Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Ardour Jack realtime

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    347

    Default Ardour Jack realtime

    Hi
    I am running 13.1 on an AMD 4 core. I installed all the latest "jack" software.
    Down loaded Ardour, installed it, the only warning masg I got was something like "that system is running variable CPU frequency.
    When starting Ardour, specifying the output file and click ok the MSG comes up

    [ERROR]: JACK:Cannot use real-time scheduling (RR/5)(1 Operation not permitted)
    [ERROR]: JACK:jackclient::AquireSelfRealTime error

    Any idea to overcome this ?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5,500

    Default Re: Ardour Jack realtime

    I wonder if this could be a memory allocation issue? See this short thread for a much earlier release, where the OP posting included your error message, and I also posted there my /etc/security/limits.conf additions which I have always needed for jack, up to and including openSUSE 13.1 (but not using Ardour). Note the solution found by the OP in post #5:

    https://forums.opensuse.org/showthre...llocate-memory
    Leap 42.3 (ext4, KDE Plasma 5.8.7) ~ stable
    Manjaro (ext4, Xfce) ~ rolling updates
    Tumbleweed (ext4, KDE Plasma5) ~ managed updates via "Tumbleweed Snapshots" service.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sogndal, Noreg
    Posts
    1,103

    Default Re: Ardour Jack realtime

    Hello.

    The variable cpu frequency warning is related to the cpu's 'on demand' status, I expect; so, this warns you that you will get x-runs (drop outs) if you don't change that status.
    It is not the reason why JACK doesn't start though.

    Have you set up a limits.conf file as consused mentioned?
    Are you the user in the 'audio' group?
    Do you use PulseAudio?

    Also, there are limits to response time on audio-devices so if you have set the latency too low (below 5ms on some) it may refuse to start. I don't know if you use QJackCtl, if you don't I would recommend playing around with it to test for settings which work for you.
    OpenSuSE 13.1, KDE 4.11.5, 64bit
    Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3, AMD FX8350, MSI GeForce GTX 760, RME HDSP9632, 16GB HyperX Kingston DDR3, Samsung 840-Pro SSD 128GB, WD Desktop Black 1TB, Hitachi Deskstar 7K1000 750GB

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5,500

    Default Re: Ardour Jack realtime

    Quote Originally Posted by F_Sauce View Post
    Have you set up a limits.conf file as consused mentioned?
    Are you the user in the 'audio' group?
    Do you use PulseAudio?
    Yes, the audio group is also specified as the domain of "@audio" for each limit line added to /etc/security/limits.conf, as shown in that thread link provided.

    If PulseAudio is enabled, it can be disabled when jackd is started using qjackctl > Setup... > Settings tab, and entering "pasuspender -- jackd" (not the quote marks) in the "Server Prefix" input field under "Parameters".

    That works for me on 13.1. However when jackd is terminated, I have to restart PulseAudio but that may be as a result of running Tumbleweed here. It wasn't always the case.
    Leap 42.3 (ext4, KDE Plasma 5.8.7) ~ stable
    Manjaro (ext4, Xfce) ~ rolling updates
    Tumbleweed (ext4, KDE Plasma5) ~ managed updates via "Tumbleweed Snapshots" service.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    347

    Default Re: Ardour Jack realtime

    Hi

    I added the user to the "audio" user-group and edited "limits.conf" as recommended !

    Many thanks guys .... Ardour starts up without any error msg ... great !

    Just wonder what else I am going to run into

    Cheers
    otto_oz

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sogndal, Noreg
    Posts
    1,103

    Default Re: Ardour Jack realtime

    Quote Originally Posted by otto_oz View Post
    Just wonder what else I am going to run into

    Probably into quite a variety of topics, but you should be fine.
    http://wiki.linuxaudio.org/wiki/system_configuration
    http://linuxmusicians.com/index.php

    What do you plan to do with Ardour: recording, composing ...?
    OpenSuSE 13.1, KDE 4.11.5, 64bit
    Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3, AMD FX8350, MSI GeForce GTX 760, RME HDSP9632, 16GB HyperX Kingston DDR3, Samsung 840-Pro SSD 128GB, WD Desktop Black 1TB, Hitachi Deskstar 7K1000 750GB

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    347

    Default Re: Ardour Jack realtime

    What do you plan to do with Ardour: recording, composing ...?
    I wrote a song and would like to sound it a bit more professional by eg. adding a bass line via midi. Just plainly recording it, guitar and voice does not make it. I wrote some other lyrics and want to compose a melodies for it.

    cheers

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sogndal, Noreg
    Posts
    1,103

    Default Re: Ardour Jack realtime

    Quote Originally Posted by otto_oz View Post
    I wrote a song and would like to sound it a bit more professional by eg. adding a bass line via midi. Just plainly recording it, guitar and voice does not make it. I wrote some other lyrics and want to compose a melodies for it.

    cheers
    All right, good luck


    Cheers,
    Olav
    OpenSuSE 13.1, KDE 4.11.5, 64bit
    Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3, AMD FX8350, MSI GeForce GTX 760, RME HDSP9632, 16GB HyperX Kingston DDR3, Samsung 840-Pro SSD 128GB, WD Desktop Black 1TB, Hitachi Deskstar 7K1000 750GB

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •