Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: HP WiFi toggle button not working

  1. #1

    Default HP WiFi toggle button not working

    My HP Probook 4540s has two buttons for networking, one for Wi-Fi and one for Internet.
    I'm mostly curious about the Wi-Fi button. I remember that when I bought the laptop, it would work out of the box and toggle wifi on or off. Now when I press it nothing happens.
    So I ran showkey --scancodes and again when I pressed the button no code appeared (the other button works just fine).

    Is there any way I can see if the button actually works from an electronic point of view? I know it can't simply stop working (the laptop is pretty new), but I just want to get the hardware issue out of the way or return the machine for repair.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,255

    Default Re: HP WiFi toggle button not working

    Have you tried navigating to the plasma-nm and trying the following:

    1. Right-click on the plasma-nm and select Network Management Settings
    2. Click on the Wireles tab
    3. On the left column and select Keyboard Shortcut
    4. Press your Wifi button on the "none" settings to assign your button
    My Linux Box
    OS:
    openSUSE 52.2 - Plasma 5.18.9
    OS:
    Tumbleweed Plasma 5.22
    ASUS P5Q | Intel Quad 6600 @3.02 GHz | 8GB G.SKILL RAM | Nvidia GeForce 750 Ti

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    23,893
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: HP WiFi toggle button not working

    Quote Originally Posted by bogdanc2011 View Post
    My HP Probook 4540s has two buttons for networking, one for Wi-Fi and one for Internet.
    I'm mostly curious about the Wi-Fi button. I remember that when I bought the laptop, it would work out of the box and toggle wifi on or off. Now when I press it nothing happens.
    So I ran showkey --scancodes and again when I pressed the button no code appeared (the other button works just fine).

    Is there any way I can see if the button actually works from an electronic point of view? I know it can't simply stop working (the laptop is pretty new), but I just want to get the hardware issue out of the way or return the machine for repair.
    I'm not sure that the button will be part of the keyboard infrastructure. Instead, it is connected to the wireless hardware. You can observe it functionality via 'rfkill' though.

    Code:
    rfkill list

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,255

    Default Re: HP WiFi toggle button not working

    HP Probooks are usually openSUSE friendly. That switch is an essentially a hard wired on/off switch and the shortcut should work.
    My Linux Box
    OS:
    openSUSE 52.2 - Plasma 5.18.9
    OS:
    Tumbleweed Plasma 5.22
    ASUS P5Q | Intel Quad 6600 @3.02 GHz | 8GB G.SKILL RAM | Nvidia GeForce 750 Ti

  5. #5

    Default Re: HP WiFi toggle button not working

    The shortcut assignment didn't work (basically I get no input from the button) and rfkill list shows:

    0: phy0: Wireless LAN
    Soft blocked: no
    Hard blocked: no

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    East of Podunk
    Posts
    32,922
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: HP WiFi toggle button not working

    On Tue 21 Jan 2014 11:16:01 PM CST, bogdanc2011 wrote:


    The shortcut assignment didn't work (basically I get no input from the
    button) and rfkill list shows:

    0: phy0: Wireless LAN
    Soft blocked: no
    Hard blocked: no


    Hi
    I have a ProBook 4430s (this machine) both buttons work fine to start
    the browser and enable/disable wifi and bluetooth;
    Code:
    rfkill list
    0: phy0: Wireless LAN
    Soft blocked: no
    Hard blocked: no
    1: hp-wifi: Wireless LAN
    Soft blocked: no
    Hard blocked: no
    2: hp-bluetooth: Bluetooth
    Soft blocked: no
    Hard blocked: no
    3: hci0: Bluetooth
    Soft blocked: no
    Hard blocked: no
    rfkill list
    0: phy0: Wireless LAN
    Soft blocked: no
    Hard blocked: yes
    1: hp-wifi: Wireless LAN
    Soft blocked: no
    Hard blocked: yes
    2: hp-bluetooth: Bluetooth
    Soft blocked: no
    Hard blocked: yes
    3: hci0: Bluetooth
    Soft blocked: no
    Hard blocked: no
    rfkill list
    0: phy0: Wireless LAN
    Soft blocked: no
    Hard blocked: no
    1: hp-wifi: Wireless LAN
    Soft blocked: no
    Hard blocked: no
    2: hp-bluetooth: Bluetooth
    Soft blocked: no
    Hard blocked: no
    3: hci0: Bluetooth
    Soft blocked: no
    Hard blocked: no
    Is the laptop pattern installed? patterns-openSUSE-laptop, since I run
    GNOME I also have patterns-openSUSE-gnome_laptop installed.

    --
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    openSUSE 13.1 (Bottle) (x86_64) GNOME 3.10.2 Kernel 3.11.6-4-desktop
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!


  7. #7

    Default Re: HP WiFi toggle button not working

    Is the laptop pattern installed?
    It wasn't. But I did and also did a reboot... still no input.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    23,893
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: HP WiFi toggle button not working

    Quote Originally Posted by bogdanc2011 View Post
    It wasn't. But I did and also did a reboot... still no input.
    Just a guess on my part: Perhaps you need to load the hp-wmi module (hotkey support)?

    Code:
    modprobe hp-wmi
    If that works then instructions can be given on how to load it on boot.

    For the record, I actually found that it wasn't playing nicely with my wireless hardware after I installed openSUSE 13.1, and so I have blacklisted it. (My laptop is a Compaq 6710b.)

  9. #9

    Default Re: HP WiFi toggle button not working

    Just a guess on my part: Perhaps you need to load the hp-wmi module (hotkey support)?
    When I run modprobe hp-wmi nothing is displayed.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    23,893
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: HP WiFi toggle button not working

    Quote Originally Posted by bogdanc2011 View Post
    When I run modprobe hp-wmi nothing is displayed.
    Nothing will be returned from the console, but you can then check if the module is loaded with
    Code:
    lsmod|grep wmi
    Does it bring the wireless key to life? If not, just remove it again with
    Code:
    modprobe -r hp-wmi
    or reboot.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •