Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Partition problem

Default Partition problem

Hi, I have a machine with the follwoing specifications:

1 TB HDD
    intel core i7 1.8 GHz
    8 GB RAM

I've installed Windows 7 on it and would like to dual boot openSuse 13.1 with Windows 7. I'm totally new to opensuse, so bare with me:

I have three partitions on my HDD:

System Reserved 100 MB NTFS ( System, Active, Primary Partition)
    C: 465.66 GB NTFS (Boot,Page File, Crash Dump, Primary Partition)
    D: 465.75 GB NTFS (Primary Partition)

according to installation guide, I should shrink a windows partition in order to make room for opensuse, so I shrunk D entirely (I want opensuse to have half the HDD) and now there was 465.75 GB of unallocated space ...then I tried to install opensuse.

on the partitioning stage of the installer, no partitions were suggested, also when trying to partition it myself to three partitions: root, home and swap. but the installer did not detect the unallocated space, so I went back and returned my HDD to it's original state with three partitions, and tried to install opensuse again, there were no partitioning suggestions as well, and the installer did detect all three partitions .. but it won't allow any resize, edit or deleting moves.
    I noticed that all the partitions on the installer were labeled "linux native"

Why is this happening and how can I partition my HDD properly in order to install opensuse side by side with Windows?
    Also, can anyone suggest a proper partitioning for my HDD?

Thanks!

Blog Entries

Default Re: Partition problem

Quote Originally Posted by Killi View Post
    I'm totally new to opensuse, so bare with me
    I think we have all just been invited to a nude party

I have three partitions on my HDD:

It's hard to know what's going wrong. There's probably an important detail that you have missed.

Please provide the output from:
    Code:
    # fdisk -l /dev/sda