SAMBA Opensuse 13.1 Im lost!

Good morning…or evening depending on your geographic location at the time.

Name is Danny and I’m new to open suse…linux in general I know enough to be dangerous eh eh eh

After being frustrated with ubuntu based distros I went on the hunt for something new.

I did a lot of reading on distro watch and played with a few other options…then I found Opensuse needless to say I’m finally home.

The install was great I couldn’t believe how comprehensive it was. That being said im sure my issue is user error and lack of understanding.

So on to the issue I have right now sharing files.

Lets deal with the file sharing. The Setup is as follows:

4x systems pure opensuse 13.1 (2x64bit 2x32bit)
Hardwired
Static IP’s

Now I decided to use samba…cause I’m not knowledgeable about other methods. Also I will have 4 VM guests running various windows OS (I’m in school for Microsoft certs then i get to move on to Linux/Unix classes he he) and I want them to access shares on the Linux boxes as well as the Linux boxes access the VM’s

The first thing I did was go to Yast2 > Network Services > Samba Server
I let it do its initial thing and let yast open firewall.

The configure comes up and I see the default listed shares now this is where I am either confused or making erroneous changes.
The share I want to do is the home folder for my primary user.

As such I click add set the name the description the path and made sure read only is not checked I click ok and bam its in my list of shares.

I then click finish Yast2 does its finalizing and as expected returned to the main Yast2 window

At this point I figure I’m good to go I turn around to my laptop which just got it’s opensuse goodness.

Launch dolphin click network and among the others I see samba shares which I click then I see my workgroup again I click it.