Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: using zynaddsubfx(synth) mouse click ok, keyboard seems to repeat

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Northeast US
    Posts
    116

    Default using zynaddsubfx(synth) mouse click ok, keyboard seems to repeat

    Hi,

    I have been toying with zynaddsubfx software synth recently, and having alot of fun. Unfortunately, just yesterday I wanted to try to do a screen recording of the tweaking of the knobs. Now it seems that when I use the keyboard to trigger the synth, I get a signal from the keyboard that it is repeating. Like when you hold down a key, in a text entry box, but rather, the synth continues to repeat... The thing that I suspect is that I after I installed simplescreenrecorder, the problem seemed to arise. I tried removing it,
    Code:
    sudo zypper remove simplescreenrecorder
    , but the problem is still there. I tried installing a few screen recorders at that time; vokorecorder, xfce4-screenshooter.. and then some other stuff to try and play the movie that I recorded using simplescreenrecorder. I installed mplayer because vlc didn't seem to like the matroska codec/container (mkv). After all, I have not succeeded in recording with sound, and the synth is not working properly anymore. I just installed all the updates and checked again, same problem. I am at a loss although I think it is something basic with Xwindows, that was changed through installing something. Where to find that I don't know. Thanks for any help.
    Gnome 3.10.2,
    X version info below (X ORG X Server 1.14.3.901),
    openSUSE 13.1 (Bottle) (x86_64) 64-bit...
    just installed zynaddsubfx and simplescreenrecorder,
    so they should be new.
    a5'

    I have been using kind of a awkward setup, getting the signal(audio) through ardour, although the same happens with qtractor. So my setup is to:

    - start ardour

    add track

    - start zynaddsubfx

    - set the input for ardour to zynaddsubfx (track 1)

    arm track for recording

    set monitor to --ardour does monitoring

    - go back to the virtual keyboard for zynaddsubfx

    press keys with mouse (works)

    try keyboard (after a few seconds, gets a repeating trigger)



    http://zynaddsubfx.sourceforge.net/


    http://software.opensuse.org/package...earch_term=zyn


    http://www.maartenbaert.be/simplescreenrecorder/

    http://packman.links2linux.org/packa...screenrecorder



    Code:
    X -version
    
    
    This is a pre-release version of the X server from The X.Org Foundation.
    It is not supported in any way.
    Bugs may be filed in the bugzilla at http://bugs.freedesktop.org/.
    Select the "xorg" product for bugs you find in this release.
    Before reporting bugs in pre-release versions please check the
    latest version in the X.Org Foundation git repository.
    See http://wiki.x.org/wiki/GitPage for git access instructions.
    
    X.Org X Server 1.14.3.901 (1.14.4 RC 1)
    Release Date: 2013-10-26
    X Protocol Version 11, Revision 0
    Build Operating System: openSUSE SUSE LINUX
    Current Operating System: Linux res-cmts 3.11.10-7-desktop #1 SMP PREEMPT Mon Feb 3 09:41:24 UTC 2014 (750023e) x86_64
    Kernel command line: BOOT_IMAGE=/boot/vmlinuz-3.11.10-7-desktop root=UUID=a3f1aed2-d4ae-448c-957f-3274f9853c37 resume=/dev/disk/by-id/ata-ST2000DM001-9YN164_W2404L3F-part1 splash=silent quiet showopts vga=0x31a
    Build Date: 19 December 2013  01:42:00PM
     
    Current version of pixman: 0.30.2
            Before reporting problems, check http://wiki.x.org
            to make sure that you have the latest version.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Northeast US
    Posts
    116

    Default Re: using zynaddsubfx(synth) mouse click ok, keyboard seems to repeat

    havn't fixed the problem but have a workable solution.
    settings-->keyboard-->typing-->(disable)key presses repeat when key is held

    also I saw in the same dialog that
    Shift + Ctrl + Alt + R
    starts screencast.

    Second thought, I will have to enable/disable this every time I use the synth.
    workable I think.

    a5'

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Northeast US
    Posts
    116

    Default Re: using zynaddsubfx(synth) mouse click ok, keyboard seems to repeat

    Hello,

    I noticed that the packaged version of zynaddsubfx is older than the newest version. Perhaps it will help me to upgrade.

    -Help with git-----please move if this is in the wrong forum.

    I would like to try to use git to update it but am unsure if I can do that. Does one upgrade a package installed with zypper through git or just remove the current package and 'checkout' the newest version? Is the sequence of commands as simple as;

    (taken from http://zynaddsubfx.sourceforge.net/D...ng_zynaddsubfx)
    Code:
    git clone git://git.code.sf/p/zynaddsubfx/code zynaddsubfx
    cd zynaddsubfx
    
    mkdir build
    cd build
    cmake ..
    cmake .
    make


    Current News

    Version 2.4.3 (Jul 15, 2012)


    • Non-session manager support
    • Midi aftertouch support
    • More sane IO defaults
    • Misc bug fixes

    Old news

    Version 2.4.2 Release (Feb 26, 2012)


    • New IO backend suport
    • MIDI bank select
    • Spike/Circle waveform
    • Faster subsynth
    • --exec-after-init flag
    • version information compiled in
    • Misc bug fixes

    Version 2.4.1 Release (Jun 27, 2010)


    • merging APhaser into Phaser
    • other bugfixes
    • code cleanup

    Information for package ZynAddSubFX:
    ------------------------------------
    Repository: mulitmedia-apps-openSUSE_13.1
    Name: ZynAddSubFX
    Version: 2.4.1-22.24
    Arch: x86_64

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    32,342
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: using zynaddsubfx(synth) mouse click ok, keyboard seems torepeat

    On Tue 22 Apr 2014 12:26:02 PM CDT, a59303 wrote:


    Hello,

    I noticed that the packaged version of zynaddsubfx is older than the
    newest version. Perhaps it will help me to upgrade.
    Hi
    Why not just ask the maintainer to update (as in send them an email)?
    https://build.opensuse.org/package/u...ps/ZynAddSubFX

    --
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    openSUSE 13.1 (Bottle) (x86_64) GNOME 3.10.1 Kernel 3.11.10-7-desktop
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!


  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Northeast US
    Posts
    116

    Default Re: using zynaddsubfx(synth) mouse click ok, keyboard seems to repeat

    Thats a great idea. To be honest though I was hoping to get my feet wet with git, and this is a oportunity.
    Also I would rather do it myself. If its very difficult then I will do that.


    thanks,

    a5'

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    32,342
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: using zynaddsubfx(synth) mouse click ok, keyboard seems torepeat

    On Tue 22 Apr 2014 02:46:01 PM CDT, a59303 wrote:


    Thats a great idea. To be honest though I was hoping to get my feet wet
    with git, and this is a oportunity.
    Also I would rather do it myself. If its very difficult then I will do
    that.


    thanks,

    a5'


    Hi
    Well the instructions given will work, you will need to install the
    devel(opment) packages to build.

    However, is you look at the spec file;
    https://build.opensuse.org/package/v....spec?expand=1
    There are additional tweaks (and some patches[may be obsolete with the
    new version]) before building that should be looked into as well.

    --
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    openSUSE 13.1 (Bottle) (x86_64) GNOME 3.10.1 Kernel 3.11.10-7-desktop
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!


  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Northeast US
    Posts
    116

    Default Re: using zynaddsubfx(synth) mouse click ok, keyboard seems to repeat

    Hi
    Well the instructions given will work, you will need to install the
    devel(opment) packages to build.

    However, is you look at the spec file;
    https://build.opensuse.org/package/v....spec?expand=1
    There are additional tweaks (and some patches[may be obsolete with the
    new version]) before building that should be looked into as well.

    --
    So are you saying I should not even remove the existing installation... or would it be better to start from scratch (with zynaddsubfx), while investigating the tweaks you mentioned?

    Thanks,

    a5'

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    32,342
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: using zynaddsubfx(synth) mouse click ok, keyboard seems torepeat

    On Tue 22 Apr 2014 03:16:02 PM CDT, a59303 wrote:


    > Hi
    > Well the instructions given will work, you will need to install the
    > devel(opment) packages to build.
    >
    > However, is you look at the spec file;
    > 'https://build.opensuse.org/package/v....spec?expand=1'
    > (http://tinyurl.com/klfcvla)
    > There are additional tweaks (and some patches[may be obsolete with the
    > new version]) before building that should be looked into as well.
    >
    > --


    So are you saying I should not even remove the existing installation...
    or would it be better to start from scratch (with zynaddsubfx), while
    investigating the tweaks you mentioned?

    Thanks,

    a5'


    Hi
    I would remove the existing install, then build and install just to be
    sure.

    --
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    openSUSE 13.1 (Bottle) (x86_64) GNOME 3.10.1 Kernel 3.11.10-7-desktop
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!


  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Northeast US
    Posts
    116

    Default Re: using zynaddsubfx(synth) mouse click ok, keyboard seems to repeat

    great, I will try to move it along.

    Thank You very much,

    a5'

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sogndal, Noreg
    Posts
    1,103

    Default Re: using zynaddsubfx(synth) mouse click ok, keyboard seems to repeat

    Hello!

    Beside the point but have you tried Yoshimi? http://software.opensuse.org/package/yoshimi
    I saw you had set ZynAddSubFX up with Ardour, hence JACK, so Yoshimi might be a better solution overall.

    ZynAddSubbFX works fine on my system, however; I usually use it with a MIDI synth, but the keyboard (the one I type on this instance) works just as fine.
    OpenSuSE 13.1, KDE 4.11.5, 64bit
    Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3, AMD FX8350, MSI GeForce GTX 760, RME HDSP9632, 16GB HyperX Kingston DDR3, Samsung 840-Pro SSD 128GB, WD Desktop Black 1TB, Hitachi Deskstar 7K1000 750GB

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •