

    Quote Originally Posted by nrickert View Post
    (I think this means that it is not a bug, it is a feature )
    I was already afraid of that, but I fail to see what the intended gain is.
    Henk van Velden

  10. #10

    Default Re: Open File in Firefox

    Quote Originally Posted by nrickert View Post
    I suspect that you meant "ui.allow_platform_file_picker".
    Yes, that's what I meant.
    Sorry for the mistake.

    When I use open-file, if the "." appears, then the directory shown is my profile directory. If the "." does not appear, then the directory shown is not the profile directory.
    I cannot completely confirm this.
    When selecting "Open File..." the first time, the '.' appears, right. But the _current_ directory is shown, not the .profile directory (you meant ~/.mozilla/firefox/xxx, right?), for me ~/kdenlive/projects atm, because I started Firefox from a shell.

    It looks as if "." is the default directory. But if you change directories while searching around for the file to open, then it remembers the most recently used directory and does not pre-select ".".
    You're right.
    So the '.' would really mean the current working directory.

    (I think this means that it is not a bug, it is a feature )
    I still think this is a bug (in the KDE integration apparently), because of two reasons:
    - It doesn't happen with ui.allow_platform_file_picker=false
    - The "." is in the _filename_ input field, as already mentioned. And what sense would it make to pre-fill this with '.' (as in the current directory)?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •