Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 32

Thread: Can't update 13.2 milestone 0

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    24

    Default Can't update 13.2 milestone 0

    I can't seem to figure out how to update my install or there's no updates (not likely).

    I tried using Yast but it never shows any updates except two test updates which cause Yast to close as soon as I try and run them.

    I also tried sudo zypper refresh : sudo zypper up but nothing is listed. the repos seem to point to 13.2.
    am I missing something?

    TIA

  2. #2

    Default Re: Can't update 13.2 milestone 0

    Quote Originally Posted by LKJ View Post
    I can't seem to figure out how to update my install or there's no updates (not likely).

    I tried using Yast but it never shows any updates except two test updates which cause Yast to close as soon as I try and run them.

    I also tried sudo zypper refresh : sudo zypper up but nothing is listed. the repos seem to point to 13.2.
    am I missing something?

    TIA
    Well, Milestone0 is still the latest 13.2 snapshot. There are no updates yet (until Milestone1 is released).

    If you want to follow the development, you have to add the Factory repo instead of the 13.2 ones:
    http://download.opensuse.org/factory/repo/oss/suse/

    Regarding YaST crashing, this is most likely this bug:
    https://bugzilla.novell.com/show_bug.cgi?id=866692

    Uninstall libproxy1-config-kde4 and YaST should work.
    Last edited by wolfi323; 18-Apr-2014 at 05:36.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    24

    Default Re: Can't update 13.2 milestone 0

    Quote Originally Posted by wolfi323 View Post
    Well, Milestone0 is still the latest 13.2 snapshot. There are no updates yet (until Milestone1 is released).

    If you want to follow the development, you have to add the Factory repo instead of the 13.2 ones:
    http://download.opensuse.org/factory/repo/oss/suse/

    Regarding YaST crashing, this is most likely this bug:
    https://bugzilla.novell.com/show_bug.cgi?id=866692

    Uninstall libproxy1-config-kde4 and YaST should work.
    well that makes sense. I'll review the info and see what I want to do.

    I'll have to look but I didn't install KDE but I will look for the package when I can and remove it and see what happens.

    thanks for the info.

  4. #4

    Default Re: Can't update 13.2 milestone 0

    Quote Originally Posted by LKJ View Post
    I'll have to look but I didn't install KDE but I will look for the package when I can and remove it and see what happens.
    Well, that bug applies to the Qt version of YaST only, as I said it is a conflict between Qt4 (used by libproxy1-config-kde4) and Qt5 (used by YaST). It shouldn't matter whether you have KDE installed or not.

    But if you are using YaST's Gtk interface, I don't know. I haven't tried that one yet.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    24

    Default Re: Can't update 13.2 milestone 0

    the only libproxy1-conf package that is installed is for gnome3 and I'm running xfce. the only thing that was qt related was Yast2-qt branding which I removed

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    3,392
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Can't update 13.2 milestone 0

    On 2014-04-18 12:26 (GMT) LKJ composed:

    > I can't seem to figure out how to update my install or there's no
    > updates (not likely).


    > I tried using Yast but it never shows any updates except two test
    > updates which cause Yast to close as soon as I try and run them.
    >
    > I also tried sudo zypper refresh : sudo zypper up but nothing is listed.
    > the repos seem to point to 13.2.
    > am I missing something?


    Factory repos have been in poor state for a few days. I'd put off trying to
    update until the full set of kernels for 32 bit are all available again, e.g.
    kernel-desktop currently AWOL.
    --

    Team OS/2 ** Reg. Linux User #211409 ** a11y rocks!

    Felix Miata *** http://fm.no-ip.com/
    Last edited by malcolmlewis; 21-Jul-2014 at 20:22.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    24

    Default Re: Can't update 13.2 milestone 0

    I had decided not to utilize the factory repos but thank you for the information.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Can't update 13.2 milestone 0

    On 2014-04-19 12:36, LKJ wrote:
    >
    > I had decided not to utilize the factory repos but thank you for the
    > information.


    But you ARE using Factory! 13.2 is factory.


    Factory, that is, 13.2 (during mid year 2014), will not see a "normal"
    update for many months, probably till after release, and sometimes just
    a bit before release, with the release candidates (RC1 and 2). What you
    will see all the time are those test update packages, which are intended
    so that you test that update works - not to do real updates.

    Factory is not updated via YOU, or zypper patch, not even zypper up.
    Factory, that is, 13.2, has to be mandatorily updated using "zypper dup"
    only.

    Or, you can use a module in YaST named "Factory Update". If it works -
    I've never used it.

    Because remember, you ARE using Factory.
    Welcome to Factory testing! :-))

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" at Telcontar)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    24

    Default Re: Can't update 13.2 milestone 0

    I see well, thank you

  10. #10

    Default Re: Can't update 13.2 milestone 0

    Quote Originally Posted by robin_listas View Post
    On 2014-04-19 12:36, LKJ wrote:
    >
    > I had decided not to utilize the factory repos but thank you for the
    > information.


    But you ARE using Factory! 13.2 is factory.

    Factory, that is, 13.2 (during mid year 2014), will not see a "normal"
    update for many months, probably till after release, and sometimes just
    a bit before release, with the release candidates (RC1 and 2).
    That's not quite true.

    There is the Factory repo, and there are 13.2 repos (which are 13.2 Milestone0 at the moment).

    Factory is updated all the time, and you should get updates even with "zypper up", as normally the new packages would have a higher version/revision.
    It is of course recommended to use "zypper dup" with Factory, but even "zypper up" should show at least most updates.

    But the 13.2 repos are a _snapshot_ of Factory at a certain point in time.
    The 13.2 repos won't change at all until the next snapshot of Factory is taken and moved there, which will be called 13.2 Milestone1 then.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •