Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: LDAP client configuration using Commands

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    India
    Posts
    332

    Default LDAP client configuration using Commands

    Hi everyone,


    Using OpenSUSE 12.3 with XFCE DE. I have configured LDAP server on centos and everything is working fine. Now I have added opensuse machine to domain through yast. But I would like to know to add to domain through command line.

    Thank You all.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    29,803

    Default Re: LDAP client configuration using Commands

    I am not an LDAP user, but when I want to know how to do things on Linux, I normaly start searching for configuration files in /etc which have names that look applicable and for man pages. I see e.g man pages for lpdapmodify, lpadadd, alltohether about 12 man pages. One is btw about lpdap.conf, looks like we have at least found the (not illogical) name of a configuration file.

    HTH in starting this (and many other) searches for information on Unix/Linux systems.
    Henk van Velden

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    India
    Posts
    332

    Default Re: LDAP client configuration using Commands

    Quote Originally Posted by hcvv View Post
    I am not an LDAP user, but when I want to know how to do things on Linux, I normaly start searching for configuration files in /etc which have names that look applicable and for man pages. I see e.g man pages for lpdapmodify, lpadadd, alltohether about 12 man pages. One is btw about lpdap.conf, looks like we have at least found the (not illogical) name of a configuration file.

    HTH in starting this (and many other) searches for information on Unix/Linux systems.
    Thanks for that hint HCVV . I will check that and please let me know if there is a way to know which file are modified by the yast configuration.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    29,803

    Default Re: LDAP client configuration using Commands

    I can not tell you what YaST does change. It willl probably change the confifuration file(s) used ny LDAP, but in general, when you configure a server program (deamon) with YaST and tell it ti run, it will also change the systemd configuration and do the systemctl commands to see that it is started now and on boot. It will, when needed, also open ports in the Firewall. A system management tool like YaST is there to take care of all the aspects you, human system administrator as you are, should know, but are likely to forget to do now and then.
    The negative side effect of this is of course that people only use YaST and do not even know or care what is happening behind the scenes.

    But YaST logs things. Look in /var/log/YaST2 for files like y2log.
    You could e.g. chevk that log file before and after you do a particular action with YaST, to see what loging is added.
    Henk van Velden

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    India
    Posts
    332

    Default Re: LDAP client configuration using Commands

    Is there any other gui tool other than yast for configuring ldap client

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    India
    Posts
    332

    Default Re: LDAP client configuration using Commands

    Any help please?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    29,803

    Default Re: LDAP client configuration using Commands

    It is now not very clear what you want. Your question was how to configure the LDAP client using the CLI. Now you ask for a GUI, but it has better not to be YaST. What are you after?

    While the title of your thread still asks for a CLI solution, not many people will see that you changed your question. Thus asking for "Any help please" is a bit useless.

    Maybe you should switch from only asking some minor detail into telling what you want to achieve, what you did until now to reach that goal and where you are stuck. That will make it easier for people to follow your strain of thoughts and to try to walk to a solution, maybe even along a very different path then your are trying to walk. That is known as "Describe the goal, not the step: http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html#goal.
    Henk van Velden

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    India
    Posts
    332

    Default Re: LDAP client configuration using Commands

    Actually my title indicates that I would like to know the command line procedure to configure ldap client. As you have suggested me to try the ldap configuration files in /etc/ I have tried changing the files in /etc/ and /etc/openldap/ but it is not working.


    I have asked of another GUI tool because YAST has been removed from the OS in our labs.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    29,803

    Default Re: LDAP client configuration using Commands

    Quote Originally Posted by nishanth9042 View Post
    Actually my title indicates that I would like to know the command line procedure to configure ldap client. As you have suggested me to try the ldap configuration files in /etc/ I have tried changing the files in /etc/ and /etc/openldap/ but it is not working.
    Thus you tried to interprete the man page(s) and then tried a configuration but not to your satisfaction.
    My advice would be to start a new thread, with a good title (that will lure LDAP gurus) and then make a good description of your problem, with much more details then you did here. What is your goal, what did you do until now, what did you expect to happen, what happened instead. Saying "it is not working" is not better then posting nothing at all.

    Quote Originally Posted by nishanth9042 View Post
    I have asked of another GUI tool because YAST has been removed from the OS in our labs.
    When "the powers that be" over there decided that YaST shouldn't be on the system, they most probably will not like it when someone installs another system management GUI tool. I do not even understand that you know the root password and can walk around and change at your will in the system. Strange policy over there. But when you have the root password, you can of course install YaST, do your configuration and deinstall YaST.

    But do not tell them that that was my advice
    Henk van Velden

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    India
    Posts
    332

    Default Re: LDAP client configuration using Commands

    K thanks for the reply

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •