Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: I have no sound after upgrading from 12.2 to 13.1

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Akron/Canton Ohio
    Posts
    238

    Default I have no sound after upgrading from 12.2 to 13.1

    2 days ago I upgraded to 13.1 from 12.2. After the upgrade I lost my internet connection. Got that problem solved yesterday. Today I find no sound. I am frustrated to say the least. I have tried turning off pulse sound, but that did not help. I also did the one click install that automatically installs the most popular codecs, but that did not solve my problem. Do all distributions of Linux suffer these types of birthing pains? Can anyone help get me started on the right track for getting sound? Thanks. The built-in sound card is HMDI compatible.
    John

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,109
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: I have no sound after upgrading from 12.2 to 13.1

    Quote Originally Posted by jdcart15 View Post
    2 days ago I upgraded to 13.1 from 12.2. After the upgrade I lost my internet connection. Got that problem solved yesterday. Today I find no sound. I am frustrated to say the least. I have tried turning off pulse sound, but that did not help. I also did the one click install that automatically installs the most popular codecs, but that did not solve my problem.
    Please, with your PC connected to the Internet, can you open a konsole / terminal and send the following command to run a diagnostic script (that will provide more information) :
    Code:
    /usr/sbin/alsa-info.sh
    Select the SHARE/UPLOAD option. Run the script to completion. The script will upload your PC's hardware/software audio config to the web, and when the script completes it will give you a URL/web-address where the uploaded information is located.

    Please copy that web-address and post it here so we can examine the audio configuration on your PC.

    Also, if you create a NEW user, does that new user have the same audio problem ?

    Quote Originally Posted by jdcart15 View Post
    Do all distributions of Linux suffer these types of birthing pains? Can anyone help get me started on the right track for getting sound? Thanks. The built-in sound card is HMDI compatible.
    Are you trying to use the HDMI ?

    Sound has always worked well for me on openSUSE. Sorry to read of your frustrations.

    Hopefully we can sort this together.

    Good luck and thankyou for participating on our forum.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Akron/Canton Ohio
    Posts
    238

    Default Re: I have no sound after upgrading from 12.2 to 13.1

    Thank you for your help Oldpc


    Here is the output:

    http://www.alsa-project.org/db/?f=ff...037b1cf2c0e189


    I will create a new user and get back soon. Again I appreciate the help that you can give me. Thanks.

    I simply have the output from center bass jack going into a standard Onkyo 2 channel stereo amplifier.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Akron/Canton Ohio
    Posts
    238

    Default Re: I have no sound after upgrading from 12.2 to 13.1

    I created a new user and that did not make a difference

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,109
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: I have no sound after upgrading from 12.2 to 13.1

    Quote Originally Posted by jdcart15 View Post
    I simply have the output from center bass jack going into a standard Onkyo 2 channel stereo amplifier.
    I don't understand this statement. Are you saying you only connected the bass output and no other outputs ?

    That reads to be incorrect to me < puzzled >

    any way ... looking at the script ...
    Quote Originally Posted by jdcart15 View Post
    I assume you have double checked the speaker cabling in your PC (I'm assuming it a desktop). Your comment about center bass creates serious doubt in my mind.

    Anyway .... I note that your audio hardware is either hw:0,0 (analog) or hw:0,1 (digital). Your HDMI device is hw:1,3. My assumption is you are trying to use analog audio (hw:0,0).

    Code:
    !!Aplay/Arecord output
    !!--------------------
    
    APLAY
    
    **** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
    card 0: SB [HDA ATI SB], device 0: ALC892 Analog [ALC892 Analog]
      Subdevices: 1/1
      Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    card 0: SB [HDA ATI SB], device 1: ALC892 Digital [ALC892 Digital]
      Subdevices: 1/1
      Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    card 1: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
      Subdevices: 1/1
      Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    Here are some of your mixer's control settings:
    Code:
    Simple mixer control 'Surround',0
      Capabilities: pvolume pswitch
      Playback channels: Front Left - Front Right
      Limits: Playback 0 - 64
      Mono:
      Front Left: Playback 0 [0%] [-64.00dB] [off]
      Front Right: Playback 0 [0%] [-64.00dB] [off]
    Simple mixer control 'Center',0
      Capabilities: pvolume pvolume-joined pswitch pswitch-joined
      Playback channels: Mono
      Limits: Playback 0 - 64
      Mono: Playback 0 [0%] [-64.00dB] [off]
    Simple mixer control 'LFE',0
      Capabilities: pvolume pvolume-joined pswitch pswitch-joined
      Playback channels: Mono
      Limits: Playback 0 - 64
      Mono: Playback 0 [0%] [-64.00dB] [off]
    Simple mixer control 'Side',0
      Capabilities: pvolume pswitch
      Playback channels: Front Left - Front Right
      Limits: Playback 0 - 64
      Mono:
      Front Left: Playback 0 [0%] [-64.00dB] [off]
      Front Right: Playback 0 [0%] [-64.00dB] [off]
    Simple mixer control 'Auto-Mute Mode',0
      Capabilities: enum
      Items: 'Disabled' 'Enabled'
      Item0: 'Enabled'
    I can't see anything obvious misconfigured in your PC, unless your desktop is configured for surround sound. I note surround sound switched OFF.

    Try unmuteing the Center and LFE and side and move up those volume controls.

    Also try to Disable the auto mute.

    Try these test commands on at a time in a terminal as both a regular user, and also with root permissions:
    Code:
    speaker-test -c2 -D hw:1,0 -l3 -twav
    speaker-test -c4 -D hw:1,0 -l3 -twav
    speaker-test -c6 -D hw:1,0 -l3 -twav
    aplay -vv somewavefile.wav
    ... where somewavefile.wav is a .wav file that you KNOW works ok.


    I note this wrt the dmesg:
    Code:
    [    4.053231] ALSA patch_realtek.c:490 realtek: No valid SSID, checking pincfg 0x4005e601 for NID 0x1d
    That suggests there was difficulty in checking the alc892.

    If worst comes to worst we can try forcing an alsa configuration, where this may be the HD-Audio-Models.txt listing for your PC:
    Code:
    ALC66x/67x/892
    ==============
      mario            Chromebook mario model fixup
      asus-mode1        ASUS
      asus-mode2        ASUS
      asus-mode3        ASUS
      asus-mode4        ASUS
      asus-mode5        ASUS
      asus-mode6        ASUS
      asus-mode7        ASUS
      asus-mode8        ASUS
      inv-dmic        Inverted internal mic workaround
      dell-headset-multi    Headset jack, which can also be used as mic-in
    but first try the suggestions I already gave.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Akron/Canton Ohio
    Posts
    238

    Default Re: I have no sound after upgrading from 12.2 to 13.1

    http://www.manualslib.com/manual/415...page=40#manual


    This link gives my motherboard manual. I hooked it up to my 2 channel standard stereo with both speakers going into the orange jack. That was the only way I could get sound using those jacks. In 12.2 it worked perfectly. I had hi-fidelity mono sound. That was good enough for me. I think that I am going to disable the HMDI and just go with a standard 2 channel sound card. I probably have a PCI sound card laying around here someplace from years gone by. I just want some good sound, I do not really care about the HMDI.


    I tried all the other motherboard jacks with a single cable to a stereo channel and still had no sound.

    I appreciate your help. Thanks.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,109
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: I have no sound after upgrading from 12.2 to 13.1

    Quote Originally Posted by jdcart15 View Post
    http://www.manualslib.com/manual/415...page=40#manual


    This link gives my motherboard manual. I hooked it up to my 2 channel standard stereo with both speakers going into the orange jack.
    What am I reading wrong in that sketch ? From what I see, 2 channel sound should go to the green and not the orange jack.

    Quote Originally Posted by jdcart15 View Post
    I think that I am going to disable the HMDI and just go with a standard 2 channel sound card. I probably have a PCI sound card laying around here someplace from years gone by. I just want some good sound, I do not really care about the HMDI.
    Why are you mentioning the HMDI ?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,109
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: I have no sound after upgrading from 12.2 to 13.1

    Quote Originally Posted by oldcpu View Post
    Try these test commands on at a time in a terminal as both a regular user, and also with root permissions:
    Code:
    speaker-test -c2 -D hw:1,0 -l3 -twav
    speaker-test -c4 -D hw:1,0 -l3 -twav
    speaker-test -c6 -D hw:1,0 -l3 -twav
    aplay -vv somewavefile.wav
    ... where somewavefile.wav is a .wav file that you KNOW works ok.
    The above is a copy and paste mistake error of mine, when copying from my PC. Instead for 2 channel try
    Code:
    speaker-test -c2 -D hw:0,0 -l3 -twav
    aplay -vv somewavefile.wav

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Akron/Canton Ohio
    Posts
    238

    Default Re: I have no sound after upgrading from 12.2 to 13.1

    Hi. Thanks for the response. Yes. I agree it looks like the green jack should function into a standard 2 channel. But it does not. I mention HMDI, because it and surround sound usually go together. Maybe one needs a surround amplifier for the green jack to function. All I know. is that nothing I did could produce sound from that green jack. Anyway, to make a long story short, I installed one of my sound cards that I used a few years ago and actually almost tossed in the trash. It fired right up. I now have good hi-fi stereo sound, and that is all I really care about. I truly appreciate your input. Thanks. I am happy.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Akron/Canton Ohio
    Posts
    238

    Default Re: I have no sound after upgrading from 12.2 to 13.1

    Well we can ignore previous post. After turning off the machine and rebooting. I lost sound even on the newly installed sound card. Same symptoms as with the previous card. So there is something about 13.1 that is not working correctly. I will pick up tomorrow as I have spent hours on this problem. Again, switching users did not help.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •