Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: OPensuse 13.2 milestone 0 initial problems

  1. #1

    Default OPensuse 13.2 milestone 0 initial problems

    Hi there
    found problems

    1) Setup -- first boot during setup (final config) -- asks again for a user -- just enter a dummy user or it will keep asking again and again.

    2) after boot cannot add PACMAN (or other) repositories so can't effectively add any software such as VLC (multi-media playing) or anything not in the 13.2 repos. OK that's to be expected but some stuff from packman 13.1 should still work -- makes testing base software very difficult.

    3) GRUB2 boot loader options to install to external disk now a bit more difficult to find - it's on a TAB instead of a button option - no big deal but be aware.

    What IS installed with base system seems though to work fine -- XFS file system for /HOME and BTRFS for / are default and seem to work OK.

    System isn't really configurable enough yet for proper testing -- KDE works OK but that's just about all you can do currently. Without the PACMAN repo I can't test a lot of what I'm currentl running on my daily use system (13.1).

    Again the UEFI model can't write boot loader (GRUB2-EFI) to external HDD. The non UEFI model (GRUB2) works OK even on UEFI system.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sarasota, Florida usa
    Posts
    807

    Default Re: OPensuse 13.2 milestone 0 initial problems

    Quote Originally Posted by jimbo45 View Post
    Hi there
    found problems

    1) Setup -- first boot during setup (final config) -- asks again for a user -- just enter a dummy user or it will keep asking again and again.

    2) after boot cannot add PACMAN (or other) repositories so can't effectively add any software such as VLC (multi-media playing) or anything not in the 13.2 repos. OK that's to be expected but some stuff from packman 13.1 should still work -- makes testing base software very difficult.

    3) GRUB2 boot loader options to install to external disk now a bit more difficult to find - it's on a TAB instead of a button option - no big deal but be aware.

    What IS installed with base system seems though to work fine -- XFS file system for /HOME and BTRFS for / are default and seem to work OK.

    System isn't really configurable enough yet for proper testing -- KDE works OK but that's just about all you can do currently. Without the PACMAN repo I can't test a lot of what I'm currentl running on my daily use system (13.1).

    Again the UEFI model can't write boot loader (GRUB2-EFI) to external HDD. The non UEFI model (GRUB2) works OK even on UEFI system.

    Hre is the packman repo for opensuse factory
    Dale
    Computer ntel Next Unit of Computing Kit, Black/Grey BOXDCCP847DYE
    Processor intel celeron 847 @ 1.1 GHz
    Video intel sandybridge mobile

  3. #3

    Default Re: OPensuse 13.2 milestone 0 initial problems

    Quote Originally Posted by dale14846 View Post
    Hi

    Please be aware that as today (04-OCT-2014) if you use 13.2 beta 1 with the Packman factory repo KDE will crash to start. The only solution that I found was to remove the full packman repo and go back to opensuse repositories for all the installed packages.

    The error was a segfault for command kcminit, this is surely one broken library provided by the factory repo. I have no debug installation installed so I can't see further information

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    15,681
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: OPensuse 13.2 milestone 0 initial problems

    Quote Originally Posted by mtruchado View Post
    Hi

    Please be aware that as today (04-OCT-2014) if you use 13.2 beta 1 with the Packman factory repo KDE will crash to start. The only solution that I found was to remove the full packman repo and go back to opensuse repositories for all the installed packages.

    The error was a segfault for command kcminit, this is surely one broken library provided by the factory repo. I have no debug installation installed so I can't see further information
    I can pretty much guess what happened.

    There was a major update to factory over the last few days. The 20140928 update replaced almost everything. Then the 20141001 update move Gnome to 3.14.0.

    Packman (factory) has been updated to match. So now it is a mismatch with what was in 13.2 Beta1.

    My factory install is doing fine.

    My 13.2-Beta1 install is also fine, but I never added packman-factory to that.

    Presumably 13.2-RC1 will fix all of that, by updating 13.2 to about what is in factory (now, or at the time of the RC1 release). And then packman-factory will work with it again (until the next time that it breaks)

    I'm inclined to say that you should not add the factory packman repo to beta releases. The beta release is for testing. If you really want to test what is in packman, it would be better to install factory, instead of the beta.

    For myself, I consider my installed factory system (on which I am typing this reply) to be my test of installed software. When I installed Beta1, I was mainly testing the installer.

    I guess my attitude is that a beta release is good at the time of release, but is not maintained until the next release. Once RC1 is released, a "zypper dup" should update it to that level, though I'll probably download the DVD and do a fresh install (to test the installer). I won't add packman to 13.2 Beta (or 13.2 RC) unless there is a packman-13.2.
    openSUSE Leap 15.3; KDE Plasma 5.18.6;

  5. #5

    Default Re: OPensuse 13.2 milestone 0 initial problems

    nrickert wrote:

    > I guess my attitude is that a beta release is good at the time of
    > release, but is not maintained until the next release. Once RC1 is
    > released, a "zypper dup" should update it to that level, though I'll
    > probably download the DVD and do a fresh install (to test the
    > installer). I won't add packman to 13.2 Beta (or 13.2 RC) unless there
    > is a packman-13.2.
    >


    A hearty second to that! So far, about the only real issues I've had with
    13.2 come during installation - especially with network setup, and certainly
    when the installation encounters multiple network hardware like wired
    ethernet with an additional wireless device. Every attempt so far has taken
    a substantial amount of manual effort after the installation completes to
    get internet access usable. AH!, the joys of testing ;-)

    --
    Will Honea


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Arizona, USA
    Posts
    491

    Question Re: OPensuse 13.2 milestone 0 initial problems

    Quote Originally Posted by jimbo45 View Post
    Hi there
    found problems

    What IS installed with base system seems though to work fine -- XFS file system for /HOME and BTRFS for / are default and seem to work OK.
    Even though these are the defaults... can we use ext4?? I am doing some Android development and I am under the understanding that it doesn't work correctly with BTRFS. And I heavily use VMware and I believe it also has a problem with it, BTRFS. I could not get openSuSE 13.1 to work properly on my machine. openSuSE 12.3 works just fine and I was hoping changes in 13.2 would allow me to update. -BUT- if that is not possible I will just stick with 12.3.

    Thanks for all your efforts over these years,
    Chuck
    Box: Intel Core i7-4790 3.6Ghz | AMD Radeon R7 240 | 32GB RAM | openSuSE Leap 15/ KDE Plasma 5.12.6

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    1,028

    Default Re: OPensuse 13.2 milestone 0 initial problems

    Quote Originally Posted by mtruchado View Post
    Hi

    Please be aware that as today (04-OCT-2014) if you use 13.2 beta 1 with the Packman factory repo KDE will crash to start. The only solution that I found was to remove the full packman repo and go back to opensuse repositories for all the installed packages.

    The error was a segfault for command kcminit, this is surely one broken library provided by the factory repo. I have no debug installation installed so I can't see further information
    I had the same problem yesterday afternoon after added packman repo. I didn’t try to fix it but are waiting for some more updates before I try again.

    regards
    I'm shameless like others in the forum -was I to any help or made sense? If yes: click the on the star below to the left. Written whit a ;-) in my eye.

  8. #8

    Default Re: OPensuse 13.2 milestone 0 initial problems

    I'm inclined to say that you should not add the factory packman repo to beta releases.
    I pretty much agree with that.

    My plans are to continue with 13.2 beta 1 in this laptop (I can't really use 13.1 due to intel VGA driver issues) and wait until Packman releases an official repo for 13.2

    In the meantime Factory was removed and I have no plans to add It again.

    If any repo changes from beta to final version, I will change, re sync everything again and stay with 13.2 Final

    As for now, bug that I see, bug that I report :-)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    16,288

    Default Re: OPensuse 13.2 milestone 0 initial problems

    Quote Originally Posted by chucktr View Post
    Even though these are the defaults... can we use ext4?? I am doing some Android development and I am under the understanding that it doesn't work correctly with BTRFS. And I heavily use VMware and I believe it also has a problem with it, BTRFS. I could not get openSuSE 13.1 to work properly on my machine. openSuSE 12.3 works just fine and I was hoping changes in 13.2 would allow me to update. -BUT- if that is not possible I will just stick with 12.3.

    Thanks for all your efforts over these years,
    Chuck
    Yes but you must select it BTRFS is now the default FS but you can select any other supported FS for any partition

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Arizona, USA
    Posts
    491

    Cool Re: OPensuse 13.2 milestone 0 initial problems

    Quote Originally Posted by gogalthorp View Post
    Yes but you must select it BTRFS is now the default FS but you can select any other supported FS for any partition
    Thank you. Haven't been on here much in the past year. Been trying to use what I learned here on my Smartphone aspirations. I'm going to wait for the November release before I make any tries at this newest version. When it is released I know that nVidia will have drivers for it and besides I'm still working on my phone.

    As you can see in my signature, I have an "older" system. I received it Jan 25th, 2007 just 5 days "before" Vista was released!! I got Windows XP Media Center with TV -but- I immediately installed my SuSE and most of the time I am there.

    Thanks again to all for your continued efforts,
    Chuck
    Box: Intel Core i7-4790 3.6Ghz | AMD Radeon R7 240 | 32GB RAM | openSuSE Leap 15/ KDE Plasma 5.12.6

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •