Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Weird Panel Tool Box Error

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    472

    Default Weird Panel Tool Box Error

    Hi,

    You may see a screenshot of the display error I get (openSUSE 13.1, KDE) HERE

    I see a weird Desktop thumbnail to the center of the bottom panel where all windows get minimized. You can see it on the screenshot if you zoom on it. It shouldn't be there.
    Can you please advise?

    Thank you.
    Reliable + rider = RiDeR PlUs
    ...if you find this helpful, click on the star below...
    +-+ +-+
    |r| |+|
    +-+ +-+

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Mangfall, Germany
    Posts
    1,505

    Default Re: Weird Panel Tool Box Error

    hi,

    looks like the cashew

    if the mouse is placed over the top of it,
    it can be moved to somewhere more convenient

    hth

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    12,880
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: Weird Panel Tool Box Error

    Quote Originally Posted by riderplus View Post
    I see a weird Desktop thumbnail to the center of the bottom panel where all windows get minimized.
    I'm not sure which one you are referring to.

    Someone mentioned the cashew, but that's to the right. Incidentally, I usually don't see the cashew, probably because I lock widgets.

    The one to the right of the speaker is NetworkManager. To the left of the speaker I see "us", and I have no idea what that is.

    Perhaps a little more detail on what you are asking about.
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5;
    testing Leap 15.2Alpha

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    472

    Default Re: Weird Panel Tool Box Error

    Quote Originally Posted by nrickert View Post
    I'm not sure which one you are referring to.

    Someone mentioned the cashew, but that's to the right. Incidentally, I usually don't see the cashew, probably because I lock widgets.

    The one to the right of the speaker is NetworkManager. To the left of the speaker I see "us", and I have no idea what that is.

    Perhaps a little more detail on what you are asking about.
    No, that's not it...just have a look at the panel...between the Dolphin icon (to the left of the picture, to the right of the Chromium icon) and the Audacious icon ... in the center of the panel you can see a shadowed "Desktop". It can't be seen very clearly, it's like a shadow.
    Reliable + rider = RiDeR PlUs
    ...if you find this helpful, click on the star below...
    +-+ +-+
    |r| |+|
    +-+ +-+

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,769

    Default Re: Weird Panel Tool Box Error

    looks like a second desktop. What happens if you click it

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    12,880
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: Weird Panel Tool Box Error

    Quote Originally Posted by riderplus View Post
    No, that's not it...just have a look at the panel...between the Dolphin icon (to the left of the picture, to the right of the Chromium icon) and the Audacious icon ... in the center of the panel you can see a shadowed "Desktop". It can't be seen very clearly, it's like a shadow.
    That's so faint, I didn't see it the first time.

    Is it possible that it's an artifact (something due to your video driver)?

    Added in edit: It looks exactly like what I see as the toolbox icon at the top right of my screen.
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5;
    testing Leap 15.2Alpha

  7. #7

    Default Re: Weird Panel Tool Box Error

    Yes, this is indeed the desktop's cashew, i.e. toolbox icon. It depicts the name of the used activity.

    Apparently you dragged it below the panel.
    Drag it to somewhere else as already suggested.

    If the panel hinders you in dragging it, move the panel to a different screen edge temporarily, by clicking on the panel's toolbox icon (on the extreme right) and click-dragging on "Screen Edge" next to "Height".

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    472

    Default Re: Weird Panel Tool Box Error

    Quote Originally Posted by wolfi323 View Post
    Yes, this is indeed the desktop's cashew, i.e. toolbox icon. It depicts the name of the used activity.

    Apparently you dragged it below the panel.
    Drag it to somewhere else as already suggested.

    If the panel hinders you in dragging it, move the panel to a different screen edge temporarily, by clicking on the panel's toolbox icon (on the extreme right) and click-dragging on "Screen Edge" next to "Height".
    That was it, great advice, thank you, guys!
    Reliable + rider = RiDeR PlUs
    ...if you find this helpful, click on the star below...
    +-+ +-+
    |r| |+|
    +-+ +-+

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •